We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Works”
Review of Parador De Vielha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parador De Vielha
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Vielha
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Works”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a place where you want to be when driving from Lleida takes five hours due to fresh snow and blocked roads, and you are sick and tired. The lady in the front desk did not speak English, but organised my night flawlessly, including getting me a warm garage. There was a good, locally focussed three course dinner. The room was probably quiter than otherwise because of the lack of traffic, but it was clean, well equipped (power outlets next to each bedside, extra plus) and comfortable. Next morning the tractor driver was upset because I asked him to clean out the garage exit while he was doing something else, but he went and did it.

What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arturo G, Director at Parador De Vielha, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience at our hotel. We wait to see you again very soon in the Parador de Vielha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    264
    110
    31
    23
See reviews for
170
396
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just spent 2 nights here & really couldn't fault it. Staff were helpful & friendly, the food was good, room was clean & comfortable. Yes it is a little expensive but I think some people miss the point that with Paradore it's all about the location. So just like you pay twice as much for a coffee in a famous picturesque piazza because as you know you are renting the table (it really has nothing to do with the coffee at all). So you can't expect more staff than guests and a first class restaurant in the middle of nowhere to be cheap - it's unrealistic . There is traffic right past the hotel but the double glazing meant you could hear next to nothing especially during the night. Plus the restaurant will reseal your wine if you don't finish it all so you can take it home!
We discovered some wonderful local red wines in their list.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomadsjandp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
471 reviews
347 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a great view from the balcony of our room but it was spoiled by traffic (including large trucks) running way too close to us. Breakfast was good, but a meal we ate in the lounge was the worst we've seen in a Parador and it was served to us by a very disagreeable little man.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel was a lovely stone lodge with mountain views and a fabulous view of the town of Vielha in the valley. We were there in late September and the parador was very quiet. There were only about 10 or 12 people in the dining room for breakfast on the two days we were there. We were told the parador is full in the summer and again in Nordic ski season. The town of Vielha is apparently en route to the pilgrimage to Santiago del Compostela as after leaving the hotel we passed several pilgrims making the trek on foot. The parador is close to the Aran valley and seems to be a vacation destination for many who enjoy outdoor activities. We have stayed in many paradors and we found this one to offer everything we enjoy....pleasant staff, large room with balcony and views, cleanliness, large bathroom, and a decent breakfast. We also enjoyed free drinks in the lovely large rotunda lounge.

Room Tip: Disabled access room 138 is above the reception desk and we were able to access wifi in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this Parador en-route from Spain to France and the location was excellent, being near the tunnel. The room was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. We arrived just on midnight, so it was dark and when we opened our curtains in the morning the view was wonderful. We didn't have any food, as we had to leave before breakfast. The only criticism was that the car park was not adequate - maybe because we arrived late, but there should at least be the same number of parking spaces as bedrooms. Other people were driving round looking for a space too.

Room Tip: Arrive early to get a parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notanotherholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed there for our the last day of our holiday in the Pyrenees. The rooms were good, the view as great, good parking and the nearby town is lovely. Unfortunately, the staff were unhelpful, the phone in our room did not work and the charges for any facilities were exorbitant, whether for the meals, the use of the spa, or whatever. The coup de gras was ot find we were given a twin room despite having booked a double room and to be told that because we had booked through booking .com, they did not need to bother making sure we had what we asked for as it was only a preference and so not binding on them. This is of course legally true but as the hotel was almost empty (desperately trying to get rid of rooms at 34 euros on the day, empty halls and lobbies) it was obviously a sign the bored and rude staff did not care. I wonder if this means we should not go to that hotel or not use booking.com?

Room Tip: book at the last minute, eat out (great restaurants in town), don't book through booking.com if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomlevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is one of the more modern Paradores and therefore lacks a little of the charm of others. Also its a little out of town and so eating there is advisable if you don't want to drive into town. I'm glad to say we had a very nice dinner there, so that worked out OK. The rooms are large and well equipped and I got a very decent nights sleep. It also has a pool which, after a long days riding, is a nice facility to have. As I have said in other reviews, my only complaint with Paradores is with the staff, who can be a bit offish at times. However it's a nice hotel and I would stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vielha
0.8 mi away
Husa Tuca Hotel
Husa Tuca Hotel
#8 of 24 in Vielha
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tryp Vielha Baqueira
Tryp Vielha Baqueira
#2 of 24 in Vielha
603 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Spa Acevi Val d'Aran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Parador de Arties
Parador de Arties
#1 of 2 in Arties
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aran La Abuela
Hotel Aran La Abuela
#9 of 24 in Vielha
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
HOTEL ETH POMER
HOTEL ETH POMER
#5 of 24 in Vielha
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador De Vielha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador De Vielha

Property: Parador De Vielha
Address: Ctra de Tunel s/n, 25530 Vielha, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Lleida > Val d'Aran > Vielha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vielha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador De Vielha 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador De Vielha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Vielha Hotel Vielha
Parador De Hotel Vielha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing