We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Spanish Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel GHT Xaloc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel GHT Xaloc to your Saves list
Hotel GHT Xaloc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cala Rovira 9, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
GreenLeadersBronze level
Swansea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Real Spanish Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just back from 10 days at Xaloc. the hotel in a really good position in a small cove and a 10 min walk to the main street of Playa d'Aro. The hotel is very spanish with the majority of guests french/german/dutch and spanish. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially Reception and bar staff. Every area of the hotel was very clean including the pool although small had comfortable loungers, unlike other hotels we have visited.The food was plentiful at both breakfast and evening meal but more continental than british but very enjoyable. The promenade on the main beach - 5 minutes walk across cover around coastal path - was excellent place to 'people watch' with very clean sand- leading to the marina at the other end. Playa d'aro had an abundance of shops including 'Designer' stores and plenty of restaurants and bars and as this is very spanish some the smaller one giving tapas with your drinks. There were music bars in the evening but didn't visit any to comment. a thoroughly enjoyable holiday

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have a balcony and would be quieter but are more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank granma20101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Xaloc, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
ear guest,

We really appreciate and thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Xaloc in Platja d'Aro and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We look forward to see you soon at Hotel Xaloc or in any other of our hotels strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    59
    18
    3
    10
See reviews for
38
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the Xaloc. Hotel in an excellent location by the beach and at the quiet end of Platja D'Aro. We found all the staff very helpful and pleasant. A special thanks to Colin (name given to him by the British) who nothing was too much for him.

We had no complaints about the food, good choice on the salad bar every night, a little limited for me on the hot food as I don't eat meat. I didn't go hungry found plenty to eat.

Our room was at the front of the hotel on the second floor. As are stay was short wasn't bothered about a balcony. If we had been there for longer would pay the extra for the fantastic view of the coast . Our room wasn't big but was fine, wasn't planning on spending too much time in the room.

We would use the hotel again if we were to go to that area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommyolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Xaloc, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate and thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Xaloc in Platja d'Aro and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We look forward to see you soon at Hotel Xaloc or in any other of our hotels strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

-near the beach, location great
-food-there were some nights when they served only frozen fish,low quality and frozen squids
-thin walls and not so good sleeping quality
-senior barman when asked to give me some ice send me to the nearby supermarket to buy !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Xaloc, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Xaloc in Platja d'Aro and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We will take into account the things that are not of your satisfaction andlook forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We just returned from Hotel Xaloc, where we spent 18 days. Check in was smooth due to the super receptionist Ander, who was very kind,professional and very helpful during all our stay.
We were given a very nice room and the sea view was great. Our room was very clean and was cleaned every day, towels were changed every day. The hotel is very close to the beach and you can hear the waves while you sit on a balcony. Food was very good, with a variety of choice for everyone. The hotel has a terrace overlooking the sea and I wondered why they did not serve breakfast and dinner outside. They served dinner outside only on Wednesdays. I think the hotel should have better entertainment program , because only on Wednesdays a singer was singing, but it was interesting only to children and to elderly couples.
I would definitively recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cece1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director of Sales at Hotel GHT Xaloc, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Xaloc in Platja d'Aro and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevoort Hasselt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel for 9 days (17/07 until 29/07) and we (me, my wife and son) had a great time during our vacation at Xaloc. Nice location, friendly and helpfull staff (Kalin and co ...) Bar 24 hs open, every 2 days sheets cleaned etc... maybe one little disappointment was the food, but ok, that's maybe relevant...
Thanx for out pleasant vacation en we wil certenly meet again !!!
Greets from Belgium,
Valerie, Jonas & David

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Century1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Xaloc, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Xaloc in Platja d'Aro and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Platja d'Aro hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bell Repos
Hotel Bell Repos
#3 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#4 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cap Roig
Hotel Cap Roig
#15 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
3.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Els Pins
Hotel Els Pins
#7 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel GHT Xaloc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GHT Xaloc

Property: Hotel GHT Xaloc
Address: Cala Rovira 9, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel GHT Xaloc 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, quiet and cosy hotel in one of the spots on the Costa Brava, on the beach of Cala Rovira, with wonderful and unforgettable sea views. Hotel Xaloc is ISO 9001 -certified. Here, you can enjoy the peace and quiet of this lovely area while getting some rays on the beach and taking a dip in the Mediterranean. Its friendly atmosphere will make your stay truly pleasurable. You will wish that time could stop, so that you can enjoy this experience just a little longer. Hotel Xaloc accepts dogs (up to 10 kg in weight) at a moderate cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel GHT Xaloc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel GHT Xaloc Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing