We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short golf trip....hotel was a great find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Hotel San Jorge
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights bed/breakfast, upon arrival we were upgraded to a sea facing room. Great selection at breakfast. Hotel is highly recommended, beautiful location, nicely situated between Platja D'or and Palamos.10 minute walk into town and only 25 minutes max to all golf courses. Enjoyed so much we are about to re-book.

Room Tip: Try and book sea facing rooms they are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

This area is frequented by golfers as there are 9 courses nearby, and plenty of bars and gastronomic restaurants for leisure. We look forward to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 1,920 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We found this hotel via Tripadvisor, our usual Costa Brava hotel was closed for the winter. We were very happy with the St Jorge. The rooms were a good size and we had a terrace overlooking the sea. There is private parking which is charged for at €10/night. One can hardly complain about this when the cost of the room and breakfast was €51 per night! The biggest disappointment was that there was no tea tray in the room, but we were given a bottle of wine on arrival.

Breakfast was OK, but not outstanding and the coffee was a disappointment. The restaurant was outstanding: excellent presentation, imaginative, well cooked food, €22 a head for 3 courses and good wines from €14. We ate there both nights.

We will return.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank LifeinHerault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

We highly appreciate our customer's contributions and now we are proud to say that now all our rooms got tea tray and that we have improved the coffee from our breakfast and cafeteria. We hope that you are coming to check it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Always feel comfortable here - and that super view out to sea (room 279 this time, with a little balcony). Comfy bed and good choice of French TV stations + BBC World, not to mention Barca TV! Room clean-ish (some dust), Bath narrow and becoming difficult to get out of! Breakfast copious and varied ( a better method of keeping the bacon and eggs hot would be appreciated). I believe the dinners have improved: the meal we had was certainly tasty and well-presented - good value at €22. Hardly any mark-up on wine, too. Lots of the staff are very friendly and approachable. Handy for lots of golf courses - PGA, Santa Cristina, Mas Nou (although I wouldn't play there myself - too hilly, too capricious), Pals, Emporda (although the hotel there is great too, if you can get it at a good price), even El Prat. Very good prices at this time of year (Jan), which sugars the €10 a day for secure parking - the ***** Cala del Pi next door doesn't charge (nor for its spa) although the room charge is much higher.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra to get a sea-view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gammie2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on 3rd Jan 2012 for a one night stop over when headin back to the UK by car.
On check in we were told we had been given a room with a terrace as we were travelling with our 2 dogs. This was totally perfect for them as they were not couped up in a room and was very safe too (they loved it!).
We arrived lunch time so after putting our luggage in the room we headed to the bar for a much needed beer and some lunch. We choose to sit outside as it was a lovely day. The lunch was nice and service good.
The views are so beautiful and what makes this hotel - waking up to the sun coming up over the med was fantastic.
Dinner - service was a little slow but it didnt bother us as we'd had a late lunch so wasn't over hungry although we chose to eat late too 9pm after a couple of drinks in the bar. The service in the bar was very very slow as only one waitress was on who was also doing room service.
In the morning breakfast was extremely busy but the choice was fab.
I will definetly be returning to this hotel at some point - hopefully for more than 1 night !

Room Tip: we had room 110 - would recommend as has large semi-private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kporshce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Visited the resort before but first time to the hotel. Good welcome and comfortable room. Five sudden power cuts in six days with no specific cause was a nuisance, and dangerous if in the shower. Room had a portable radiator to supplement the minimal heating. The hot water was adequate on arrival prior to New Years Eve, but by Jan, 3rd was too cool to have a bath and only a quick shower. These matters were reported to Reception staff.
However the food quality and choice for breakfast was excellent. Dinner was slow paced and relaxing, and the Gala Dinner for New Year was superb. Staff are very polite and attentive. The location of the hotel is walking distance to the town, with great views of the sea and coves.
The Spa was popular on the cooler days.

Room Tip: Asked for a room on a higher floor for quietness, and the top 3rd. floor room was near to the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleenone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite our efforts we had some electric cuts during those days that were completely solved at the end, as we focused in making our customers winter holiday a nice experience to repeat. Looking forward to your next visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here with our daughter as a treat for her birthday and it was a great success. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the centre of Platja d'Aro so you're away from the hustle and bustle of all the shops and restaurants but not too far to feel isolated (there is also a local bus running to the centre of town but we didn't use it). Nice multilingual (spanish, french, english) staff at the reception but had to wait 10 mins for the room to be ready (we arrived at lunch time, a bit early for check in) so used the time to explore the terraces, views and public areas. Very spacious room with an already made-up extra bed and big bathroom. We were especially impressed by the extensive collection of 'goodies' such as shampoo which we found in the bathroom. There was also a small balcony (room for 2 chairs and a table) with a sea view. Swimming pool was clean and towels could be collected from the spa on presentation of a card which we were given at reception, when you hand in the towels they give you your card back which you need to present at checkout at the reception. There is a separate paddling pool for small children. Stairs from the terrace lead you to two beaches right below the hotel. They are public beaches but not very busy because of the location away from town. There was a facility to rent umbrellas and loungers which we didn't use but did buy an ice cream (very reasonable priced) from the beach hut selling drinks and snacks. The sand is not very fine but clean and there were big rocks for playing on and checking out rock pools. Had a drink in the hotel bar, very polite staff and lovely freshly squeezed orange juice but didn't use the restaurant for lunch or dinner.
The breakfast buffet was excellent. Tables are nicely spaced from each other and staff is very pleasant and courteous, continuously refilling buffet and clearing away used plates/cups and relaying tables. Big selection of cold meats and cheese, hot food such as bacon and eggs, sandwiches, rolls, cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, coffee/tea/chocolate, juices, yoghurts etc. All very nice, ate too much so only needed very light lunch!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Toulouse31470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The lovely views do not excuse the casual treatment meted out to some of our group when we stayed there in September. The hotel had been over-booked and the receptionist tried to put four of us in one family room - we are all men in our 60s and early 70s and naturally had stipulated single rooms. We turned them down and three of us had to re-locate to a hotel next door for one night. We were then 'rewarded' with a 'superior' room; well, yes, mine had a balcony with a nice view, but I discovered on the next morning that it was underneath the breakfast room, so the noise started at 7am. The staff in general were helpful, but the receptionist was very po-faced when I was about to leave and asked for my extras - two phone calls to London and a quarter bottle of wine - should be free of charge. A bottle or two of champagne would have been an appropriate recompense for the problems.

In addition the buffet breakfast was difficult since the room was too small for the great number of people who were milling around. The coffee from a machine was undrinkable.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms from 601 to 610.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkenSanJorge, Quality Coord. at Park Hotel San Jorge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Despite our efforts to get a pleasant stay for all our customers in this case it was not possible to arrive at a convinient point for different reasons, not all of them exposed in the client review. We are always open to discuss a compensation with a client but only in founded cases, as our commitment is the full satisfaction from every guests and we never avoid our responsabilites.
We highly appreciate all advices and reviews taking them as an opportunity to improve, and deeply analysing every case with clear objectivity, taking the measures to not repeat a possible mistake and searching solutions to make it better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platja d'Aro
0.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
#11 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
454 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#4 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
756 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#9 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
232 reviews
14.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Monterrey
Gran Hotel Monterrey
#12 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel San Jorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel San Jorge

Address: | Avinguda Andorra, 28, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#2 Family Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#2 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range: $55 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Park Hotel San Jorge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a stunning spot in the Costa Brava, rising over two cristal-clear water coves surrounded by pine trees overlooking the blue immensity of the Mediterranean Sea, Silken Park Hotel San Jorge offers updated facilities featuring an outdoor area, swimming pool by the sea, meeting rooms, Spa, restaurants, lounge bar... The ideal place to enjoy a relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Hotel San Jorge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Park Platja d Aro
Park Hotel San Jorge Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing