We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“had a great time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of H.TOP Platja Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H.TOP Platja Park
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“had a great time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

my husband and I( age 44 and 45) have just returned from a weeks stay and for the price we paid we didnt expect too much well we were pleasantly surprised! We had a king size bed double balcony and maid service every day with clean towels, the room was spotless.
The food was great my husband doesnt like fish and I do there was plenty of choice to keep us both happy, you got a bottle of decent wine(or more) if you wished with your meal and could take it out of the restaurant if you hadnt finished. An english breakfast with proper sausages too. The staff were friendly enough and we found the queue for a drink was no more than 5 mins usually quicker. the beach was about 5 mins walk away plenty of shops restaurants and a couple of nightclubs close by. It was the end of season so the entertainment was not so good but we met great people and had a great time. Ola holidays were fine with us we had no problems free transfers and they were waiting for us wouldnt mind going back if we got a cheap deal. you could use the calletta palace hotel s facillities too that was more was family based the platja park tended to be couples.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank justmrsaverage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    184
    145
    86
    95
See reviews for
241
185
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed 10 days and had an absolutely brilliant time! Great value for money, I think many People on here forget how much they paid!!!! Food was excellent and the service brilliant. I can definitely recommend the mojitos.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elephantreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

After reading all of the awful comments about this hotel, my expectations were very low, so anything better than poor was a bonus.
We arrived and had a bit of a dilemma with our room, apparently it did not have a balcony. The manager promptly corrected this and put us in a huge family room over looking the pool.
The hotel is pretty tired and dated. The bed linen, serviettes and table cloths look like they have been washed thousands of times, but they are clean!
The hotel is kept very clean and tidy. The cleaners seem to be constantly cleaning everywhere. The pool, although small is well maintained. There are ample sun beds, tables and chairs.
The dining area is huge and well organised. The food can be very repetitive and it is astonishing the amount of variety that can be made out of Veal and Pork. The food is in my consideration average, although some dishes were very good. Sometimes you had to give your meal a quick ‘ping’ in the microwave to heat it up, but on the whole most of the dishes on display had steam coming from them. We, or anybody else that we spoke too, did not suffer from any food sickness issues.
We found all of the staff to be very helpful and cheerful. If you want to drink yourself stupid then the ‘all inclusive’ option is for you. You can have a whole bottle of wine to yourself at meal times. You can also take bottles up to your room to drink on your balcony. The beer (lager) is 5.4% and served in ½ pint glasses. You can also buy a ‘gold’ card which allows you to drink branded spirits.
The town is lovely, very clean with lots of bars and restaurants. The beach, although shale, is spotless.
About 5 minutes walk from the hotel is a bus station where you can catch a bus to lots of nice little bays and towns, and Barcelona.
For the price that we paid, it was a bargain.
So to all of the negative comments: Yes, the hotel is tired and dated….Yes, the food can be predictable……..Yes, sometime you do have to queue up for drinks……Yes, the hotel is full of French, Germans and Dutch and ….Yes, the entertainment is not very good.
However, we enjoyed it and it more than beat my expectations. I think that the majority of the negative comments are totally unwarranted. You get what you pay for, so don’t expect a luxury holiday!
Well done Platja Park, you made us very welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony2074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leightonbuzzard
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Food great
staff need to smile a bit more
pool? i thought someone had spilled a drink it was that small!
all inc drinks- 1 card 1 person and you queue for over 15 mins for less than half a pint!
ola holidays - customer service poor and didnt pick us up from airport with no apology and rude on the phone, the response was ' put it in a letter' recieved nothing we asked for
location - good for bars and shops
beach only a few mins walk and very clean and has a marina
we would recommend the area however not the hotel or Ola holidays!
met some great people - Chunk you gave us a giggle!

Room Tip: get another hotel unless you are getting it for £200 each!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mankini_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Platja d'Aro hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Myself and my husband have just got back from this hotel! We thought we were booking a cheap get away, but £948 later we had booked this hotel.
If only I had listened to the comments from prior guests on this site I would never of booked. When we arrived at 10am we were told that the all inclusive did not start till 12 noon!!!! And we could not check into our rooms.
I said to some chap on reception about drinks and he said we would have to pay (on an all inclusive!!! What a joke) we then finally had our room........... Well my god where do I start, it was a jack and gill room for a family so had people trying to get In our room and my husband could not even get out into the balcony because there was not enough room to open the door...... Mmmm not ideal.
Service: we'll if your French or Spanish then you will get treated like royals but Brits you have no chance
AI: well they could not make there mind up one moment your husband could use both cards and get you a drink then another moment they would change the rules.
Entertainment: let's not even go there!!!!!
Food: well it was ok but not 4 star like they advertise.
To sum up the great (not) hotel people even tried to rub out 2 of the stars on the board outside.
Listen guys, please listen to the comment on here which we never did and don't waste your money on the shabby 2* hotel use you money on a hotel that will treat you like a human.

There was how ever one big plus on the holiday and that was the amazing people we met, you made our holiday and to quote the saying Hey You Guys lol go chunk x

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boobski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Impressed with room quite big 2 x double beds. Food average alot of pork on the menu, all inclusive drinks choice ok was queues at times. Maids cleaned every day and left fresh towels. Staff in restaurant very polite, reception staff not so nice. Pool very small not much for kids to do however resport itself lovely lots of little parks and beach only a 10 min walk. Entertainment not good at all. Last day we did not leave until 8.00pm, all inclusive cards were taken from us at 10.00am, had no food or drink all day, had to buy our own. Lost out on a day as did not arrive until 11.30pm on Monday 3rd September. Complained about this were not budging, we were not the only ones this had happened to. Overall we were happy as had got a cheap holiday however what happened on this last day has made us not want to return. As said previously alot of spanish & german got the impression did not like english very much.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, as around the hotel not much to look at
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just returned from 7 nights all inclusive here, first impressions were not great we got here early in the morning and were told we could not have a room key until 12.30 or use our all inclusive cards.
We remained positive and when we finally got our room i was disgusted, it was tiny and not very clean with a tiny window overlooking concrete blocks of other hotels. I went straight down and asked to be moved, they were not able to do this until the next day which was annoying but at least they moved us. Second room was bigger with a balcony but unfortunately overlooked the bin store and the smoking area for all the staff.
I have never stayed in such a noisy hotel in my life, between all the deliveries right outside our balcony to the shouting and constant noise from the residents and staff we didnt get much rest.
Plus points were the maid came daily and the room was clean but not plush by any standards.
I get the feeling they don't like the British much here, the hotel was mainly Spanish and most of the people were just plain rude.
Food was average but we struggled to make a meal, all inclusive drinks are not great - really small choice and massive queues most of the time to get them.
With regards to the resort, it is very quiet with not much to do and doesnt seem to wake up until lunchtime at least.....
I would not return to this hotel or any other HTOP and am dissapointed that I paid so much money for this experience.

Room Tip: I suggest you ask for a room over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icewarrior2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platja d'Aro
0.7 mi away
H.TOP Caleta Palace
H.TOP Caleta Palace
#27 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#3 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#76 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bell Repos
Hotel Bell Repos
#4 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
14.1 mi away
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
#87 of 125 in Lloret de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Platja Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Platja Park

Property: H.TOP Platja Park
Address: Avda Estrasburg 10, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#8 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Platja Park 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star H·TOP Platja Park hotel is a family oriented hotel, located in the lively city of Platja d’Aro, Costa Brava (north-east coast of Spain), and it is just 550 metres from a sandy beach. It is situated at 110 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 32KM from Girona Airport. Platja d’Aro is a fairly small town that attracts many tourists as it has many things to do for the entire family: shops, colorful cafes, traditional Catalan restaurants, and entertainment attractions including water parks (Aqua Diver), funfairs and playgrounds. The modern 208-rooms offer plenty of fun activities and relaxation comforts for adults and children. FACILITIES Rooms • Social room (ping pong, billard, etc. • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pool • Sun terraces Children • Miniclub (really is children's activity room ) • Baby cots and chairs Spa area • Sauna • Fitness room Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff Others • Facilities for guests with disabilities • Meeting & banqueting spaces • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service* • Medical service (external service) • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room) • Wi-Fi • TV plasma • Luggage storage (coin lockers) • Showers for check-out • Lifts • Bikes & quadricycles* • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your H.TOP Platja Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Platja Park
H.TOP Platja Park Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing