We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kaktus Albir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kaktus Albir
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Beaminster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We had 2 weeks with Saga in the middle of March. Our room was sunny as it faced south. The hotel was very clean and tidy, and we loved the variety of food over 2 weeks. If you arrive for dinner at the start, everything is piping hot. The only failing we could see was an old analogue TV set in the room, with only BBC World Service and Sky News in English. We were disappointed that smoking was allowed on balconies, which could be irritating.
This was our 12th Saga hotel and rates the best of the bunch.

Room Tip: The hotel is U shaped, with the beach across the top of the U, with south to the right of the U. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    214
    119
    42
    20
See reviews for
121
258
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

This was our 3rd trip with Saga so shows we think it is good also we will be back next year! The Hotel is perfectly placed for disabled people as the prom is flat & clean. It was wash down most mornings. The food was very good, not only when the Spainish people where there! There was something for everyone with a very good choice. If you didnt want a full English breakfast there was cold cuts, smoked salmon ect. The lunch & main meals always had meat or fish +lots of good salads. The staff were very friendly & enjoyed helping you with your spanish. Especially Paco. The housekeeping & reception staff were friendly & helpful though I would agree the bar staff should be told that Saga customers do pay for their drinks with the cost of their holiday. The people who payed at the bar or had table service were treated with respect & given peanuts with there drinks. Not that I wanted peanuts but it shows Saga customers were treated as 2nd class. I didnt give them tips because of this though tips were given to the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: The rooms on the road side have the sun but can be noisy so I take ear plugs. All rooms have a sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank molb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

hotel is spotlessly clean, right on the sea front with good views food was good and a excellent variety ,staff are very helpful. there are some lovely walks close by and all on the flat no hills

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BRIAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

I'm amazed at reading some of the bad reviews on here as I stayed at the Kaktus Albir with Saga last year and had a superb holiday. The food was excellent, the service was good and the staff, if you actually talked to them, were nice.

Yes, you have to pick up your drinks at the bar if you are with Saga. So what? It doesn't take much effort to stand up a couple of times a night and yes, the coffee Saga gets from the machine is disgusting, the worst coffee I've ever drunk. But you do have the option to pay for a better cup at the bar now and again, or you can drink the hot chocolate, which is what we did.

We also noticed some people on our Saga trip last year expecting five-star treatment from bar staff but not even tipping as much as 1 euro the whole month. I travel with my parents and we tipped almost every time we got drinks (1 euro for 3 drinks, not bad I'd say) and so, no, we never had a problem with the bar staff. If some people did, my guess would be the bar staff got tired of being treated less than politely by people who think they are privileged because they paid for an "all-inclusive holiday".

The all-inclusive does not apply to the bar staff who make a huge percentage of their salary on tips. When Saga travelers can't even hand over a couple of euros now and again,yet expect to be treated as well as other guests who ARE tipping, the bar staff is basically working for you for nothing. Imagine how you would feel. You might not be overly friendly either.

My only complaint about the Kaktus was, for the standard of hotel I would have expected free internet, as other hotels in the area offer it. The price the Kaktus charges for it is ridiculously expensive.

Overall however, we loved the Kaktus Albir so much we'll be back for our second time for another month in April. I can't wait. Staying at the Kaktus was one of the best holidays I've ever had, and I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank fabletoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Like most hotels the Kaktus Albir has its good points and some not so good.The building is an ultra modern design with lofty public rooms and expensive decor. The general cleanliness was good.and the location ideal. The "town" provided all the essential shops and a multitude of cafes. An excellant "prom" runs from Albir to Altea.It was free of litter and kept clean despite the efforts of the dogs out for their walks!!The hotel food was generally good with a wide choice albeit at times it could have been hotter! The swimming and "sitting out " areas were totally inadequate for the size of hotel. Some of the staff were friendly(mainly in the dining room) but others ranged from "neutral" to downright "surly".This is the only 4 star hotel we have encountered that provided an electric kettle in the bedroom but no milk or tea/coffee sachets. No money changing facility existed.During our stay the weather was perfect for the time of year,but in the summer it would be too hot.So be sure to specify "cool" or "sunny" when booking. Did we enjoy our Saga holiday-Yes. Would we stay in this hotel again-N0.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

We went to the Kaktus with Saga, also after transferring from a hotel in Calpe. We agree with the review of haliwell1 wholeheartedly. The food was poor, mostly cold and sometimes undercooked. The Hotel states in its reply that the food could have been taken back to the Chef for more cooking, but the fact is that some of the meat was undercooked and should not have been eaten by anyone in that state. The Maitre D' was not interested in our complaints and it was only after we complained to Reception that we thought that our complaint was being taken seriously at all.
The heating in the lounge was only turned on after my wife complained to the Bar Staff one evening that the bar/lounge was freezing - nothing at all to do with the fact that the heating failed (although I understand there were problems with the heating at a later date). The Hotel only put the heating on after a complaint was received.
Saga guests are not teated well in the bar/lounge - the Spanish guests are served by waiters at their tables, whilst Saga guests have to go to the bar to collect their own drinks. We were made to feel very unwelcome like second-class citizens, and felt that because we had paid up-front for our drinks (in the all-inclusive package) the staff thought we were actually getting our drinks for free and would not be tipping the waiters. We always repay good service with generous tips, but not in this case.
All in all it was not a happy time at this hotel and this has nothing to do with the fact that we transferred from another hotel.
As for the Hotel saying that they had been told that there were grumpy guests at the hotel who were always complaining, if this refers to us all I can say is what is the point of paying good money for a holiday and putting up with second rate service and food. If no-one complains nothing ever changes.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

we just stayed for a week rooms were ok staff helpful but the food was words prevent me saying excatlly what i think most nights was a lot of fish a nd not much else and not a hotel for kids it is used by saga plus if you want tea or coffee on a night you have to pay and @£2-50 a cup wont pay it apart from that not a bad hotel ps. alwasy had to warm my meals up in microwave

Room Tip: dont go the second week in feb ut gets invadered by the spanish pensioners that week
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mumsey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alfas del Pi
0.5 mi away
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Albir Garden Resort
Albir Garden Resort
#7 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
1.1 mi away
Magic Robin Hood
Magic Robin Hood
#6 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaktus Albir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaktus Albir

Property: Hotel Kaktus Albir
Address: Passeig de Les Estreles 11 | Playa del Albir, 03581, L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kaktus Albir 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaktus Albir Kaktus Albir Hotel has been inaugurated in summer of 2003 and is situated just in front of the Albir Pebble Beach, in Alfaz del Pi, at only 8 kms of Benidorm, touristic capital of Costa Blanca, and 60 kms of the Airport of Alicante. It's only 10 meters from the beach, and in the old town you'll find a lot of shops, restaurants and bars. It's 10 kms from Benidorm bus station, which connects with Alicante, the airport and the rest of the coastal area, it's the perfect place for relaxing and exploring the area. We've an exterior pool for adults and children. In our roof terrace we have a second pool, that not only has wonderful views, in the winter season it is heated and covered. In the roof terrace you can also find sunbeds. The hotel has also bar service, four lifts, air conditioning, heating, and private parking. In our hotel you'll find a nice and helpful staff.Restaurant with Buffet all services: Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner . We have a Sailor's Buffet : Seafood and Fish, British Buffet and also a Special Spanish Tapas Buffet every Saturday evening. In our night Club we have Live Music 5 nights a week and several International shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kaktus Albir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kaktus Albir Spain/Province Of Alicante - Costa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing