We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 Star. Cheap and Cheerful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H.TOP Caleta Palace
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Not 4 Star. Cheap and Cheerful.”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We arrived today (30/10) on an EasyJet 5 day deal.
For the 2 of us £340 for 4 nights/5 days staying at Caleta Palace, Platja D'Aro inclusive of flights & breakfast.
Cheap deal!
Initial thoughts of the hotel? Welcoming at reception. Helpful staff at the room (key got stuck).
The room is very basic (511) and the whole place is a bit 'second hand' and grubby.
However, you have to take into account the price paid. It's cheap. We were after a cheap break and our expectations have been met!
If you are expecting the hotel to cater to your every need, entertain you, feed you to a high standard and envelop you in 4 star 'all inclusive' luxury for £40 a night then you are a moron.
We had a good wander around today and many shops and restaurants are closed for the season. This is to be expected. It's the end of the season!!
Transfers?
Hire a car for £100. It's cheaper for a start. Europcar at Barcelona were fantastic. Took 10 mins to get our VW Polo (booked online). Took our own Tom Tom. Navigated to Calella for a stop & breakfast (with lager) & then on to Platja D'Aro. 2 hours and an easy drive along the coast.
With a car, Girona is an easy strike. Also Tossa, Lloret, St Filoux, Palamos and Barcelona.
We struggled to find a decent bite to eat in Platja D'Aro. This was due to our timing t.b.h (late afternoon). It appears that most places open after 6pm. Should be OK after this time.
Plenty of banks/cash points in the town.
Also a 'Carrefort' and 'Lidl' supermarket nearby for essentials (beer/wine/tasty bar snacks!)
Some people have whined about queues at the bar for all inclusive drinks.
At the Supermarket you can get a half-decent bottle of wine for e3 & cans of San Miguel for e0.50 so just a thought, get out of the hotel and buy a few bottles/cans?
This would help avoid the queues!

It's not a great hotel, although being right on the beach is a bonus (as long as u get the right weather), but it's an ok place for a short break / place to sleep.
Don't expect 4 star standards because it just isn't 4 star.
Alright for the money.
I wouldn't advise staying here with no 'Escape' options for a week out of season t.b.h. Very limited entertainment options in Platja D'Aro..., although plenty of shops and a funfair (open in season).
Must have = A Car really or you will get bored quickly. We saw a lot of people reading books in the foyer - not a good sign! Kids running riot un-supervised mid-afternoon.
Amusements - v. Poor.
Restaurant / Breakfast - we'll see in the morning (not hopeful t.b.h but benefit of the doubt and all that.....)!
Much Love.
Tim and Pat.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Klubfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    324
    291
    156
    191
See reviews for
487
358
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Birthday surprise it certainly was that. Tired old hotel two star twenty years ago ! Booked via high st travel agent NOT 4 STAR!. Restaurant more like a canteen with tables no more than two inches apart. Bossy restaurant manager who demands you sit where it suits him. Cup no saucer plastic spoons for cereal, thats breakfast. Dinner no condiments, queue to get a drink, no cards no account to room all cash! No Coffee in restaurant.Food luke warm and very boring. Rooms are stark, lacking in furniture no working t.v .Location fantastic.They should pull this hotel down and build something better on this site!!1Needless to say have had considerable compensation from agent.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a good room, but I guess sea view a must. Go room only if you want location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqueline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Platja d'Aro hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Right, where do I start!? I'm never one to complane and you can't knock the price.. So..Arrived safely flight and transfer was brill. Got to hotel and was greated at reception by worn out faces!! Got to room was very clean had all that you need but can defo say this is NOT a 4 star more like 2! Cleaning staff r nice and the catering staff are great to apart from one lady we called hitler! Face like.. We'll I can't say! But anyway.. They faulce advertise the entertainment! There was nothing on that they said would be! Only entertainment we had was the reptile show and it was great!! :) there was two fights at the bar as the bar staff was so rude swearing at you in grunt of children! You que for 40 mins to get a quarter pint plastic cup!! Not good in evening hence the fights!! Would never bring children here! The manager is also rude! The food is over cooked and over boiled with a choice of fish or fish or over cooked soggy pork! One good thing about my stay was the beach and weather :) but safe to say I'll never be returning!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pops1234556677889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just back from 8 nights AI must say this is not a 4 star hotel. It was very cheap so what can you expect. The whole place is so in need of a revamp, rooms are very dated, however they were clean & beds were comfy, choice of TV channels non existent BBC World was it. Range of AI drinks was good & coffee from machine behind bar was excellent. At the end of the week it got very busy and queues for drinks at bar were endless(30 minutes minimum), same queue even if you were paying which they need to sort. Food was ok could have been hotter and of a better quality but as said before you do get what you pay for. Staff were all exceptionally helpful & pleasant. Get a room on a high floor if possible as some of the guests can be a bit noisy, our friends had to be moved & we changed room on arrival as on ground floor with totally inadequate locks on patio door Whilst Playa D'Aro is very modern there are some beautiful old spanish town reasonably close so it's definitely worth hiring a car, we shared with friends and it was great to get around & see this area as it is really beautiful.pp

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with sea view, however we did and were asked to pay an additional charge per nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NannyKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We arrived home today after a week in the Caleta Palace. We went we no expectations as we had seen very mixed reviews on here. Upon arrival the staff were very pleasant and friendly however we got stung by something called 'Tourist Tax'???? we had to pay 24 euros i think ..... scam or what?!?!?
We staying in room 214 on the 2nd floor, room was clean and tidy and was fine for what we needed, yes the hotel needs a lil tlc and some updating but its not as bad as some people make out. Cleaners came in everyday without fail to clean, change bed sheets and change towels.
If you want wifi its:
5 euro for 1 day
10 euro for 3 days
20 euros for a week - this wifi card can only be used on one device.
There is a safe in the room for a cost of 30 euros for the week.
the pool was fine, my little girl made some friends and was totally happy in the pool most of the week. She isn't a strong swimmer and i was happy that there was plenty of shallow water for her to play in.
the beach was a shingle beach and was really lovely and the snorkeling is amazing, i lived in the sea feeding bread to the fish my whole holiday.
We went out of season to this resort so we expected it all to be closed, don't go out of season expecting excursions and shops, buses and regular taxis, you wont get this. i never saw one single bus and the town was only busy on the weekends. There is absolutely nothing whatsoever to do outside the hotel and i mean zero!!!
The hotel food is not good guys!! it was fine on the first day but then it got very de ja vu!!!! if you like stewed veal, over cook veg, picked veg, hard bread, rabbit, cheap off cuts of pork and chicken, grilled hake, pasta, boiled potatoes and chips then this is the buffet for you. just remember you will get the same food day in and day out. Your sick of it by day 3 for sure, we regularly saw people in the town trying to find somewhere else to eat. it became a bit of joke among us to be honest lol.
This part of Spain does not welcome the British, i was regularly spoken to in french even though they knew i was British. the hotel was full to capacity of all different nationalities. On the Friday before we came home, a load of Spanish old ladies rocked up for the weekend and the hotel pulled out all the stops to make them welcome, even sneakily open the restaurant half an hour early to give them a head start on all the food and even get them bottles of wine on the tables etc. We were not worthy of such treatment.
evening entertainment was ok, disco most night for kids. Problem is that the hotel is full, hundreds of people are in the hotel all wanting a drink and the open one bar with 2 people serving creating a massive queue of about 40 min wait each time you want a drink, its a nightmare. Drinks in my opinion are very watered down, soft drinks are lovely though.

Overall i feel we got what we paid for and didn't expect anything. i wont return to spain again but i did have a nice break.

Room Tip: sea view would prob be best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have just returned to Scotland after a great 5 day break at the Caleta Palace all the staff in the hotel were very pleasant,polite and helpful the whole hotel could do with a refurb but in saying that the rooms were clean and cleaned daily i.i am a fussy eater but i always found something to eat at the buffet which was always hot and well presented.
Overall this was one of our better holidays hastle free warm and totally relaxing

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Firstly I would not recommend going out of season, the entertainment was nearly non existence, out of 7 nights we had 3 shows, everything started quite late, the kids disco did not start until 9pm & only on for half an hr. No music prior to this which was very dull. The Hotel needs a lot of TLC, the furniture is very old, the sofas in the lounge/reception area looks like they could do with a very good wash. No trips were available from the Hotel, this place would not pass on its health & safety, a step was broken heading towards the pool area, 1 of the paths was very up & down (crazy paving) my children tripped over a lot on these, we had a very bad smell in our room every morning coming from the drains, Only 1 plug socket in the room which the tv was plugged into & 1 in the bathroom, The hair dryer was missing from the holder so glad i took mine, be careful when entering the lifts as sometimes they did not stop level, my husband tripped over getting in. The food was ok but very repetitive, got boring so we ate out a few times. good variety on drinks but these were watered down, found it hard to even get merry no matter how much i drank, (stick to the beer if you want to have a good time) Most of the hotel staff were very friendly, The location was good with a couple of water parks/rides near by but these were closed due to the season. We stayed on the beach 6 days out of the 7 as the pool was very cold but the sea was nice & we actually had more fun jumping the waves. Take some good flip flops because after a while the beach starts to hurt your feet, its not sand it was fine pebbles. I would say this is a 3* not a 4*.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Platja d'Aro hotels
0.7 mi away
H.TOP Platja Park
H.TOP Platja Park
#21 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#4 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
#13 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,725 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#8 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Els Pins
Hotel Els Pins
#5 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Caleta Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Caleta Palace

Property: H.TOP Caleta Palace
Address: Avinguda Del Cavall Bernat 122, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Caleta Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
H·TOP Caleta Palace hotel is located in the lively city of Platja d’Aro, Costa Brava (north-east coast of Spain) and has a direct access to the beach. The 300-room offer Mediterranean beach views and a relaxed environment perfect for singles, couples and families. It is situated 110 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 32 Km from Girona Airport. Platja d’Aro is a fairly small town that attracts many tourists as it has many things to do for the entire family: shops, colorful cafes, traditional Catalan restaurants, and entertainment attractions including water parks (Aqua Diver), funfairs and playgrounds. FACILITIES (COMPROBAT x Montse) Rooms • Social room (ping pong, billard, etc.) • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pool • Sun terraces Children • Miniclub • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Facilities for guests with disabilities • Car hire* • Fax & copy service* • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes* • Wi-Fi* • TV plasma • Fridge • Luggage storage • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles* • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your H.TOP Caleta Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Palace Hotel Platja d`Aro
Caleta Palace Platja d Aro
H.TOP Caleta Palace Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing