We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Castell de Ciutat
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Seu d'Urgell
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a wonderful experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were impressed from start to finish. The greeting was magnificent, showed to our room, and offered to be shown around the hotel. The room was very very nice, with a little balcony. and a great view. A high standard of spa Luckily the indoor pool was a good size very romantic. hotel
very good restaurant.

Room Tip: a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosi330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellciutat, Director Comercial at El Castell de Ciutat, responded to this review, October 29, 2016
We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to
welcome you again soon.

Kindly,

Hotel El Castell de Ciutat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    87
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
68
242
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were very disappointed with our stay at this hotel. The hotel is quite old and worn and hasn't been renovated in a while. At Easter there were still dusty Christmas decorations and plants around. We had a suite with an additional room for the kids. The extra room smelled moldy and musty and had no heater in it. The hotel could only provide a small radiant heater (glowing red hot in the night) without a thought to fire safety issues in a small room with kids and tons of blankets. Our bed had the sheet + wool blanket + dusty cover on it - no comforters and no duvets. The pool was open to families for only a short period of time a day, and that mainly during the times when one would normally be out doing something. So even though that was one of our original criteria for choosing the hotel, ultimately that was quite useless. The food was good but not amazing (had much, much better in many other places on the trip) and a joke in how overpriced it was. For ex. we were brought a tiny pot of potato soup which they poured with such incredible flourish that one was expecting molten gold to come out: it turned out to be a bland cream soup with more butter than potato and to top it off the tiny bit of fluid was meant as two whole portions which they charged over €20 per (barely moistened) plate. We were also charged extra because we supposedly asked for too many cheeses on our cheese plate - how one is supposed to know how many pieces are "allowed" was beyond me, and frankly, after dropping a few thousand Euros for mediocre accomodations during our stay, they could have thrown in a few slices of cheese as a goodwill gesture. All this left a pretty bitter taste in our mouth and despite our love for this part of Spain (esp. the San Sabastian area) we will definitely never set a foot in this place again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123sarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catskill, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Nestled in the Catalan Pyrenees, overlooking the quaint medieval La Seu d'Urgell, and standing just below a beautifully restored castle, within the property, stands the lovely, family-run hotel, El Castell de Ciutat.

It is a small beautiful and picturesque hotel with exquisitely appointed rooms with lovely terraces offering enchanting mountain views. It is a great place to relax and rejuvenate your tired body by taking advantage of its attractive and well staffed spa. The restaurant is superb with wonderfully prepared dishes that are presented in a most elegant and appealing way.

The facility offers every amenity expected of a 5 star hotel because it is. However, because it is small and family run, El Castell offers that personal touch to its guests that is so rare and unique. We stayed for two nights as part of our tour of Northern Spain and as my husband and I sat on our terrace, entranced by the view, we decided that when we return to Spain, we must return to El Castell. If you are looking to deviate from the heavily travelled tourist path, go to Seu d'Urgell and stay at the Castell for a pampering experience you will never forget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace offering a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellciutat, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Castell de Ciutat, responded to this review, January 1, 2017
We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kindly,

Hotel El Castell de Ciutat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were impressed from start to finish. The greeting was magnificent, showed to our room, and offered to be shown around the hotel. The room was very very nice, balcony and a great view. A high standard of spa but the outside pool was closed (end of season). Luckily the indoor pool was a good size and could exercise.The breakfast was very good with a choice of hot courses freshly prepared and the dinner we had one night was super. Only draw back was the town which is a bit dark and dismal and we could not find a decent restaurant anywhere.Reception recommended some days out, which we made, and we were very impresed with the mountain routes and the fanatstic scenice walks.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the moiuntains are quiet and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellciutat, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Castell de Ciutat, responded to this review, January 1, 2017
We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kindly,

Hotel El Castell de Ciutat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The rooms are lovely, the view from the rooms is lovely, the pool, spa, steam room, sauna, etc. are magnificent. The restaurant was excellent and breakfast was very good. But the greatest thing I can say is about the staff--they are truly remarkable. Service is excellent and they are so helpful. We had a flat tire in our rental car and no spare and it was a holiday in Spain! The desk person dispatched a maintenance person to help us get on the road again. It still took the better part of a day, so we decided to spend a second night rather than go on--so glad we did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellciutat, Director Comercial at El Castell de Ciutat, responded to this review, October 29, 2016
We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to
welcome you again soon.

Kindly,

Hotel El Castell de Ciutat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
404 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our "treat" to ourselves after a long motorcycle trip through the Pyrenees. This did not disappoint. This place had the "full meal deal". We pulled in without a reservation. The inn-keeper was gracious, friendly, spoke flawless English, and showed us to our room and the facilities as if we were Spanish royalty, not the bedraggled motorcyclists we were. The spa was just what the doctor ordered- beautiful pool, steam rooms, sauna, outside hot tubs, pastoral setting. The room was gorgeous. The restaurant that evening was delicious. The female hotelier greeted each table asking them about their stay, the food, slipping seamlessly between Spanish, English, German and French. I'm sure if you spoke Klingon to her she would have responded as well.
Breakfast was full and delicious.
The kicker? Everything in- including room, breakfast, minibar (complimentary) and spa - was 175Euros. I think the best deal for a luxury stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellciutat, Director Comercial at El Castell de Ciutat, responded to this review, October 29, 2016
We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to
welcome you again soon.

Kindly,

Hotel El Castell de Ciutat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
224 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights here in a beautiful setting. The grounds are worth exploring. Staff was very helpful. Guided us up a crazy mountain after our ballooning was canceled. An unusual experience. We ate dinner in their restaurant. Although the service was lacking the food was delicious. A strange blackout occurred so we had the opportunity to dine by candlelight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellciutat, Director Comercial at El Castell de Ciutat, responded to this review, October 29, 2016
We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to
welcome you again soon.

Kindly,

Hotel El Castell de Ciutat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Seu d'Urgell
0.8 mi away
Parador de la Seu d'Urgell
Parador de la Seu d'Urgell
#2 of 8 in La Seu d'Urgell
540 reviews
21.7 mi away
Can Boix de Peramola
Can Boix de Peramola
#1 of 1 in Peramola
191 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel La Vella Farga
Hotel La Vella Farga
#1 of 1 in Lladurs
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel ANDRIA
Hotel ANDRIA
#4 of 8 in La Seu d'Urgell
123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nice
Hotel Nice
#3 of 8 in La Seu d'Urgell
55 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dolcet, l'hotel
Dolcet, l'hotel
#1 of 2 in Alas
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castell de Ciutat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castell de Ciutat

Property: El Castell de Ciutat
Address: Crta. N-260, km. 229, 25700 La Seu d'Urgell, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Lleida > La Seu d'Urgell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Seu d'Urgell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Castell de Ciutat 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your El Castell de Ciutat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell De Ciutat Hotel La Seu d`Urgell
El Castell De Ciutat Spain/Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing