We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“All there but not quite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pinar del Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pinar del Mar Hotel
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“All there but not quite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

First and foremost the staff are fantastic - exceedingly helpful and friendly.
The hotel is also spotlessly clean and the housekeeping is excellent. There is a hotel and also apartments. We stayed in the apartments, which are mostly bright and spacious.
At the time of writing the facilities, although in the apartment, were not available. For example, there are no tea/coffee making facilities, the hob is not connected, the microwave does work, but there is no cutlery or crockery, pots pans etc. this is a bit of a bind, as the hotel only offers a continental breakfast - which isn't the most inspiring.
There is a nice pool, sauna and sun deck available (chairs are rather hard though - no cushions) and it has a spa with a jacuzzi, I believe the jacuzzi is available for booking 24 hours a day (not included in the room rate)
The apartments don't have a great deal of sound proofing. They all have private balconies with chairs and tables.
The hotel is not even ten minutes walk to the main town and also the beach. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Top floor apartments to reduce noise from people above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    60
    30
    14
    17
See reviews for
18
111
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

advertised as multi lingual staff, however, multi lingual does not mean english speaking as none of the staff had basic english speaking abilities. No information about the hotel or area available in english; there was a bus stop outside the hotel ut staff could not tell us where it went.Couldn't even answer the basic "how do we get to the centre/town" Hotel used mailny by french and spanish. When we checked in at midnight we were given out room key but not even told what floor it was on or when breakfast was.
Breakfast very basic continental; they did put out fresh melon and tinned fruit in syrup but when this was gone it was gone which was usually by 08:30(breakfast 08:00 - 10:30).
On the positive side it was clean. Wouldn't reccommed this hotel unless you were fluent spanish speaker as school spanish isn't enough.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the street as it is on a main road and does get noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elainem43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Platja d'Aro hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed one week June 2011. Lovely little hotel,staff very friendly,very clean. Nice fresh buffet breakfast! Will be going back in Sept. Meg & Al Durham. England

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALBYRON942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

First of all I have just read Maria1Manchester's review of this hotel. I assume that the ownership has changed since her review in 2009 as it certainly wasn't indicitave of our stay.
This is possibly the nicest little hotel I have ever stayed in (and I can assure you I have stayed in many when Im on business!) I can not rate it high enough. It was inexpensive, clean & tidy. It had a very chic and cosmopolitan ambiance, with modern furnishings and fixtures. The floors and walls were beautiful marble and granite, giving the impression of 5* hotel rather than the 3* rating as indicated on the exterior.
The bedroom was a good size with modern furniture, good size wardrobe, fridge and flat screen tv. The bed was extreemly comfortable and a good night's sleep ensued!
The en suite was beautiful, with ceramic tiles all over, basin, bidet, toilet and a fver sized shower cubicle, which proved to contain an extreemly powerful hot shower.
The Breakfast Buffet was also of a good standard and plenty of it.
The staff were friendly and efficient.......what more do you want....Fabulous....Well Done.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UKFoodExporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

Myself and my property were physically threatened and I was seriously verbally abused and humiliated by the Manager and staff. (I am a middle aged lady who was on my own in this hotel. I can only speculate as to whether I would have been treated in such a disgraceful manner by the hotel staff if these had not been my circumstances.)

The matter is still being investigated by the British Consulate in Barcelona and The Catalan Tourist Office. The Consulate are also in the process of pursuing an investigation by the police regarding the barbaric way in which I was treated.

It was a complete nightmare and I still am very distressed about what happened to me. I was so badly traumatised that I returned to England after only one night's stay. I do not want anybody else to suffer as I did and feel it is essential to warn as many other people as possible to stay well away from this hotel.

  • Liked — Not applicable to the horrendous experience I suffered
  • Disliked — Not applicable to the horrendous experience I suffered
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oot12percent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

The hotel was excellent value i have payed a lot more in the past for much less
It is a new hotel excellent room very modern with mini bar
excellent modern bathroom
great breakfast
very helpful staff
small pool and spa and restaurant
mostly spanish and german staying there
only negative is its on the main road so lots of traffic noise but
small price to pay as everything else great

  • Liked — very new and modern style
  • Disliked — road noise at front of hotel
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CornwallSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

Pinar Del Mar is a great hotel. It is small and modern having been recently refurbished. Our standard room was really nice with flat screen tv and good bathroom and spotlessly clean. It is on the edge of Platja D'Aro which means it is quiet at night. It is only a few minutes walk to all the shops, restaurants and gorgeous beaches - especially the small one beside where the Cami de Ronda to S'Agaro starts. The only downside is the cars passing by so if possible ask for a room at the back of the hotel rather than the front. Although the hotel doesn't have parking, there is loads available all around it. We were there in mid August and never had a problem getting a space. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — Recently refurbished. Rooms were bright and very clean
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ireland9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Platja d'Aro hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bell Repos
Hotel Bell Repos
#3 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#4 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#8 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Els Pins
Hotel Els Pins
#6 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinar del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinar del Mar Hotel

Property: Pinar del Mar Hotel
Address: Avda S'Agaro 157, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinar del Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Pinar del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinar Del Mar Hotel Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing