We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Kaktus Albir(L'Alfas del Pi)(Great Value!)
$270
$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Boulevard Apartamentos Alfaz Playa Albir(L'Alfas del Pi)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Albir Costa Verde(El Albir)(Great Value!)
$59
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Albir Garden Resort(L'Alfas del Pi)
$130
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Noguera(L'Alfas del Pi)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Moli Boutique(L'Alfas del Pi)(Great Value!)
$95
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$169
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,271)
Filter reviews
1,271 results
Traveler rating
426
557
201
62
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
557
201
62
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areahalf boardlovely hotelper dayvealbed and breakfastlidl supermarketdeluxe roomplenty of choicenumber busreception staffpool towelsrelaxing holidaysomething for everyonesaladplenty of sunbedshired a car
Filter
Updating list...
487 - 492 of 1,271 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Arrived on 8th to 15th of June, myself and my partner had a lovely relaxing time! The room was lovely although the beds are quite hard...the staff especially Carlos were all excellent. The food was amazing never disappointed, we were all inclusive and the package delivered was amazing, crisps and nuts available whenever just ask, cocktail of the day was great and all the drinks were branded. There is only entertainment for kids but its ideal for a restful break. The minibar is stocked everyday, 2 beer, 2 water, 2 coke and 2 fanta and the rooms are cleaned everyday. The safe was included in the package and also a circuit of the spa. The sunbeds were always available and sun came out from 9am right up to 7pm at the pool and the water was lovely. Wifi available in the bedrooms with a code from reception, the only tv channels available are true movies 1 & 2 and sky sports news...a bit disappointing could of done with a few more channels for bedtime. The only disappointment really was how hard the beds were but overall it was a fantastic break!

Room Tip: All the rooms will be excellent!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised how posh this hotel was as was very reasonable for halfboard.
we had a spacious room with twin beds pushed together and a huge bAthroom with bidet.
its a ten minute walk to a shingle beach.
we have stayed in albir many times but this time the bars were very quiet for june and no night life. we were the only ones in the bar at 9pm!
The food on first night was not to my liking...veal, quails and pork stew, although plenty of salad. the next day there was veal steaks and a fish choice..again not my choice.. breakfast was plentiful although bacon very greasy but fresh omlettes cooked
it was okay, rooms at front overlook Lidl..but get sun on balcony in afternoon...pool views do not.
the wifi was rubbish, overall attractive hotel and was ok but wouldnt bother with half board next time and Albir isnt the resort it was with little to do. beds extremely hard and my husband suffered because of this

Room Tip: rooms had sun in afternoon at front but rubbish views
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetSusiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my partner and it was fantastic. We used the spa facility nearer the end of the holiday and it was great. The staff are very friendly and helpful.Rooms are lovely. Nice hotel outside the hussle and bussle of benidorm. We got taxis to the theme park and water park from the hotel but you can get the bus for a cheaper alternative. Great place and i would return :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise_pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel had some positives and some negatives which to me sums up to average. The positives was cleanlianess, reception staff who spoke decent english, nice pool and garden area, nice and quiet surroundings but easy access to Benidorm if in the mood for a bit more partying. Also, huge props to the guy entertaining the kids every night, he did a great job, even with the language barrier.

The negatives: waiting staff in the restaurant barely understood english which seems odd for a hotel with the ammount of brittish guests. Food was mostly really poor, not that I had high expectations. Your standard buffet with lots of bland crap food like chips, chicken nuggets, overcooked pasta etc, and some attempt at a theme every night which was mostly a failure. Pools are not heated and was quite cold in late may. Also, during our last two days half of the hotel filled up with the residents from what I guess was a group home for mentally disadvantaged people, I estimate almost 100 people. Not that I have any issues with disabled people, but it does detract from having a relaxed holiday when the dining room, pool, night club etc is overrun with people who are less than quiet and careful; my 3-year old daughter almost got mowed down by some not very attentive person on several occasions. Maybe the management should have arranged for these people to charter the entire hotel instead? Access to the Spa is not included in the room price but is an extra €15 per visit. The gym consisted of a couple of dumbbells (heaviest pair 14 kg), a bench, a few cardio machines and some kind of weird multi machie, all crammed into a small room with malfunctioning AC.

All in all I would have been dissapointed if not for the fact that we did get a really good deal, for what we paied it was ok.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the pool, since the street view really has nothing to offer; no people to watch or anything, just a Lidl store on one side and some apartment buildings on the other.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JensBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We are an active couple in our 50/60s and stayed B&B at the Albir Playa Hotel, 20-25 May 2013, the week before Spring Bank holiday. For the first 2 days the weather was poor, 17 degrees, grey, with a really cold wind and some rain! We needed jumpers and jackets! The 3rd day it was a blistering 24 degrees and continued like this but with a cool wind, too cool to sit for long in the shade. Every evening was socks, trainers, cardi and jkt if you were venturing out. The hotel was classy, quiet and clean with friendly, helpful, professional staff. We only ate breakfast, preferring to eat in local restaurants (as cheap or as dear as you want, 9 euros for 3 courses some included a drink) so can only comment on the breakfast buffet, which had ‘everything’ you could want and was very good (not swimming in grease if you chose the fried selection). If you had to pay it was 12 euros. Lunch and dinner was 18 euros each but a guest told us it wasn’t up to the standard of the year before as regards choice and needed to be heated up in the microwave which is available in the restaurant (only one guest’s opinion!).
The public bar area, with large comfy chairs, was huge, and on an evening, with the hotel only being half full, was too big with only approx 4 – 8 tables of guests. The entertainments guy did his best with the few people that were there and I saw him give some dance steps lessons to one of the music tracks. There was another smaller section the other side of the bar but that opened out onto the reception area, a little bit ‘on view’, but quite a few people chose to sit here. There were a couple of outside areas, which were pleasant, but it was far too chilly on an evening to sit out. The bar staff were very good and professional. Beers cost 2.90 euros for 330ml.
Attached to the hotel, between one wing of rooms and the outdoor pool is a glass ballroom for events. In the basement is the Spa where my husband went for a back and neck massage (35 - 42 euros depending how many minutes you have) due to the bed being too hard. He didn’t see the rest of the Spa but didn’t ask to. We did sleep but the bed was noticeably hard! In the room is a bed sofa so I took the mattress off this plus the sofa cushions and put them on the bed on the 3rd night. I left a note for the maid to tell her not to bother making it every day! Would have liked to have seen her face when she saw it! But we did have comfy nights afterwards. Rooms are a decent size with sofa, comfy chair, TV (never used), coffee table and fridge but no tea making facilities (I just took a travel kettle etc.) Very few electric points for gadgets. Rooms are clean and spotless and everything works. The balcony is a quarter circle shape and separated from the other quarter circle belonging to the room next door by a small wall with a Perspex/glass partition on top to make it private. Balconies have 2 plastic chairs and a table with enough room to walk around, also a gadget attached to the wall to hang your towels to dry. Pool towels cost 10 euros, can be changed as many times as you want and refunded on return.
The hotel is L shaped. All the odd number rooms seem to be standard rooms and face one of 2 roads. One road has a 5 storey building on it so if you want a view I think you would have to be on the top floor, level 5. These rooms get the sun in the morning. The other wing of the hotel has odd numbers overlooking a small Lidl supermarket then over a road beyond Lidl, so you would need to be level 2 and above. These get the sun late afternoon.
Upgrade rooms (5.65 euros per night) have pool view and to the mountains beyond over low rise residential homes and greenery, very pleasant. Some get sun late afternoon. Our room 326 with pool view got no sun at all as we were in the ‘nook’ of the L shape. If you want more info about the rooms please contact me. Pot luck if you get a double bed or twin beds but if you email the hotel with a request they will try to oblige.
Pool area was quite full when the hotel was only half full so we managed to get a bed every time. Beds are not cushioned so if you get one with a broken plastic panel under it, it can stick in your back. If the hotel is full there won’t be enough space around the pool. One circular children’s pool, one irregular shaped main pool 40cm – 1m 40 with a waterfall and one Jacuzzi pool, all freezing cold but a few ventured in. Too early in the season; same with the sea. Not too noisy around the pool, just people talking normally, only 2 – 3 children there but towards bank hol weekend larger groups of people arrived who constantly chatted loudly (English ladies) and drank from breakfast time. It wasn’t a problem it’s just that we like it quiet so we can read; glad we went early season.
There’s always the beach to go to, very long and wide, plenty of beds and sun brollies for hire.
To get to the beach you can walk one of 2 ways. Across from the hotel is an Indian restaurant. Take the road behind it and walk down it, away from the roundabout the hotel is on. This is a quiet, straight, tree lined boulevard taking you past residential and quiet holiday apartments that look quite ‘chic’ , and a small golf/cricket ground. This is a 12 min stroll and the shortest route, brings you out not far from the promenade hotel called the Kaktus. Otherwise, cross 3 roads that lead off the hotel roundabout and walk down the busy shop, restaurant, bus route, approx 20-25mins and brings you to the beginning of the promenade and tourist info hut (closes 2pm).
The hotel shuttle bus to the beach only runs in high season.
You can catch a bus (approx every 15 min) by walking 150 -200m from the hotel down the busy shop route but take the first road to your right (busy junction) and look for the bus stop outside The Transylvania Restaurant. 1.45 euros no matter how far you go. It drops you off on the main road that runs parallel with the promenade; approx 50m (2 min) to walk to the beach. The same bus (1.45 euros,10 min ride, or walk 50 mins on the prom) will take you to Altea resort with beach and marina, not as classy as Albir but has an old quarter if you can walk uphill or up the old steps to the church for a fabulous view, or stay on the flat and enjoy the beach, marina, shops, restaurants and children’s low key playground.
The bus drops you on a road that runs parallel with the promenade (1min walk to beach). At the same bus stop you can catch another bus to Calpe (bus says to ALSA on it, takes 25min and runs 11.15, 12.15, 1.30, with 3 more late pm, but the bus station at Calpe is at the back of the town up a hill, beware the walk back! 25 mins? On the opposite side of the bus stop in Altea is the brilliant tram/train service. Catch this back to Albir, takes 3 mins for 1.35 euro. leaves Altea at 8 min past the hr (after 8pm irregular times). Drops you off 10 min walk from hotel, completely opposite direction to the beach, towards Mc Donalds, inland. If you take the train from Albir to Altea it leaves Albir 45 min past the hr, journey 3 min. Stay on the train (more than 1.35 euros) to Calpe (another 20 min) but the train station is WAY UP HILL at the back of the town, may take you 45 -60min to walk to the beach, all down hill. Cost us 8 euros in a taxi. The receptionists at the Albir Hotel didn’t tell us that! But still, we like an adventure on public transport, it’s always a surprise.
All in all we liked the hotel and its position and weren’t bothered it was some way from the beach. It was well positioned for both the bus and train. We weren’t bothered by any noise at night, maybe it was due to early season. The resort itself is very clean and we felt safe day and night with the Spanish people very hospitable.
If you want one of Spain’s real tapas bars (the only one in Albir) choose ‘Indalo’. Leave the hotel, down the busy shopping street for approx 100m, look down a road on your left, it’s just 30m and has a large sign. Lunch up to 3pm is 3 courses incl coffee 8.5 euros. No menu! It’s what the cook thinks is good to buy on the day (choice of 2 starters and 2 mains). Tapas only are served in the evenings, closed Wednesdays.
We would recommend this hotel. I would like to say I’d go back but we try to visit different countries for our holidays.

Room Tip: Hotel is L shaped with each of the 2 wings having rooms that face outwards over 2 roads and inwards over the pool. The odd numbers are standard rooms and face the 2 roads. The even numbers are upgrades and face the pool. Those odd numbers facing the roads have mountain views but one wing with odd numbers ending in 23 to 41 you would have to be on top level 5 to look over the 5 storey building across the road to see the view, so you would need 523, 525, to 541 etc. These, however, do get sun in the morning. The other wing has its odd number rooms (ending 01 to 21 no matter which level) facing another road which is a bit further away as there is a Lidl Supermarket between the hotel and the road. These have mountain views and sun from approx. late afternoon. Upgrade costs 5.65 euros per night to pool view rooms (even numbers) with views to the mountains over low rise residential buildings and greenery but no sun in the morning and only some pool view rooms getting sun in the afternoon/eve. Some get a long distance sea view. Don't get a room like we did 326 (Level 3, room 26) in the nook of the L shape. Rm 24 next door was worse, being the first on the corridor; seem hemmed in (in the right angle of the L shape) no sun at all and overlooked by rooms on the adjacent wing. Rooms ending in 02, 04, 06, on one wing and 24, 26, 28, on the other wing, no matter which floor, can be overlooked by each other. Rooms ending 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40 are good as they are further away from the centre of the L shape and not overlooked, 40 being the end of the corridor/hotel so no one walks by. All the rooms ending in 30 are next to a fire escape only have one neighbouring room and do not have a shared balcony but have a larger one. Also try rooms which are not overlooked on the other wing ending 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22 (22 end of corridor) no matter which floor, although the lowest floor, Level 1, overlooks the glass ballroom, so avoid these if a scenery view is important. These get the sun early afternoon. Contact me for more info.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanBrown99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews