We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb - could not fault”
Review of El Ciervo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Ciervo
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Vielha
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb - could not fault”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed just before Christmas as a base for skiing in Baqueira. As the hotel was pretty keenly priced we did not have huge expectations but were totally blown away by what we experienced. Excellent location in a pedestrianised area right in the centre of town (but with parking less than 100m away). The decor verges on the kitsch but once you realise that that is exactly the whole point you see the hotel in a different light. Greeted with an extremely warm welcome (and a glass of vin chaud), this is clearly a family-run hotel whose proprietors/staff genuinely care about the experience of their guests. The restaurant wasn't open in the evenings but the breakfast buffet is unbelievable - a huge assortment of tapas-style breakfast dishes to choose from in addition to the usual pastries, ham, cheese etc. If you usually go Mr and Mrs Smith urban chic, boutique hotels then I would urge you to re-discover the joy of a more traditional hotel and immerse yourself in this little gem of a place.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayAddict44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    25
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
74
150
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ijsselstein
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is indeed a unique hotel and one that I'll gladly give a 5 star rating. The rooms are lovingly decorated / furnished and are in excellent condition, as is the rest of the hotel. At breakfast a huge number of a variety of dishes (at least 30; sandwiches, cakes, ...) was on offer, next to the 'usual' toasts, fruit, jam, meats, ... Also, the staff was very helpful and patient.
Should I visit Vielha again, it will absolutely be the first place where I'll try to get a room.
It definitely deserves the #1 ranking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is wonderfuly different to other hotels. The decor is beautiful and the hotel full to the brim of interesting little trinkets and ornaments, nice smells and happy, helpful and smiling staff. The breakfast was completely unexpected. The table in the centre of the dining room is covered with, what must be, over 40 different varieties of beautifully presented dishes, both savoury and sweet which you are free to help yourself to. The management at El Ciervo have clearly put a lot of effort into making the hotel an interesting, relaxing and unique place to stay and they have well and truly succeeded.

From our stay in Vielha, the only thing I would suggest to be weary of are the cheap meal deals. The hotel has media pension offers with a few local restaurants where you can eat 3 courses and wine for 15 Euros. This is a good offer and the food is ok however we found that the portions were quite small and the food not of an equal quality to the rest of the menu offered by the resturants. I would reccommend spending a little more and steering clear of these menus if you are after a high quality meal and dining experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel!
We didn't plan to stay in Vielha but were running late, so we stopped at the entrance to the town and checked in Tripadvisor. Ciervo was no.1 so we went there....
I loved it from the first minute.
Service is great. The nice lady that runs the hotel speaks reasonable english and helped with a smile for all we've asked.
Rooms are large and smells good. The whole hotel is decorated including the rooms....
The most amazing part of our stay was breakfast. It is practically insane. Never seen anything like it before. A variety of hand made gourmet small dishes. All decorated with great taste. It appears that every afternoon the staff are starting to prepare the next day's breakfast.
After breakfast we've decided that we must stay for another day, and changed our trip plans for the next day to allow it....
This is by far the best hotel i've been to...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amramkfir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Situated in the very center of Vielha, a really well decorated hotel, treated with love and good taste. The breakfast buffet was tasty and the presentation was excellent! The price for the room was really good!! Worth staying there!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVMNGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Wonderful family run hotel. The breakfast was the most impressive we had in all of Spain. We enjoyed the lovely room and the nice company. It was our honeymoon, and we recomend this hotel for young couples. Also great value for the reasonable rates.

  • Liked — The nice owners, the decor and the breakfast...
  • Disliked — The rooms are small, but beautifull.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gilaperla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vielha hotels
0.4 mi away
Parador De Vielha
Parador De Vielha
#4 of 24 in Vielha
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tryp Vielha Baqueira
Tryp Vielha Baqueira
#2 of 24 in Vielha
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Acevi Val d'Aran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Husa Tuca Hotel
Husa Tuca Hotel
#7 of 24 in Vielha
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aran La Abuela
Hotel Aran La Abuela
#8 of 24 in Vielha
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Nou Vielha
Aparthotel Nou Vielha
#10 of 24 in Vielha
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Ciervo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ciervo

Property: El Ciervo
Address: Plaza de San Orencio, 3, 25530 Vielha, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Lleida > Val d'Aran > Vielha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vielha
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vielha
#1 Family Hotel in Vielha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Ciervo 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Ciervo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Ciervo Vielha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing