We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just back from Albir after spending 4 nights there. On arrival, after 9pm staff helpful to get us checked in quickly so we could go get some food. Hotel is beautiful, i was impressed. We got a room over looking the pool and the mountains, the mountains are a lovely site to wake up to in the morning.
I had requested a quiet room and thats what we got, but to be honest i dont think any of rooms or guests were rowdy. It was very peaceful. The maids were very accomodating when you just wanted a bit of a lie in after travelling.
Others mentioned the beds, yes there were a bit hard, but not problematic.Our double room was two beds pushed together, would have prefered one double bed. Good size rooms with seperate sitting area.
One thing i did not like was the food, we were half board, I am not a fussy eater and am pretty well travelled but i was not impressed with this. As others have said, food was not hot, not even warm sometimes, and yeah there was a microwave, but i did not feel i should have to microwave my dinner in a 4 star hotel. The dinning room was far to bright, it could have been a lot nicer had they got the lighting right.
Pool area is really nice, no problems with getting a lounger - maybe because weather was not brilliant.
All in all i really loved our break to Albir, i would go back tomorrow, but wouldnt go half board. Albir itself is a nice place, with nice places to eat and drink, Altea just down the road is well worth a visit, enjoyed the old town very much.
Albir is a perfect location, you can get bus to Altea (or walk) or Benidorm if you fancy something a bit more upbeat. I myself do like to party, but was very glad we choose to stay in Albir ad not Benidorm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    484
    173
    50
    20
See reviews for
357
513
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have just returned from a nine night stay at the Albir Playa Hotel and had a most enjoyable holiday. I did have some reservations prior to booking this resort and hotel as of its proximity to Benidorm and having never been to the Costa Blanca before but i needn't have worried as everything was just great. The hotel was spotless and maintained very well and having booked half board we were not disappointed in the food, there was a variety of different dishes and being a fish lover, the choice was fantastic! I did hear a few people commenting that the food was a little lukewarm but we found it just right and there is a microwave for anyone who wishes to heat their food.Albir is a nice resort with alot of choice of nice restaurants and not so tacky bars, i think it is more suited to couples and maturer people, not for the stag or hen do's, they should just stick to Benidorm. We went to the beach a few times and it was lovely although very pebbly, but having bought some beach shoes , we had no trouble in going for a dip in the fairly warm med. Will definately consider booking here again as it has everything we require for a lovely relaxing holiday

Room Tip: we had an upper floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spider226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a beautiful Hotel, very clean, trendy and modern. The rooms are delightful, clean and bright. Beds are very comfortable and large. Bathroom had phone, bidet and a hairdryer which actually did it's stuff. The room was cleaned daily and smelled wonderful on our return.
The staff are very professional and helpful. The dining room was lovely,again very clean and on trend. The food was what we were expecting, great salads, good choice of main meals, although not always piping hot. A well kept dining room with fresh, crisp table linen and crockery. Drinks can be charged to the room and the saff are hit and miss with giving the tickets to you.
The pool area is a little on the small side but this was never a problem for us as the end of Sept is quieter. No scrambling for beds or space and reservation is a definate no...no...
The bus can't drop off directly outside the Hotel but a very short walk over a quiet road is no problem.
Don't use the internet in the Hotel, it was expensive and very slow. There are loads of internet cafes nearby at 50c per 15 mins. The walk to the beach area is lovely, around 8-10 mins, takning in shops and restaurants on tha way. the beach is pebbles, but beautiful, with a very long seafront walk into Altea which is very well worth it. Lovely seafood cafes along the way, sangria and cakes. Many locals use the cafes in the area. Lidle is next to the Hotel, great for stocking up the room fridge with water, wine etc, though no Tea/coffee facilites but again, not a problem for us.
Market day on sunday on the usual walk to the beach area which is great. Overall this has been a lovely, relaxing holiday in a quiet hotel which catered for our every need and I would love to return one day. There were very few children there but the facilties looked great for them too.
The Indian restaurant next door is fantastic and very resonably priced.
Our holiday was £340 each!!! and I found absolutely no fault in it what so ever..apart from the rain!!

Room Tip: Try not have a .1 or b room...an ajoining room...the door between them was flimsy and we could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissy186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool United
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at Hotel Albir Playa. After a long and tiresome transfer, it felt as if we had called at every hotel in Benidorm, we had a friendly welcome from the Receptionist on duty and were dealt with efficiently and speedily.

Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. There was a good sized balcony, unfortunately we were allocated a room at the front of the hotel on the 2nd floor, so there was a lot of passing traffic noise but no matter, once the door was closed, it was fairly quiet.

Our first evening in the dining room was not every impressive, the salad bar was o.k. but the hot food was lukewarm and staff were very slow in replenishing the food that had run out. All the dining room staff looked and acted very stressed, under staffed perhaps, a Restaurant Manager is needed, after all this is a 4* hotel. On one evening we witnessed a blazing row between two of the female staff, a male staff member had to come over and calm them down, not very professional. Incidentally breakfast was very good with lots of choice. Because of the poor quality of the food on our first evening, we ate out the following evening (can recommend Dominoes at the far end of the main road). We did eat in 4 evenings out of 7, after all we did pay for Half Board but it was very hit and miss. I also thought the dining room furniture needed updating, it was a bit like sitting in a work's canteen.

I can't comment on the pool area, we preferred to go to the beach, incidentally it is not a ten minute walk to the front, more like 25 at a leisurely stroll. I saw comments from previous reviewers about entertainment, we certainly didn't see any just a young lad playing droll music.

The resort of Albir is charming, a world away from Benidorm with lots of great cafes, shops and restaurants. It has a beautiful promenade and pebbly beach. Altea is well worth a visit, easy to get to on the service bus, the walk along the front takes about 45 minutes. Be sure to visit the church in the old town, bit of a climb but well worth it.

To sum up the hotel, this is a very modern and clean hotel but lacks warmth, it reminded me of the kind of hotel you would expect to stay in on a city break.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor not on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Childwall020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My daughter and myself went for a 4 night break from Saturday to Wednesday at the end of September. By then we only had a couple singing one night for entertainment, other than that people seemed to be happy chatting between themselves. We walked along the prom to Altea each evening which was lovely. At the end of September we had no crowds at all, yet the weather still in the high 80's, low 80's in the evening.
The rooms are spotless as are all the areas. The dining room has something for everybody. We were all inclusive and there were not so many people going in for lunch. The dining room is lovely and the waiters are quick to find you a table when it gets full up. They fetch your drinks for you.
The only gripe I had was the juice in the morning is not very nice, and the other is the HARD beds. I suffer with a bad back and believe me a hard bed does nothing to help it! If I had been there longer I would have asked for the sofa bed to be made up as that would have been better for me, but didn't want them to go to a lot of trouble for 4 nights.
All in all would thoroughly recommend this hotel, recommend the spa circuit too.
Regards, Teresa

Room Tip: Overlooking pool and mountains is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We visited this hotel in September for 1 week on an all inclusive deal. We booked through Travel Republic and whilst this was a good experience beware the transfers. Our transfer took just over 2 1/2 hours. This meant missing our evening meal, we arrived at 22.15. The restaurant was still open and there were plenty of people still in there. However we were told we couldn't go in. So we ordered food from the bar and had to pay. The male bar staff were excellent especially Marco. The girls didn't seem nearly as accommodating. The rooms were excellent and the pool area was okay, we noticed as others have said the music around the pool could sometimes be far too loud. The food was a let down. You could just about put something together if you tried. Why they do not have hot, or even warn plates I do not know. When the food is barely warm to start with it soon gets unpleasantly cold. Anyway we still enjoyed our week but would not do the AI next time. A word of advice on the transfers. If you take the resort bus, try jumping of at the first stop in Benidorm and grab a taxi for about 10-12 euros. This will save you about an hour on the transfer time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andebweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

we travelled mid september after the UK school holidays this is a very good hotel pushing towards 5 star. The staff are excellent. we had no problem getting a sun bed and on some days when we got to the pool mid morning we were the only ones there. During our visit there was a full mix of european nationalities and during lunch a number of locals came to eat also. you get a daily coktail and all shorts are well known brands Pernod, Baileys, jack daniels etc. A full hot and cold buffet everyday at lunch and dinner giving a full range of meat and fish plus the normal salad,pasta, cold meats The beach is pebbles but there are some local sandy beaches.If you get the transfer be prepared for a short tour of benidorm there and back, it could take you two hours to transfer, if you want to do it by taxi it will be at least 80 euro.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommoUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alfas del Pi
0.3 mi away
Albir Garden Resort
Albir Garden Resort
#7 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Albir
Hotel Kaktus Albir
#5 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
0.6 mi away
Magic Robin Hood
Magic Robin Hood
#6 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albir Playa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albir Playa Hotel & Spa

Property: Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Address: Camino Vell D,Altea 51, 03581, L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
#1 Spa Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albir Playa Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albir Playa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albir Playa Hotel l`Alfas Del Pi
Hotel Albir Playa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa Spain/Province Of Alicante - Costa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing