We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Definitely Top Notch!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Definitely Top Notch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here whilst on our road trip last August/September 2012, through France and Spain. We travelled for hours through the Costa's and then as I was giving up hope, I found this hotel. We drove past, U-turned, and took a suite for a couple of nights. The hotel stands out from any other, but we chose it as i'm a bit 'precious' about my car, and the parking was private, with a security guard (oh and they WASH your car for you - result!)

Nicely kept grounds, inside the hotel is deceiving, it goes back a long way, and offers everything one would expect from a 5* resort, and the staff are really lovely and friendly, and even allowed me to practice my hideous 'schoolgirl' Spanish on them! The chef does create some 'wow factor' delights, but being Veggie, I was asked 'what i'd like', and agree 100% with a previous poster, who said that there should be more veggie options on the menu, rather than the chef 'whipping something up'. Please, i'm not complaining, that was lovely, but i'd rather just pick from a menu like anyone else. The food is faultless, the drinks are 'good measures', the entertainment was a beautiful spanish singer when we were there, she was fab.

The room was immaculate and sumptuous, 'gotta love red and gold decor', but a little dated. Nonetheless, for the £550 per night we paid, B&B, I wasn't moving to another hotel, I just saw two rooms and chose the best one for us! The bathrobes were soft, the wardrobes plentiful, TV wasn't great signal, balcony was lovely, and the jacuzzi bath was FAB!

All in all, if I could get it for a few days in the Summer at the correct brochure price, and not an 'i'm desperate for somewhere to stay' price, I would happily come back!

If you want to feel special, with a two hour flight, and are celebrating, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We did, after all I said, really love it, though for it's 5* rating, it needs tweeking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pawsandhooves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    132
    38
    6
    13
See reviews for
94
434
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is beautifully designed and with very good service, as you can expect at a five-star hotel. The Spa-area is lovely and the balcony offered a good view of the Mediterranean, however, the hotel is located a bit away from the beach with some houses and a few trees in between. Considering that the price is quite high the hotel does not qualify for the highest rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Visited Platja D'Aro on business in March, unfortunately most of th town was closed. The hotel was very nice, well appointed rooms. My jacuzzi bath didn't work, however the room was very nice. There also seemed to be a lack of staff, the only time we used the bar, I had to telephone reception to get service.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SharkyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

A lovely hotel with plenty of space to sit and relax. We went out of season (October) but I think the hotel had plenty of sun beds and chairs for all of the guests. Good access (beware lots of stairs) to the small cove below the beach. Very good breakfast selection. Room very clean and well maintained we had access to a terrace which was very nice. Staff helpful and available (which says much these days). Plenty of car parking at hotel. Lots of shops/ eating in resort (the hotel is pricey for dinner) but as the hotel is situated out of town be prepared to either drive or take a taxi. We visited after a trip to Barcelona and found it a good base to get out and about.

Room Tip: Our room was situated on the ground floor in front of and to the right hand side of reception and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Distinguished guest,
Thank you very much for your valuable comments. We are very pleased that your holidays were as you had imagined. We sincerely appreciate your positive comments about our facilities, but more so his words about our staff. Your comments will help us to continue to pursue a level of service excellence that we have set. Regarding the restaurant keep in mind that we work with fresh, seasonal area. With a magnificent presentation and service according to a five stars for hotels. It is true that by proximity to Barcelona, ​​Girona and even France, the proximity of airports (Barcelona, ​​Girona), the TGV (girona) makes it easy to enjoy a few days rest in the Costa Brava and specifically the baix emporda (Platja d'Aro) population where we are right across the Mediterranean sea. Once again thank you very much for your feedback and hope to see you soon in our hotel
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have been here twice. The first time you see the view from the restaurant you are taken aback as it is so beautiful. Very good value despite it bing expensive. Top class food. I had the Arroz negro and can still remember it as being oneof the most amazing lunches ever. Pool area is relaxed and classy. You can read a book, sleep, act as though it is your own villa! People are very well behaved and good mannered. It is a steep walk down to the beach and I would not let small children wander about here. You might be living on your nerves with old folks too! So many steps and a bit of a wavy and steeply shelving beach. So many photos to take of the coastline. It is exceptional.
The town of Platja D'aro is nothing special. Just a town really with lots of shops and restaurants. Interesting but .....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debthereb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments, we are very pleased that your stay was so enjoyable. We take due note of any improvements we can make to give better service to our guests (beach access).
On your next visit , I recommend to visit some nearby wonderful towns as Pals, Peratallada, Begur .... see in our reception will be pleased to inform you
Thanks again and see you soon
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here for company outing in May. The experience was superb. Beautiful rooms with excellent view. Extensive spa facilities. Food was great. Though vegetarian options were less, but they prepared veg pizzas, etc for us. Breakfast was lovely. The rate was although high. But it was worth it. The location was really good. Quiet, calm & peaceful.
Only problem was if they could have provided more veg options, since it is not difficult to manage that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pr_ri_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear guest;
thanks for your valuable comments. nothing inspires us more than a satisfied guest. We take due note about vegetarian food, but as you say vegetarian dishes prepared for you. We try to satisfy all the needs of our guests, so we discuss with our chef to see the possibilities expand.
Best wishes and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night during a January weekend. The presentation of the hotel is outstanding, the staff were welcoming and helpful, and the "standard" room was impressively appointed and clean, with a large terrace and rich decor.
We were thrilled with the visually beautiful and extensive spa facilities, and there was plenty of choice in the breakfast buffet. We had only two minor gripes: the hot food selection at breakfast would've been even better had it been... well, a little hotter! And we found the in-room wifi connection to be particularly poor, which ultimately proved very frustrating. However, there was an excellent connection in the restaurant.

Overall, a memorable and special experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallesHotels, Director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest;
thank you very much for your valuable comments. We are delighted you had a great stay with us.
We take due note about breakfast service, in terms of the hot products.
Regarding the wi-fi, we have increased the number of antennas to improve coverage and hired an ADSL line more suitable to the needs of our guests. We are awaiting the telephone company for installation. So we hope to have this enhanced service soon
Hope to see you again soon,
best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platja d'Aro
0.2 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
5.8 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#4 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#8 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 7 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bell Repos
Hotel Bell Repos
#3 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi

Property: Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Address: Avda Cavall Bernat 160, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#1 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#7 Family Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel offers direct access to Platja d'Aro's Cala del Pi Beach. It has a free 600m² spa, free Wi-Fi and parking and an outdoor pool with sea views.Rooms at Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi feature a hydromassage shower and a private terrace, many with views over the Mediterranean Sea. All come with satellite TV, pillow menu and Loewe amenities. Hotel Cala del Pi features a heated indoor pool, waterfalls, ice fountains, a Finnish sauna and Turkish bath. There is also a small fitness centre. The Rosa dels Vents restaurant serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared using seasonal products. The cafe bar includes a summer terrace overlooking the sea. Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi is located on the Costa Brava, just 27 km from Girona-Costa Brava Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salles Hotel And Spa Cala Del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala Del Pi Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing