We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely sublime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Talaso Hotel Sanxenxo
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Sanxenxo
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely sublime”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had 2 days here during a trip to Santiago de compostela. It was perfect.

The rooms were modern and stylish with a nice spacious balcony/seating area with the most breathtaking views. The hotel is situated on the cliff-side so overlooking the beach and marina.

The staff were incredibly helpful, and considering my poor Spanish, very courteous. Dinner was a real highlight as the restaurant extends out onto the balcony where a romantic setting lies. Quiet, relaxed and only the sound of crashing waves to fill the air. The food was excellent, and reasonably priced (66euro for 2 course meal for two with coffee and wine).

The hotel is ideally placed right next to the beach. We forgot to take a towel down, it took 5 minutes to get up there, grab a towel, and get back down again to swimming in the sea. Also there is a wide variety of top top quality seafood restaurants for you to pick from along the sea front.

Finally and possible most importantly the extremely pleasing spa facilities. Sublime spa, with fresh sea water pools. Loads of fun, invigorating and relaxing. Either sitting in the sauna, or doing some lengths in the 25m pool, or just pressing all the buttons and see where the water shoots out! On occasion we were the only people in there.

If your looking for a nice treat, go here.

Room Tip: Well the higher up you are, the better the view of the beach. We was on the 4th floor, perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob3_142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    208
    49
    13
    11
See reviews for
112
329
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braga, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel mainly because of its proximity to the beach and the good opinions on the hotel. It's very well located in front of the beach, the staff is amazing and the restaurant has a beautiful view to the beach and good food.
The talasso is very good too, worth trying.
The bad thing was the the room, that was on the first floor just up the talasso and there is a lot of noise during the night because of the water, so if you want to stay there, please don't stay on the first floor.
We are going to go there again surely!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelderBCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Despite the the fact that this place is far away, it was lovely.
This hotel sits on a charming bay that has a boardwalk to explore on foot. I had some of the best seafood in Spain in this city.The hotel has a special feature, a marine spa.
The weather was not good for our stay but the balcony had an electric awning that allowed for outdoor dry seating to enjoy the views. There are two buildings and we stayed in the one that does not house the reception lobby.
we had a postcard perfect ocean view with balcony and the hotel rooms were very clean and modern.
Beds were hard and I liked that, 2 twins pushed together euro style. The bathrooms stylish and clean. All employees were friendly and hospitable. The bay view from the dining room was wonderful and the special luncheon they prepared and breakfast were delicious I liked this hotel because it was upscale in the middle of this quiet remote location not too far from Santiago

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed with my family and it was excellent. Outside does not seem to be very nice but rooms are modern. The quality of breakfast very good and people were friendly and willing to help.
our bed was excellent but the one for children was uncomfortable
fitness room was very dark and i was not able to control tv and the phone to tell reception did not work

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silviabcn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is the second time that I stay there.
It is a nice average hotel worth to stay if You have a sea view with varanda.
The staff is one of the best in terms of being nice and attentive to You wich should be the rule everywhere else.
Other wise it is a bit ever priced for this season.

Room Tip: A good room has to be sea front with varanda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
276 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

From the outside we would not have immediately booked this place. It looks a little bit as old glory but the reality is different. Ok, the rooms are modern, spacious, have a nice view but are not special. The sauna/spa however is and we should not forget to make a big compliment for the breakfast. It’s has been a long time since we had so much choice. From the hotel you are able to make nice walks (10 minutes) along to beach to the village (where we had an excellent dinner suggested and booked by the staff of the hotel). As a whole very good value for money. Really a place to relax….

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Everything perfect, except snoring neighbours and second hand tobacco smoke via the balcony.

Ban smoking

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WebbDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanxenxo hotels
0.7 mi away
Augusta Spa Resort
Augusta Spa Resort
#4 of 75 in Sanxenxo
1,270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carlos I Silgar
Hotel Carlos I Silgar
#2 of 75 in Sanxenxo
758 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Nanin Playa
Hotel Spa Nanin Playa
#5 of 75 in Sanxenxo
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Spa Galatea
Hotel Spa Galatea
#10 of 75 in Sanxenxo
297 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Peregrina
Hotel Peregrina
#1 of 15 in Portonovo
324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Nayef Hotel
Royal Nayef Hotel
#11 of 75 in Sanxenxo
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Talaso Hotel Sanxenxo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Talaso Hotel Sanxenxo

Property: Gran Talaso Hotel Sanxenxo
Address: Paseo Praia de Silgar 3, 36979, Sanxenxo, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Sanxenxo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Sanxenxo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Talaso Hotel Sanxenxo 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach hotel is spread over 3 floors and comprises 97 rooms, of which 5 are suites. Facilities include an inviting reception area with a 24-hour reception, a lift and a hotel safe. Further facilities include a TV and lounge room and various rooms for conferences, meetings and banquets. Facilities include a cosy cafe with an outdoor terrace and a stylish a la carte restaurant. Guests may make use of the laundry service and room service, and hotel garage parking is also available. The hotel also offers wheelchair accessible facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Talaso Hotel Sanxenxo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing