We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palou Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We've just returned from 5 days at the Palou - this delightful 10 room hotel is an absolute gem. Hidden away at the top of the small town/village this 130 year old "americanos style" doctor's house has been carefully restored by Rafael and wife Conchita, along with daughter Inma and her architect husband, retaining as many of the original features as possible, Don't worry if, like us, you can't speak Spanish - Rafael and Conchita don't speak any English either!! As long as you're into mime you'll understand what Conchita is on about for most of the time - the rest is pure guess-work but you'll have a ball. Daughter Inma is around in the morning and late most afternoons with her two young children and for her most things "....is possible..." The whole place is spotless and is a credit to this proud family. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the wailing and nashing of teeth when we left was, I imagine, a sight to behold!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidbmwsetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 121 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2008

We stayed here in June 2008, and had a lovely time. We stayed in the Rum room which was perfect. We had a lovely balcony which looked out on the peaceful back garden and pool. The room itself was very nice and had everything you need. Don't expect a normal hotel. There are 10 rooms and had more the feel of a large old colonial home. Inma and her family could not have been more helpful and would go out of their way to help you.

Even though Sitges was very near (5 mins by car) we hired a car. It was great - we would get up in the morning, and lazily drive into Sitges, hit the beach for a couple of hours, grab a bite, and head back for a siesta. Then out for the night.

Sitges is one of the nicest beach towns around. No drunken yobs, just a very safe place that is kept immaculately clean.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mickgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

What a great Hotel - Just outside Sitges with a good Bus service to take you there. Only 10 rooms all designed differently - Our room was on the top floor with a lovely view from the top window, all the mod cons of Fridge Air Con and a great shower - plently of towels and the rooms were very clean - but what really makes this hotel is the owners such lovely people Breakfast was made especailly for you and they couldn't be more helpful as soon as we walked out to the lovely pool at the back they brought us sunbeds and every thing we needed

We were so pleased we chose this Hotel over one in Sitges - some great little resturants in the town and we had some of the best meals we had on our tour of France and Spain. We hope to return soon

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank snowbabe311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

This is a super place - away from the bustle of Stiges but only 5mins away!

Only 10 bedrooms so you are never going to have to share the lovely pool or terrace with too many people.

Our room was great - spacious, fridge, clean. The shower never really made it above war, ad the air con never really got to cold but otherwise a fabulous stay.

Restaurants only 10m from the door too!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

I was a little nervous, booking this hotel based on only one review here but as our stay was only for one night I decided to go for it. I'm so glad I did as this hotel truly is a gem!

Hotel Palou is very easy to find and we arrived around 9 pm and received a very warm welcome from the owner, his wife and his daughter. We had 2 rooms booked for our family of 5. Both were immaculately clean, nicely furnished and very comfortable.

We were quite tired after a long day in the car and hungry having missed dinner earlier. Not a problem. The owner's wife walked us over to a restaurant a street or two away called Soligo where we received another warm welcome and enjoyed one of the best meals of our entire 3 week vacation.

The following morning we enjoyed a fresh continental breakfast in the hotel dining room before it was sadly time for us to leave. We will definitely return to Hotel Palou.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hiyasme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Palou after booking some cheap flights to Barcelona, and not in the mood for a city break decided to have 4 days on the beach instead. Looking at the Barcelona coast area (Castadefells, Sitges, Vilanova, Tarragona) everywhere seemed very commercialised with big impersonal properties with terrible reviews and high prices. Hotel Palou is something else, 5 mins outside Sitges in an inland town called San Pere de Ribes is this small boutique hotel. Only rated as 3 star it far exceeds this standard in ambience and charm. The building is an old townhouse/planatation villa built in the 1870's and has lovingly been restored by the family who run the hotel. It is a beautiful building that has kept its original features and yet feels fresh and contemporary. There are 10 rooms, some with balconies, all individual and are spacious and airy with air con, hairdryer, TV, minibar. The hotel only serves continental breakfast although dinner is available on request, there is a lovely garden and swimming pool, and although in the centre of a town it is very quiet and feels very spanish. The Conchita family really make the place, always smiling and welcoming, it was such a pleasure to feel truly like a guest rather than one of a number. We do not speak any spanish and the owners Raphael and his wife do not speak english however their daughter who runs it with them does, so when phoning to book it is probably best in the mornings when she is there doing breakfast. Otherwise their website [--] you can send a booking enquiry- the website is excellent with virtual tour of each of the rooms etc..We stayed in the Banana Plant room which was spacious and pretty and Euro96 per night- exceptional value. There are a smattering of restaurants (restaurant Clau in the town was very good traditional/local dishes with a lovely patio) in the town, bakeries, gelateri but you are best driving into Sitges for more choice- we especially recommend Restaurant Fregata, near the old walls on the front- you should book ahead. Also if looking for a smaller beach than Sitges & Vilanova head to Garraf beach and have a traditional lunch at the beach restaurant overlooking it- packed out with locals. Also worth a look is the Cordoniu estate Cava winery in a town nearby (15-20 mins drive), for Euro 2 you get a tour of the beautiful Modernista building & wine cellars & a glass of Cava. All in all this made for a relaxing Spanish feeling break on a very busy coastline, with cheap flights and just a half an hour drive from Barcelona airport- great ! Am only sorry that I am revealing the secret of this lovely unique small property but had to write as the family deserve the acknowledgement !

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank HMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Pere de Ribes
1.8 mi away
Hotel Desitges
Hotel Desitges
#2 of 2 in Sant Pere de Ribes
159 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cava & Hotel Mastinell
Cava & Hotel Mastinell
#1 of 5 in Vilafranca del Penedes
275 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Sol i Vi
Hotel Sol i Vi
#1 of 1 in Lavern
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Atenea Park Suites Apartaments
Atenea Park Suites Apartaments
#1 of 6 in Vilanova i la Geltru
399 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Ceferino
Hotel Ceferino
#2 of 6 in Vilanova i la Geltru
161 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palou Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palou Boutique Hotel

Address: C/ Palou 15-17, 08810, Sant Pere de Ribes, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sant Pere de Ribes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sant Pere de Ribes
Price Range: $73 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palou Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with enchantment and very family in St. Pere de Ribes, to 4Km of Sitges. Our 10 different and cosy rooms, the family treatment, the enchantment of the house, the tranquillity of the surroundings and the exclusive feature that we offer cause that a stay in the Palou Hotel is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palou Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palou Boutique Hotel Spain/Sant Pere De Ribes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing