We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable, and great location”
Review of Columbus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Columbus Hotel
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 10 day holiday here. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. The room was clean and the bed v comfortable and the blackout curtains ensured a good nights sleep We were on a breakfast included deal which was good value. The buffet choice was excellent and constantly replenished. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were a bit disappointed not to have a sea view. We could have upgraded to a sea view but at 24euros per night it seemed too expensive and as the hotel was situated right on the beach we spent very little time in the room We did have a view of the mountains though and a brilliant sunset. Other extras was the secure parking at 10euros per day. We opted to use street parking for free, which was no problem and we always managed to find a space close by. Did not bother us in the least that the exterior paintwork would have improved the appearance of the hotel. It has a charming Spanish appeal and we would def recommend it for a relaxing holiday. The town of Platja D'Aro is a very bustling and lively with great choice of shops and restaurants, bars. The whole place was very "Spanish" - no "English Breakfast" boards displayed!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 183 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

Fantastic beach front location. However, our room was dark and depressing, with a view of an overgrown building plot. No balcony/terrace, despite prior confirmation that we would have a balcony or terrace. Reception staff were quite dismissive and refused to change our room. After 3 nights I'd had enough and complained again. This time successfully and and were given a room with balcony. Room was clean, but beds were uncomfortable and fittings quite basic. Definately not 4 star. Needs painting outside...quite shabby looking. Food was good and dining room staff were very obliging. The pool was lovely...very clean and plenty of sunbeds. However, to get a drink during the day, you had to leave the hotel and go to the Columbus snack bar (if it was open) on the seafront. Annoying keycards for the bedroom doors, which more often than not, didn't work and had to be 'reset' at reception. Lovely town, very pretty and fab shops but definately wouldn't stay at Hotel Columbus again.

Room Tip: Double check prior to booking that you will have a room with a view/balcony/terrace. Ask them to co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waran d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Comfortable and quiet with an excellent location by the beach and shops, bars and restaurants.
Friendly hotel staff who aim to please. If looking for relaxation, a high standard of cleanliness, attentive service and hospitality this is for you.
Good choice of buffet for breakfast and dinner, waiter service at lunch from set menu.
As the original hotel in the resort it has classic features which may not suit all tastes.
Jose the manager, and his team excel at going the extra mile for each guest, always courteous and smiling.

Room Tip: All top floor rooms give a good view, and each balcony affords some privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colleenone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We really liked the hotel. The beach is very close. Swimming pool is clean and warm. The menu was good. The hotel has a very convenient location. Very close Amusement Park (for adults and children). There is table tennis, billiards and mini playground. The friendly hotel staff.

Room Tip: Extra bed for a child does not restrict the movement of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikson_bti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Very Helpful staff in the hotel and the breakfast was very good. The situation can not be faulted with a skip to the beach and a short hop to the restuarants in the high street. The views from the balcony was lovely. So yes its scruffy and you can see how once it was 4 star probably when Abba were number one but it is a good choice despite the aging decor and multi purpose bath soap.

Room Tip: be sure to choose a balcony with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9chuckademus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is a great hotel in a top location , it is not luxurious or fancy but comfortable . The air conditioning was not good enough for the middle of summer but the staff and location was excellent . We loved the beach nearby it is within a 2 minute walk and just beautiful , the hotel has a lovely pool area and a great family atmosphere . The rooms need refurbishing but all in all we enjoyed our time there . This is a great place if you have children with beaches , pools attached to the hotel , the shopping and restaurants are only 2 minutes away and a great night life is there to be had .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The hotel is very nice. Location, staff, room and food was wonderful. It is not luxurious but very cozy family hotel. I think correspond to 4 stars!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olga16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Platja d'Aro hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aromar
Hotel Aromar
#16 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#4 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Monterrey
MedPlaya Hotel Monterrey
#17 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Els Pins
Hotel Els Pins
#5 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#9 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
230 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
#12 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Hotel

Address: Calle Lleida, 33, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range: $94 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Columbus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbus offers you everything you could want for a vacation with your partner or loved ones: beach, swimming pool, sunlight, balcony over the blue Costa Brava, shopping, daytime fun for the kids, nightspots nearby, full-service restaurant in the hotel and the peace and quiet that you deserve on your vacation. The Hotel Columbus has a spectacular garden measuring almost 3,000 square metres, the home to the swimming pool, sunroom, terraces and snack bar. The hotel also has other facilities like tennis courts, billiard, a kids pool, private parking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Platja d Aro
Columbus Hotel Costa Brava/Platja D'Aro, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing