We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night to Remember”
Review of Restaurant Channel

Restaurant Channel
Ranked #12 of 204 Restaurants in Platja d'Aro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $39
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed April 12, 2019

My wife an I didn’t know what to expect when we made our reservation for Restaurante Channel. It’s off the beaten path but the website photos sold us on giving it a try. The ambience is in deed charming. Every aspect of our dining experience was first rate. Our server was very attentive and tried his best to interpret our English. He was assisted by the owner who was quite gracious and funny. Every aspect of the food was amazing from presentation to flavor. We left the restaurant delighted by the experience however, half way back to our hotel I was in a panic that I had left my travel wallet, with passport and credit cards in the restaurant. When I got back to the restaurant the entire staff dropped everything to help in the search. After turning the restaurant upside down I finally found my wallet in my car. What a relief! We will long remember our dining experience but just as importantly the kindness and concern of our new friends at Restaurante Channel.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 158 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2018

We chose this restaurant after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. Luckily it was a short walk from our holiday apartment. So glad we came! Delicious food, excellent service and a beautiful setting just off the main esplanade.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suziandpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2018

I had several meals in this restaurant since it was open three decades ago. It has evolved massively from humble starts in a small area of the building and grow extending the original bar to a fully formed serving restaurant of international cuisine. Ofelia (the owner) has grown with it, training as a cook for several years and growing her exquisite menu for a wide range of customers. There are several dishes for the taste of everyone without exception and prices accordingly, having a very reasonable set lunch menu on middays to premium cuts of meat and fresh fish (ask always for the market fish they may have on the day). The service is always excellent but in the summer they can go over drive due to high demmand, my recommendation will be to chill out and enjoy the partial sea views and the Ridaura's river mouth where the restaurant is located.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jordich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ofelia C, Propietario at Restaurant Channel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2018
Google Translation

muchas gracias por los animos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2018

This restaurant is a little bit off the beaten track but very welcoming when you arrive with a waiter at the door to take your jacket and show you to a seat. We decided on a three course gastronomic menu with a bottle of Cava. Started with hors d'oeuvres of Melon and Ham and Prawn Cocktail, then had Sea Bream in salt and Sea Bass on a potato base plus vegetables. It was delicious but we couldn't manage a dessert so settled for coffee instead. We received faultless service and sat back enjoying the delightful ambience. The entire menu was 29 euros - we were so impressed that we went back the following night and had an equally marvellous dinner.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wooster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ofelia C, Propietario at Restaurant Channel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2018
Google Translation

muchas gracias por su comentario, un saludo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017

I loved the diversity on the menu, high quality for a good price. Very nice atmosphere and good explanation of the possibilities for vegetarians.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Irene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Channel also viewed

Platja d'Aro, Costa Brava
Platja d'Aro, Costa Brava
 
Platja d'Aro, Costa Brava
Platja d'Aro, Costa Brava
 
Palamos, Province of Girona
 

Been to Restaurant Channel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing