We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel staff in bad mood and no smile.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Castelldefels
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The hotel itself was modern and clean. But the Hotel staff's attitude was quite rude. No smile.....At the breakfast the hotel staff were in bad mood and did not greet at all (an elder lady and a man) . We thought they have a lot of work therefore under stress....but we are travellers and want to enjoy our vacation and have a good morning. We stayed another hotels around Barcelona.....but unfortunately this " Ciudad de Castelldefels" was the worst because of the rude attitude of some hotel employees.....even though the hotel has nice clean rooms and is in good location. We can not recommend any other people and we will not choose thie hotel next time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tauri-tauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 377 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2011

Just returned from 3 night stay at the Ciudad de Castelldefels Hotel.
The Hotel should be 4* as rooms were large and clean and the breakfast was very good.
We have only positive things to say about this hotel and definitely recommend it.
The hotel is close to the beach (5mins) and there are plenty of restaurants within a 5 - 10 min walk. The resort is very Spanish and most menus etc are just in Spanish which was fun! We travelled by train from the airport and found the trains very clean and punctual.The train station is only 10min walk from the Hotel but you don't hear the trains pass by. It's only 3 euros from Castelldels to Barcelona and very easy to navigate around the busy station in Barcelona. We also took the train along the coast to Sitges which is a beautiful resort and well worth a visit. This is an excellent location for a weekend in Barcelona much quieter than in the city.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
3  Thank DonnaduckNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Have just returned from a 2 night stay on bed and breakfast, with my husband and 2 friends. Hotel was just what we were looking for, a typical Spanish Hotel in a Spanish seaside resort with no English bars or cafes, advertising English food. Breakfast was very good value as you had a choice of hot or cold.Hotel was very clean all through out. Bedrooms were very spacious, and with lots of toileties in the beautiful bathroom. We had a pool view room which was very nice. Also pool towels are provided at the door leading out to the pool, which was a bonus. Over all I would rate this Hotel a 4* for all its facilities it has to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHRISTINADONCASTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Just back from 3 nights here with my husband. We wanted to visit Barcelona but did not want to be stuck right in the city so after lots of searching decided on Castelldefels because of the ease of getting to Barca and also because it sounded more of a spanish resort. We were not disappointed. Arrived into Prat Airport and took the train one stop to EL PRAT DE LLOBREGAT then change for the train to Vilanova. We made the mistake of getting a train that only stopped at Castelldefels and not Castelldefels Platja (beach). So it was a long walk to the hotel 25mins whereas if you get off at the beach station it's only5-10mins (turn left outside station and continue along this road till you get ot the hotel). Trains leave the beach sation every half hour (26 and 56mins past the hour). It costs 3.20 euros return and takes 20 mins to SANTS and 35 to FRANCA it also stops at Gracia. The hotel is only 2 streets away from the beach and is close to the main restaurant area of the beach. The first night we tried a little mexican restaurant (Mex-ican or something like that). This was so unbelievably bad. We are no foodies by a long mile but this wasn't even edible. Nachos was a small handful of tortillia chips with like warm squeezy cheese. Burritos came with poorly cooked chicken surrounded by lukewarm green gunge. We agreed this was the worst restaurant meal ever so please do not waste your money. However, we had the best meal ever in Castelldefels in a place called VOLVER just down from the hotel. Think it was a South American style and as such lots of steak. My husband had the flank and it was cooked on a huge Bar b q. Must have been marinading for hours as it melted in his mouth. Talking of going back to Castelldefels just for this restaurant. We had a 3 course with 2 drinks each for 36 euros! We are late as it was only getting busy at 11pm and after the meal went for a lovely walk on the beach which goes on for miles. The hotel was lovely. The rooms very big with twins pushed together but so comfortable and big. We had flat screen tv but no channels in english. We had only a juiliette balcony but our room overlooked the pool which looked lovely but since it was overcast we didn't use it. There seemed to be a busy road behind but we never heard any traffic in the room. The main areas lloked lovely with restaurant and bar area. We didn't have breakfast as we were never hungry (13 euros each) but we did get a coffee each morning from the bar to take to the room (5 euros for 2). The staff were exreamly friendly always saying hello etc. Overall a lovely and spotlessly clean hotel very close to the beach and restaurant area. We loved Castelldefels so much that we plan to return next summer with our boys. It has a lovely relaxed feel with miles of beaches and the opportunity to visit so many places like Sitges and Barca. It's a lovely mix of residential and spanish holiday homes with the restaurants mainly used by locals with the occassional german accent but no british.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed here one night after a late arrival into Barcelona before travelling further south. We thought it looked reasonable from the website but were even more impressed on arrival. The triple room was incredibly spacious, clean and very comfortable. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the hotel was well situated at only a couple of minutes' walk from the beach - closer than we had thought. The price was very good value and the breakfast more than ample.

From the outside the hotel might look a little offputting as the paint looked rather tired from the side and this did at first make me apprehensive but the inside was spotless and well looked after. The only real downside is the parking - there are spaces on the road outside the hotel but these go quickly. We did find a place in a nearby street however.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SazOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

2nd TIme in Casteldefells and first time here. Stayed for 3 days as part of a wider tour of the Catalan Coasts. £63 per night for 2 adults and 1 child with Alpharooms. July 2010
Location is excellent only a 10 mins walk from the Renfe at Platja CDF which links into Barca Sants in 25 mins. 5 mins walk to the beach and another 5 mins to nice bars and restaurants. Word of advice though this is not a resort but a Spanish town, therefore it is wonderful as there are very few Brits there and no tacky culture. You really need to know a little Spanish as well.
Hotel is of a business class type, very nice lobby and public areas, bar prices are very sensible too. Free WIFI which was a definate bonus. Pool area was clean with plenty of beds, as it is not really a tourist hotel the pool was largely empty, even in July.
Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.
Rooms were fine big flatscreen tv and nice bathroom and beds etc.

All in all a fabulous hotel which I feel rates more then a 3* rating. I will be back here again next year and would recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheapies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We have had an amazing time in this hotel. The facilities and the proximity to the beach ( 3 block away) makes our training time in Spain a wonderful experience. Our group enjoyed the comfort, excelent weather, good service and great facilities. Thank you so much and we are looking for to come back again to this Hotel at the end of the year.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GermanLXT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelldefels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playafels
Hotel Playafels
#12 of 17 in Castelldefels
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
#3 of 17 in Castelldefels
730 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
#1 of 17 in Castelldefels
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel SB BCN Events
Hotel SB BCN Events
#2 of 17 in Castelldefels
855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel139
Hotel139
#13 of 17 in Castelldefels
75 reviews
1.3 mi away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels

Address: Passeig de la Marina, 212, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range: $50 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ciudad De Castelldefels Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing