We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Girly break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Playas de Guardamar
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just returned from this hotel. Our second visit in 3 years. The hotel rooms have been upgraded, are plain but immaculate and serviceable. The proximity to the beach and pool area were excellent and ideal for 2 Mums and 2 daughters (aged 14). The beach is beautiful and Sandy and offers opportunities for long walks in the cooler mornings.

The hotel mainly services a Spanish clientele, which I thought was perfect. Nothing worse than hordes of English people en masse in a hotel. I have found they tend to want everything to their liking rather than try to fit in with the culture of the country they are in.

Thus the comments regarding meal times in this hotel. The Spanish speak loudly, eat with gusto and generally enjoy a family meal in a very different way than is customary in the UK. I loved it. Plenty of everything, lots of fish, thank God no obsession for the proverbial English fry up!

The hotel runs a children's club for a variety of ages and although our 2 girls were the only English Juniors staying that week, the hotel Animacion leader made every attempt to get them to join in...they finally gave up shyness 2 days before and enjoyed the activities and the friendly Spanish 'Juniors' in their group, who equally included them in their activities after the clubs were finished.

Overall the staff were friendly, accommodating and hard working. A really well oiled machine, considering just how busy they are.

This hotel is safe and represents excellent value on an all inclusive basis. In these days of economic austerity you'd go a long way to beat it's value for money offer. I shall certainly be recommending and returning. A great stay for single Mum's, families looking for something other than the customary costa brava English experience and oodles of sunshine.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view if you can. Rooms looking in overlook the pool area which is used as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NickeyFalstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

stayed AI on weekend end of may 3 nights. room was fine hotel was clean .food ok .there was only 1 area that served the AI and the queue was also long 10 to 15 mins at a time before you were served .
the pool bar was never opened during our stay so you had to go up in the lift etc to enter the bar a total farce really . no entertainment whatsoever
the place was seriously understaffed .
to be truthful one to avoid. happy travelling

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crawfie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Dear Sir,

First of all, we want to thank you for your opinion. It really helps to improve our service standard.

At the present time, our hotel nationality guests are 80% Spanish, but we receive people from all over the world: Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, French, German, Russian, Canadian, British, etc. We always try to do our best to satisfy such a different kind of people.

Maybe you didn’t realize that we advice the opening time for the pool bar: "Summer from 11:30 to 19:00 hours". But anyway, we usually open every weekend in the spring season if the number of guests is significant and the weather allows it. The 95% opening time in the bar, you don’t have to wait a minute for your drink. The rest of the time, some minutes before 23:00 hours, maximum limited time for all inclusive service, no longer than five minutes.

We offer a daily entertainment program planned and carried out by a two/four entertainer’s staff: Spanish and English spoken. All the information about is displayed at the main hall near the Reception desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on an all inclusive rate, very friendly hotel right next to the beach and just 10 mins walk along the beach to shops and bars, the food was excellent, rooms plain but very clean, room service first class, all drinks available at bar, pool very clean as well as the grounds. Most guest were Spanish but that was ok with us. We would recommend this hotel and would use again when returning to spain. A very good 3Star hotel.

Room Tip: We was in the third floor sideways on to the sea, excellent views across the sea etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I went here with my 2 friends. The first night/day I was really disappointed as it seemed VERY over-crowded and all the other guests were Spanish. They clearly dislike the English and were quite rude.
However, it seems to be a bit of a weekend getaway place for the Spanish and by the second day (Sunday) it was quietening down a lot.
The hotel itself is very nice, clean and spacious. The rooms are small and the balconies are a bit closed in but they're pleasant enough for a short stay. The walls are very thin though, we could hear the man next door snoring!!
The restaurant is nice when it's quiet but when it's busy, the noise level is almost unbearable. Food was good, lots of choice but it is very Spanish. Breakfast was disappointing but lunch and dinner were both lovely.
The staff speak little (if any) English but were pleasant enough as a whole.
Pool area is nice and the beach is only a short walk. The beach is gorgeous - really sandy and clean.
I wouldn't stay here again but we had a nice time. I'm glad it was only a few days though!

Room Tip: The walls are so thin, choose a higher floor closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnieJones75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I took my girlfriend away for her first holiday abroad early september and talk about a holiday to remember !!!!! We got picked up by a Spanish taxi driver who didn't speak a word of English who drove us out of civilisation to hotel campomar.we were all inclusive there were no food or drinks available to us as all inclusive expires at 11 so we resorted to the last pack of biscuits in the vending machine. The room was very tidy and clean we may as well have stayed in the room all holiday as there was nothing else to do.the view was very nice once u looked past the rubbish filled overgrown dried out so called nature reserve.Food was good if you like fish cheese sandwiches and plenty of tinned cold hot dogs as this was all we were entitled to on AI the walls were so thin and the hotel were full of rude ignorant spaniards who disliked us so much because we were English they stole our do not disturb sign and banged on the walls and doors for the whole week we stayed there the hotel is so far away from anything and everything we only seen 1 Irish man the whole holiday we were that deserted in the end we took 8 buses and a taxi to benidorm to go to mundomar which we had to figure out how to get there ourselves as the hotel were no help whatsoever.overall if your Spanish and like hotdogs then your quids in for a holiday of a lifetime otherwise stay at home there's more to do.waste of money.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Timandjenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Very scenic location. On the edge of the dunes and miles and miles of golden sand.
We were one of the very few English tourist and were taken often for Spanish!
We stayed foe one week early September there was a bit of a heatwave so glorious weather. The location of the hotel is well outside the main town. We walked it but as there wasn't a direct route to the town went along the beach. Later to find that the little bus picks you up at the door and drops you off anywhere in the town for less than a euro. The town and seafront are well worth a visit. Lots to explore!
However, the location of this hotel is on a very small urbanization. Not alot there! One shop, little cafe a Grand German spa hotel and associated fancies, hairdressers. And an Italian restaurant. So pleased we were all inclusive. All the locals flocked to the beach at the weekend.
Food very Spanish. Quite a good variety. Really depends what your looking for!
End of season. The animation team went home mid week and after that nothing. Just bingo. Yes in Spanish.
Basically very Spanish . If that's what you want go! We got on well with the staff as long as you try the language. Yes they did take the "Mick" from time to time.
Hotel a bit tired. Needs a update mainly the pool and open area. Other than that a chill out hol. Until we were abandoned by the transfer company on our return to airport. Cos they sent the transport to campormar hotel in Benidorm. Whoops!
To be honest, glad we went to see the beautiful location but wont be rushing back. Sorry.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roynaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Blue azure sea, golden sands what more do you want for the price. We thought the food was above average All Inclusive for the money. We liked our room on the 6th floor with lovely view. It was all mainly Spanish guests, but was expected after reading reviews and where it is. There was an excotit nature walk to the beach for want of a better word which we liked. There was a nice beach bar hut right outside the hotel.
Watch your change at the beach hut, I looked at him and thought he's gonna have me over, and I was right, 10 euros but he refunded me. The hotel was in quiet place nothing else there. Would we go again Yes we loved it. It was hot in the day, but the pool was closed, freezing water and out of season, but people was swimming in the sea.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MadmickWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guardamar del Segura
0.9 mi away
Hotel Meridional
Hotel Meridional
#1 of 9 in Guardamar del Segura
376 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Playas de Torrevieja
Hotel Playas de Torrevieja
#4 of 19 in Torrevieja
320 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Laguna Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Guardamar
Hotel Guardamar
#4 of 9 in Guardamar del Segura
155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eden Mar
Eden Mar
#3 of 9 in Guardamar del Segura
190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Parque Mar
Hotel Parque Mar
#8 of 9 in Guardamar del Segura
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playas de Guardamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playas de Guardamar

Address: Calle Grecia 1, 03140 Guardamar del Segura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Guardamar del Segura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Guardamar del Segura
Price Range: $45 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playas de Guardamar 3*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Playas de Guardamar*** enjoys a privileged situation on the Costa Blanca on the first line of an extensive beach of dunes and fine sand and adjacent to a protected natural park area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Playas de Guardamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campomar Hotel Guardamar Del Segura
Campomar Guardamar Del Segura
Hotel Playas De Guardamar Guardamar Del Segura, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing