We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pyrenees Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de la Seu d'Urgell
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in La Seu d'Urgell
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pyrenees Comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Just spent 2 days at this Parador and enjoyed the experience and the location. Well-situated in the heart of this quiet historic town, it is within striking distance of Andorra and the ski resorts.
Excellent restaurant menu and staff were attentive and helpful. For a bit of terrace sunshine go for one of the first floor rooms that open out to the terrace with lovely views of the mountains. Otherwise, one of the larger suites might be better if one likes one's space. The half-board deal is a real winner. Favourite dishes on the menu were the vegetable lasagne, baby lettuce salad and local cheese with honey. Que aproveche! JLR score 36/50

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JoseRomanillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    220
    60
    6
    4
See reviews for
93
318
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

The hotel is located in a beautiful old building, similar to castle, next to a real castle and in a central place in La Seu d'urgell. I've stayed there for one night during a trip to the Pyrenees, without much time to enjoy its facilities.
The rooms are very comfortable, clean, and it seems that they thought about every detail – like placing toothbrushes, shaving glides and even eau-de-toilet in the rooms.
I found out later, that members of the Paradors club (I cannot recall the name) enjoy free parking – which I regret I didn't know at the time, as it costed me 15 euros.
I have eaten dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The dinner was weird, they didn't communicate well in English so I ordered tasting menu, that was nice, but not much more. The breakfast was really really good with large selection of goods.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamPardes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
234 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Paradores are excellent idea, I wish there is similar concept in the States. This one doesn't look much from outside, but unside is quite interesting with indoor courtyard set up in old Renaissance cloister. The location is quite good, la Seu d'Urgell is a main town in Catalan Pyrenees, very nice and walkable, with main plaza and Catedral literally next door to Parador. Rooms are comfortable and tasteful, without extreme luxury. The price offseason was very good. Restaurant was overpirced, we didn't eat there. The wine selection and service were great. No need to use Parador parking, it is pricey, while you can park on safe town parking 200 meters away. Different experience, recommend it!

Room Tip: No need to pay for Parador parking, park 2 mins away for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

We decided upon this hotel due to it close proximity to Andorra.We didn't expect much character from this property, because the pictures were not impressive and it was very inexpensive. However, upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel - is renovated convent, with strong character, one can almost feel the presence of catholic church there in very subtle ways. The room was impeccably clean, the bathroom and the linens were just perfect. Marble bathroom was totally unexpected and I was sold immediately. The window is smallish ( it is convent after all). The room is very small but very efficient. In the lobby there is common area with restaurant ( strict hour of operations - not even think about cocktail before or after designated time!)/ The renovations were done on very good professional level - AC was perfect, water in the bathroom, etc - which is very good, considering the history of the building. Overall - it is not *fun* place, if your idea of fun is lots of parties and happy drunken people in the hallways. But this place is centrally located, and has that special character about it, that I fell like being in some kind of a movie. Perhaps, if you were raised catholic, it is more familiar for you, but being non-catholic I was completely taken by the special spirit of the building and it's interiors. It made me even read about the history of Paradors and I've learned quite a bit. Only one negative comment, that I can think of - the pillow smelled . Apparantly, they changed the pillow case, but didn't notice that previous guest did somthing gross to the pillow. Which leaves me with the question - SHould the housekeeper sniff the pillows?

Room Tip: ask for a room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glamontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Great value for money with an excellent location next to the heritage area. Staff were friendly and keen to assist where they could. Breakfast was exceptional and the food quality was great. Rooms were clean, nice and modern with everything you need.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

This was second of two Paradors we stayed in and it offered an amazing view to the east where we could see the valley stretch out back into the mountains it spills out from and we could see afternoon thunder-storms come from across the mountain range from the north and to the south the range lifted back up into the clouds; and the clouds themselves were these huge gorgeous blossoms slowly sailing across the sky. The view was spectacular.

The room was very comfortable with that nice without pretention vibe we were starting to see more of in Spain. The building itself didn't seem typical of a Parador; from the outside it doesn't appear to be some old structure, but it is all style inside.

The location is very nice and it gives you the chance to take in smaller town Spain. You can walk throughout the kayak park built for the Olympics in 1992 and into the town itself, down little streets where the residents have nice little gardens and fruit trees and animals. There is a donkey out there that means business. It looks like a real idyllic way of life.

In town there is a very old church and shops about small old streets. Everyone comes out in the evening and there is a real sense of community and gathering and friendliness around.

The restaurant at the Parador is incredible. I don't know really how to describe food like this. They offered a venison cut that was unbelievable and the Iberian cured ham here was what legends are made of. Now I get it.

The staff is very genuine and sincere. Each person we encountered, talked to, walked by, you name it, was a refreshing encounter with humanity.

This a real nice place to step away for a few days and slow down. You might find yourself wanting to move to the town someday to retire.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with an east facing view. You will be happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inspaininthemembrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERTS
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

This was the third Parador we stayed in on our trip and the first one we had a two night stop at. Hotel was lovely - nice lounge/bar area and our room was lovely. There wasn't really enough to do in the town to warrant a day and a half there but it was a nice rest after a demanding ride through the Pyrennes.

Only thing I would take issue with was the parking charges. We parked 2 motorbikes for 2 nights in one space (38 which wasn't suitable for a car and we parked at an angle so they could get their van out). When we came to check out they had charged us for two motorbikes for 2 nights. This was the ONLY Parador that we stayed in that charged us for outside parking and while it stated the charge on the card I would have thought that was "per space" - if you parked both bikes in one space then one charge would have seemed fairer. Carpark was about 2/3 empty so it wasn't like they were needing the space.

The other thing that was disappointing was that this Parador was the only one that made a big issue about not using the pool unless you had a bathing cap (which you could buy from reception). We used the gym and didn't see anyone near the pool for the 2 days we were there (and it was very hot) so again - their convenience over guests or so it felt.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a balcony you can sit on while the higher floors don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gembiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Seu d'Urgell
0.8 mi away
El Castell de Ciutat
El Castell de Ciutat
#1 of 8 in La Seu d'Urgell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ANDRIA
Hotel ANDRIA
#4 of 8 in La Seu d'Urgell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nice
Hotel Nice
#3 of 8 in La Seu d'Urgell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Dolcet, l'hotel
Dolcet, l'hotel
#1 of 2 in Alas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurante Cal Teixido
22.1 mi away
Can Boix de Peramola
Can Boix de Peramola
#1 of 1 in Peramola
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de la Seu d'Urgell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de la Seu d'Urgell

Property: Parador de la Seu d'Urgell
Address: Sant Domenec 6, 25700 La Seu d'Urgell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Lleida > La Seu d'Urgell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in La Seu d'Urgell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador de la Seu d'Urgell 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de la Seu d'Urgell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De La Seu D'Urgell Spain/Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing