We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Hotel Els Pins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Els Pins
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2006

We arrived late at night and the electricity tripped. The facilities were very basic and there was a building site across the road, however we have visited the area again in 2004 and the building work has finished.
We were completely misled by our travel agent about this place, it is not in Cambrils and miles away from Salou, however, there is a regular bus service. The long promenade was really nice. We visited Barcelona from here. The food in the cafe below the apartments was pretty good and the beer was cheap, the restaurant next door was excellent.
We had a good holiday really, but the only things that spoit it were the facts that we couldnt use the cooker/kitchen appliances due to the dodgy electrics and it was miles away from anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2002, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Cymrocymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 288 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2006

Having been to L'Escala and Barcelona previously, I had fallen in love with Calalunya and wanted to go back, but wanted to try a different resort. I chose Platja D'Aro.
Me and my boyfriend James flew into Girona, picked up the hire car and followed the directions we had been given to Hotel Els Pins (I'd called the hotel the day before and spoken to the daughter of the family who run the hotel who had given me simple directions in good English).
I knew we were staying at a small family-run hotel with a small pool, however the rooms (we didn't have a proper balcony) and pool were smaller than I was expecting. The car parking was also a bit of a nightmare - a 7-space cramped garage under the hotel which required lots of shunting to get in and out of spaces (at a cost of €10 a day I might add!). However the welcome, the food and the cheap prices in the hotel bar (San Miguel €1.85!) went a long way to make up for this. We also found we were only a few metres from the beach and despite being near restaurants, bars and clubs we were not disturbed at night by noise.
This was a great base for us - I like chilling on the beach and a bit of sightseeing, such as the Dali museum at Figures an hour away, and James likes golf. We played 2 local courses - Mas Nou in the hills beside Platja D'Aro (buggy essential!) and Costa Brava Golf a little further away (15 mins drive). Neither course was overly busy, which couldn't be said for the Dali museum where we queued for about 20 mins to get in. The queuing and entry price of €10 was well worth it though!
Back at the hotel, we were staying half-board. Continental breakfasts with plenty of food even towards the end of the 8-10am breakfast period, and then a choice of lunch or dinner (both were 4-course meals). The food was lovely. We had a barbecue at the hotel one night too instead of the usual served meal and this too was delicious. I'm not normally one with too adventurous tastes and was a little concerned initially that some of the dishes on the menu might not be what I was expecting as the descriptions were basic, but I never had a bad meal.
My only final comment on the hotel (and also the resort) is that not many people speak good English. Most speak a bit, but those who don't often don't even speak Castillian ("normal") Spanish and speak Catalan instead which can be a bit tricky! Everyone did try their best though and no-one was rude. Even the bar staff (Ruben and Miguel) at the hotel managed to communicate well with James who speaks less Spanish than I do via pen and paper, and sending each other amusing videos on Bluetooth mobiles.
All in all I would summarise Hotel Els Pins as a good 3* option with friendly staff and good food. If you want big rooms, English speakers at every turn and a big car park this is not for you, but if you would like a real Catalan experience in a friendly place with rooms that you are just going to crash in and not live in then this would suit you just fine!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank footylass08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank martafu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Alfie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank haraldb172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Roussel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Platja d'Aro hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel San Jorge
Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,920 reviews
0.4 mi away
H.TOP Caleta Palace
H.TOP Caleta Palace
#20 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#4 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Planamar
Hotel Planamar
#8 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bell Repos
Hotel Bell Repos
#3 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
717 reviews
0 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#9 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Els Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Els Pins

Address: Nostra Senyora del Carme, 34, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range: $78 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Els Pins 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose to be as close as you can get to the Main Beach. Choose to form a part of the one big family at our hotel. Choose a combination of ample leisure time and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Make the right Choice every time!Family run hotel located 20 metres from the beach and 150 metres from the shopping centre and built in traditional Catalan style. The rooms are comfortable and have private bathroom, telephone, TV, safe, Wifi and air conditioning. The hotel also features a TV lounge, a cozy bar, outdoor garden terrace and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Els Pins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Els Pins Hotel
Hotel Els Pins Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing