We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Castell de Ciutat - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Seu d'Urgell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This hotel was a perfect choice for combining active, relaxation and luxury. The staff were friendly, efficient and knowledgable. The location was stunning, with fabulous views and an easy walk into the attractive and well-to-do la seu d'urgell. Food was great - a bit 'spanish' in main courses for my husband (ie pigs trotters, veal, sweet meats) but menu del dia was great and we enjoyed the experience of the restaurant very much (and I loved all the fresh fish!). Our room was spacious clean, peaceful and comfortable. The spa was great, treatments were good, if facial a tad overpriced. We enjoyed the walks but felt we definitely needed proper maps rather than relying on hotels book of walks - directions somewhat vague in many places. All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this or to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agd332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellciutat, Director Comercial at El Castell de Ciutat - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2016

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to
welcome you again soon.

Kindly,

Hotel El Castell de Ciutat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 432 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Andorra. It is a very comfortable and relaxed place to stay mid-journey. The room was plushly decorated and had a small balcony. We enjoyed sitting in the spa whilst looking out over the mountains. We also enjoyed a most delicious degustation menu - beautifully presented, innovative dishes in a most beautifully positioned restaurant sith lovely big windows to enjoy the spectacular view. The staff were very attentive and friendly. Lovely place to relax after driving over and around those Pyrenees mountains!

Room Tip: All rooms appear to overlook the the town and mountains behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellciutat, Director Comercial at El Castell de Ciutat - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2016

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to
welcome you again soon.

Kindly,

Hotel El Castell de Ciutat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

From the moment we drove up the approach to our "Comtal Suite" within the 2200 year old castell, we knew that we were in good hands (the owners not only have Relais and Chateau certification, but they are the senior heads of Relais and Chateau worldwide!). The suites are amazing and well worth the money---multi level, splt plan including a huge master bathroom with sunken tub----amazing views from sunrise to sunset without getting out of bed or leaving the jacuzzi!

The staff is among the most professional and pleasant ever seen in Spain, where,as we all know, service can be variable. We wondered if the restaurant had a Michelin star as it certainly deserved one for the Christmas Eve dinner and Christmas Day lunch.

Importantly a VERY pet friendly property---our dog felt very much at home and was welcomed everywhere. The gardens are pristine, incredibly maintained considering the size of the property.

Two small suggestions: 1) the spa is operating below it's potential....seemed a bit tired and the treatments (we each had the same one at same time) varied a lot between the two estheticians and ended earlier than the alotted time. 2) an informal dining option should be considered as the choices are either deluxe gastronomic dining or bar food in the lounge. Another option in between would be great for those nights when a guest wants just a light bite.

Room Tip: The suites are outside the main building---if you are a larger group and want privacy ---be sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrioViajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellciutat, Director Comercial at El Castell de Ciutat - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2016

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to
welcome you again soon.

Kindly,

Hotel El Castell de Ciutat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Understated, rustic yet elegant, with great views of the valley and pass to nearby Andorra. Rooms are quite cozy with upscale amenities. Wonderful outdoor and indoor pool and spa areas. Restaurant serves outstanding, creative cuisine while overlooking the fantastic scenery. As mentioned in other reviews, the nearby town is fun to stroll around with centuries of old historical interest and modern day interest(Winter Olympics).

Room Tip: Room that face the mountains are preferred. Rooms on ground floor have an outdoor patio. Rooms on se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank drjeffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellciutat, Director Comercial at El Castell de Ciutat - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2016

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to
welcome you again soon.

Kindly,

Hotel El Castell de Ciutat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed at the Castell as part of the Tauck Paradores of Northern Spain trip. The hotel is very comfortable, in an old-fashion kind of way, and the customer service is top notch. However, the highlight were two amazing, incredible dinners. The presentation was extraordinary, the flavors, the dishes, everything. If you enjoy a good dinner, you have to go to this place!

Room Tip: there are rooms with a balcony- ask for thoe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ccorrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellciutat, Director Comercial at El Castell de Ciutat - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2016

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to
welcome you again soon.

Kindly,

Hotel El Castell de Ciutat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We were on a two week tour of Northern Spain and Portugal and wished we could have stayed here longer than two nights. Katia was our guide into town, hostess and cooking class translator. She made us feel like we were visiting royalty at her beautiful home and castle. Our eight course meal in the castle, accompanied by two local musicians was exquisite. We will definitely recommend this hidden treasure to anyone lucky enough to visit northern Spain.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynn1857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellciutat, Director Comercial at El Castell de Ciutat - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2016

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to
welcome you again soon.

Kindly,

Hotel El Castell de Ciutat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Superb location in a beautiful part of northern Spain. The castle and hotel have been beautifully renovated and brought to 21st century standards. It is a family run business and their pride in this excellent establishment shows in everything they do. The dining rooms and quality of food and service are absolutely first class.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Worldwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellciutat, Director Comercial at El Castell de Ciutat - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2016

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to
welcome you again soon.

Kindly,

Hotel El Castell de Ciutat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Seu d'Urgell
0.8 mi away
Parador de la Seu d'Urgell
Parador de la Seu d'Urgell
#2 of 8 in La Seu d'Urgell
627 reviews
21.7 mi away
Can Boix de Peramola
Can Boix de Peramola
#1 of 1 in Peramola
206 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel La Vella Farga
Hotel La Vella Farga
#1 of 1 in Lladurs
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nice
Hotel Nice
#3 of 8 in La Seu d'Urgell
69 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurante Cal Teixido
17.7 mi away
Grau Roig Andorra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castell de Ciutat - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castell de Ciutat - Relais & Chateaux

Address: Crta. N-260, km. 229, 25710 La Seu d'Urgell, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Lleida > La Seu d'Urgell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Seu d'Urgell
Price Range: $131 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Castell de Ciutat - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Castell de Ciutat - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell De Ciutat Hotel La Seu d`Urgell
El Castell De Ciutat - Relais & Chateaux Spain/Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing