We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H.TOP Caleta Palace
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here all inclusive with friends at the end of April. Hotel was really nice, the food was plentiful. I agree the dining room was very squished and I can imagine in high season this being awful, but overall I can't fault the hotel and would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as the view was fantastic
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luvhols4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
There are newer reviews for H.TOP Caleta Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 9 nights all-inclusive at the end of April 2013.The hotel exceeded our expectations with a nice ,spacious and clean room.Food was plentiful,with around 12 hot dishes at lunch and dinner and of a good quality.The freshly cooked fish was of a very high standard.The downsides were that apart from the conservatory area the restaurant was like a school dining room and very cramped with a rather stupid system of having to stand in line for drinks and water.The bar area was of good size,drinks were plentiful and all the staff were very pleasant.Outside the grounds were nice with plenty of places to sit or sunbathe and the hotel had steps onto a shingly beach.

Room Tip: higher floors are better but no sun in afternoon in seaview rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel as a family group of seven. The hotel is lovely and clean. The food is lovely with lots of choice at each meal. We stayed All Inclusive and everything was spot on. The rooms were really nice and cleaned every day. The only downside about the place is the beach. It is so gritty it hurts your feet to walk on it and there is no chance of making a sand pie or castle. Very disappointing for my little grandson. The weather was lovely for only four days of our stay and on speaking to staff this seems pretty general for the weeks before. There were always plenty of sunbeds around the pool as the hotel manly seems to cater for spanish people....who dont seem to want to sunbathe!! The hotel is not far from lots of shops and restaurants and the prom is lovely for a morning or evening stroll.All in all a great holiday but I would suggest going a little later in the year to give it time to warm up a bit.

Room Tip: My sister had sea view which was very nice but didn't seem to get much sun. We had a view over t...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawnlandon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went on a fairly last minute break as we were so sick on our weather! Very pleasantly surprised at hotel, after reading a few moans on here was expecting the worst but found it to be a very nice hotel, very clean, our room smelt of bleach when we got here so they do a thorough job!
Food is ok, a big repetitive but plenty of it, they could crisp the bacon up a bit though! All the staff in the restaurant were very pleasant. I think there could be a bit more choice for non meat eaters , but lovely to have lots of very fresh fish, very nicely cooked. my other half was delighted at the dessert table, different coloured 'mush' as we called the various desserts! Not sure how to describe the not quite blancmange/mousse on offer! Everything is presented beautifully , and lovely linen on the tables, however watch out for dirty coffee cups!
The only disappointment really was the bar, at previous all inclusive hotels there were always cocktails on offer, here there was only one cocktail a day, but as we are not huge drinkers we mainly stuck to wine and soft drinks.
The snack bar was ok, although a few buns for the burgers on offer wouldn't go amiss
The pool area is beautiful, plenty of loungers, although we were there very early in the season, and it's lovely being so close
to he beach. The views are quite stunning, with lovely walks around the coastline to beautiful coves. The sea was too chilly for a swim but we braved a paddle!
The town itself is lovely, very few 'tack shops' and some very nice shops, and lovely restaurants, we did eat out one night at ' levant' which we can highly recommend, we had the 18.50 Menu, excellent value, and lovely food.
It's a lovely beach with a nice promenade, with a few lovely sculptures on the way, the boy with a boat is charming.
we walked along to the Marina one day , in search if a Supermarket we'd looked up on Google, as I wanted to take a few foodie bits home, but it had been demolished and very posh waterside apartments were in its place .
I think if you were self catering in the area you'd need a car as there are only quite small supermarkets in the town.We realised too late the hotel actually provided packed lunches on request! Which would have been nice when we went to the beach.
We did say if we go back here that we wouldn't get a taxi transfer as it was expensive for such a short journey (30mins) but hire a car so we could explore.
It seems to be a very nice safe place to walk around, even at night, but I imagine it must get much busier in high season.
we would definitely go back the hotel and the town itself, we were very impressed at how very well kept the surroundings are.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank cupcakechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I have been to the Calleta Palace twice and are looking to book again for August. The hotel is basic but very clean and both times we have had rooms with fantastic sea views.We did have one night in one of the apartments next to the pool on our second visit as our room wasn't available. We were moved the next day at our request as the apartment was damp and smelt musty so I would avoid choosing this option when booking.
The food is good and we always found something we liked to eat. Most days there were proper english type sausages for breakfast. ( you might have to look for them as they were not on the buffet but where the chef was cooking eggs).
We go all inclusive as it is such a bargain. The drinks are good quality and plentiful including a Cava type sparkling wine which is very good (available at breakfast as well should the fancy a Bucks Fizz!) and the Spanish Brandy they serve is excellent.
The Pool is unheated so not for us as we like bath temperature water! but is kept clean.
The beach is right on the doorstep of the hotel and has clean sand but the water gets deep very quickly so be aware if you have young children.
One of the plus points for us is the town of Platja du Aro which is a pleasant 10 minute stroll away.It is not full of shops selling tourist tat but has some very good upmarket shops and boutiques and excellent restaurants. Our favourite is Llevant on the main street. The set menu is great value, 19 euros for a huge bowl of mussels, whole sea bass with vegetables, sweet and coffee plus a litre of San Gria. The place is always busy and we have spent several long enjoyable lunch times sat outside eating, drinking and watching the world go by.
All in all for the price we have paid on both occasions I really can't fault the holidays we have had at the Calleta Palace.The staff are friendly and helpful if you are polite and courteous to them. Bad mannered guests get what they deserve in my opinion!

Room Tip: Avoid the apartments, very damp and musty
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PhilandJoMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We arrived very late at night, the receptionist was very friendly. Be aware that there is a Tourist tax to pay which was just under 1 euro per person per night. The room and bathroom were very large and clean but basic. The Hotel is in a great location on the beach and the pool overlooks it. The food was good lots of fish to choose from. There were lots of elderly Spanish people staying there so getting into the resturant was sometimes a challenge. all trying to get in together. The resort is lovely very clean and not at all touristy. Lots of up-market shops and bars, a great place to have an evening stroll. Not many British people and not many signs written in English. We would definetley go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MidsomerLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Rooms basic but adequate. Food is usual all inclusivebut good choice and something for everyone perfect location, right on the beach hotel staff very pleasant except for the show cooking chef whatever you do don't ask him to flip your fried egg over he goes on one not many English people in the hotel when we were there but that's not such a bad thing. Not much entertainment wise unless you like ballroom dancing and mini disco.The town its self is very cosmopolitan with plenty of boutiques would I go back. ..... yes I would nice and relaxing and if you go there make sure deb and Keith are there 2 mad geordies

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bazza l l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Platja d'Aro hotels
0.7 mi away
H.TOP Platja Park
H.TOP Platja Park
#20 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#10 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
#12 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,772 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#4 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bell Repos
Hotel Bell Repos
#3 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Caleta Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Caleta Palace

Address: Avinguda Del Cavall Bernat 122, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range: $53 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Caleta Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
H·TOP Caleta Palace hotel is located in the lively city of Platja d’Aro, Costa Brava (north-east coast of Spain) and has a direct access to the beach. The 300-room offer Mediterranean beach views and a relaxed environment perfect for singles, couples and families. It is situated 110 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 32 Km from Girona Airport. Platja d’Aro is a fairly small town that attracts many tourists as it has many things to do for the entire family: shops, colorful cafes, traditional Catalan restaurants, and entertainment attractions including water parks (Aqua Diver), funfairs and playgrounds. FACILITIES (COMPROBAT x Montse) Rooms • Social room (ping pong, billard, etc.) • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pool • Sun terraces Children • Miniclub • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Facilities for guests with disabilities • Car hire* • Fax & copy service* • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes* • Wi-Fi* • TV plasma • Fridge • Luggage storage • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles* • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your H.TOP Caleta Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Palace Hotel Platja d`Aro
Caleta Palace Platja d Aro
H.TOP Caleta Palace Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing