We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing, paradise!”
Review of Augusta Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Augusta Spa Resort
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Sanxenxo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“very relaxing, paradise!”
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed for a short break before Christmas but we've been here many times before and everytime gets better and better.
This year they have added a new pool complex with bar, lounge area and real sand!! I loved the privacy and the intimacy at the pool where you can relax and it's so spacious that it almost felt as if I was in a desert island sort of thing.
The rooms are big with well looked after wooden floors and a terrace. I especially liked the jacuzzi and the fragrance of the new trendy toiletries. The food is good and the staff very friendly.

We'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissKitty4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    377
    124
    49
    31
See reviews for
422
621
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

We booked a weekend in this so called resort, and dreamed of it all week... When we got there we were imediately disapoited by the overall look of the hotel, the location and the sad look of the pool. Anyway we were decided to enjoy ourselves so we checked in and got surprised that we were booked an apartment instead of an hotel room. The appartment was modern but akward, with strange arrangement and we decided to ask for a replacement. The staff was so rude that we ended up leaving the hotel.

Tottaly not recomended

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaridaontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

This 'resort' is rather pretentious. All in all, the facillities are nothing special, accomodation is just fine, breakfast and restaurant is very average.

Nice is the view to the Rias Bajas, rooms are modern and comfortable, location is quiet. This could have been a nice holiday breakout if only the staff would have a bit more service oriented, or raher... if the management of this property would have invested a bit more in overall service.

First: there was not enough staff available, which led to long waiting times for being served at the restaurant and bar (one time ordering drinks at the poolside took 45 minutes). Second: the few members of staff walking around all look unhappy - it's obvious that the management of this propety doesn't truly care about the wellbeing of its workers.

Very weid are some 'regulations' at the hotel. Since it rains quite often in Galicia it seemed a good idea that the poolside roof could be opened either closed, depending in the weather. The first days we were at the place, it was nice, sunny weather, but curiously enough the poolside roof was kept close. Only after some days they opened it. Well. fine. The fifth day it rained all morning and afternoon, and still the roof was open. Being bored in the room, I finally asked reception what was the idea about this. The ignorant lady said that it was left open since tomorrow most likely it would be a sunny day. Well, but now it rains, I said. Well. we don't have enough people to close it, was her reply. How curious....

On one sunny day I was sitting on the poolside lawn with my one year old baby. It was 5 o clock in the afternoon. Tyhen they decided to start cutting the grass and asked everyone to leave the lawn. Well, this is not what you should do at peak season. Do this either early in the morning or at night. The other day, same stupidity. Now they came to tell that they had to spray the gardens with poison, so everyone had to leave the recreational area.

It is a clear pity that this hotel that portrays itself as a 4 star superior property doesn't know how it should put its guests in first place and create a nice place to work for its staff. Shame on the management.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gaspargonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Loved this place and perfect for a family of five (always difficult to get hotel accommodation for that number,) the suite was pristine, modern, with a great bathroom and kitchenette, and really well thought out to fit us all comfortably. Our bed was a couple of steps up from the kids area so we felt like we were separate. The reception area is cool, white and again modern. The receptionist spoke fantastic english and couldn't have been more helpful. The pool was great too, with fantastic views and setting. The only down-side was that the hotel is up-hill so if you walk down to the beach with kids you have to push them back up and cross a few roads on the way back, however having said that there are pleny of taxis and kids are welcome in all restaurants. Have tapas at Hotel Victor, best in Spain!

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — the walk up the hill from the beach
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AineNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2007

The hotel is composed by two buildings (building 1 and building 2) the major SPA facilities and the best pools are in building 2, so if you do not want to go back and forward (outside) in a bath robe choose your room wisely.

All things in the hotel are very expensive, for example the bottled water is very expensive. My solution was to buy this stuff in one of the many groceries in the village. The distance is 5 minutes on foot.

The SPA facilities are great, and the staff is very helpful, but bear in mind that the language can be a problem, this is not a problem of the hotel or of the region, it’s a country limitation, but in this region of Spain you can expect an honest effort to communicate in different languages.
The massages and treatments are not cheap but are quite worth it and of course are the point of going to a SPA.
Don’t forget a swimming cap, its mandatory to wear one if the pool is covered.

I’ve stayed 3 nights in a Suite, almost everything was perfect, the only exception was the air conditioning – the rooms have no control on it, if it’s cold outside the AC only sends heat and Vice-Versa.
The Bed is something not of this world. It was the most comfortable bed that I ever sleep in. The room had a playstation but the games are rented, same with Movies, you can always bring some of yours.
It has a complete minibar service, the safe is free, and a great sea view.

The Breakfast was great for those that are on a diet and for those that are not, it was the first time that I had smoked Salmon in my breakfast.

The “Pueblo” is quite friendly, the restaurants are a bit expensive but the seafood is a must, and costs the same as a regular meal, I have tried some of the restaurants in the village and my favorite was the “Goleta” it serves a seafood dish for two for 45€, its almost all you can eat.

Finally, if you went by car you don’t need to use it anymore. Everything is at a walking distance.

  • Liked — Confort
  • Disliked — Air Conditioning
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JAtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We had a very relaxing stay in one of the junior suites, which are well worth the extra expense if you're travelling with children. The resort comprises two buildings, which sometimes means that you have to walk 3 mins up the road in your bathrobe if you have a treatment booked at the other building!! Nevertheless, the locals are probably used to this.

In general, here is how I'd summarise the pros and cons of this resort:

GOOD:

--Excellent views of the Rias Baixas from the hills above Sanxenxo
--Unlike most spa resorts, children are certainly welcome, with a good playground and pools that are suitable for children and a children's club organising various activities.
--Very tasteful and stylish interiors.
--Two very different, but both excellent restaurants.
--Excellent choices at breakfast time. On our departure the kitchen staff were able to make us a little picnic to have in the car on the way back to the airport as we were leaving too early for breakfast. -- They even cut the crusts of the cheese and ham sandwich for our little boy!

--Wifi throughout the hotel.

--Paddle (sort of like soft tennis) is good fun and highly recommended.

BAD:

--Language. As a couple who pretty much speak only Galician and English we were surprised that anything that was translated into English was very badly done so, some of the treatments made for hilarious reading in the English language version of the spa programme, as did the room service menu. Also, even though this hotel is in Galicia, nearly half the staff uncourteously responded in Spanish when spoken to in Galician.

--Room service. Neither of the restaurants offer room service, which was a real shame considering how good they were. The reasons given were "strong smells in rooms" and "quality control" -- only basic dishes, mostly meat and fish based sandwiches and "pepitos" whatever they are, were available -- very poor for a 4 star superior. You would especially expect some vegetarian options in a "health" resort, even though this is Spain.

TV: Some people would be bothered by the lack of non-Spanish TV in the room. Of the 40 or so channels they were all Spanish except for 1 Portuguese, 1 German and American CNN which had very poor reception.
--Room facilities: Kitchenette would have benefitted from a few extras such as a corkscrew/bottle opener; complimentary washing up liquid and cleaning equipment. Having a toddler, it was a embarrassing making as much mess as we did and having to rely on the hotel staff to do all of the clearing up.

-- Some of the treatments verge on the gimicky (think Cava wine and chocolate wraps). I'm a bit sceptical as to how beneficial some of these are.

--Surprised that complementary toiletries didn't include hair conditioner.

-- Parking probably becomes an issue here sometimes. We didn't have to pay during our stay as we parked outside building number 2, but this was always pretty full and the alternative €5 a day parking should really be free.

--Nonsense rule that you have to buy a €3 swimming cap if the pool's retractable roof is closed. When it's open you don't have to wear one at all.

  • Liked — Decor and relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — Caters better for well-heeled Madrileño weekend visitors than anyone else
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Xoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matosinhos, Portugal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

Me and my wife just returned from a 4 days weekend at this hotel. Our reservation only had breakfast included one of the 3 nights. It was quite ok. The hotel has two buildings. The one we stayed is hotel and the other, just across the street, is for apartments. In this last building is located the facilities of the SPA. We did not tried the massages but the sauna (with a one-wall-window over the hills) and the turkish bath are excellent and very relaxing. The swimming pools are very good too with a lot of amusing stuff to try, mainly water jets to massage several parts of your body. When the weather is not ok the swimming pool is covered and heated and it becomes very relaxing with the rain falling outside.
The rooms are very nice and big. The personal is very nice also and everything is clean.
We just loved this weekend and returned home with the sensations of a two weeks vacations.

  • Liked — The Swimming Pool and the Sauna
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rpribeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanxenxo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlos I Silgar
Hotel Carlos I Silgar
#2 of 75 in Sanxenxo
734 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gran Talaso Hotel Sanxenxo
1.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Nanin Playa
Hotel Spa Nanin Playa
#4 of 75 in Sanxenxo
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Galatea
Hotel Spa Galatea
#9 of 75 in Sanxenxo
285 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Peregrina
Hotel Peregrina
#1 of 15 in Portonovo
300 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Delfin Azul
Hotel Delfin Azul
#14 of 75 in Sanxenxo
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Spa Resort

Property: Augusta Spa Resort
Address: Lugar Padrinan 25, 36960, Sanxenxo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Sanxenxo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sanxenxo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sanxenxo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sanxenxo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanxenxo
#11 Family Hotel in Sanxenxo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Augusta Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Augusta Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augusta Hotel Sanxenxo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing