We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location for the price”
Review of Hotel Playafels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Playafels
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Castelldefels
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I had a one night stay at Playafels so I only saw the main parts of the hotel. The location is excellent and the restaurant overlooks the beach.

My room was ok, it needed better lighting and a bit of renovating. It was clean apart from the floor which needed sweeping - I had to make use of the slippers provided to stop the sand and dirt sticking to my feet.

The bathroom was huge and the bedroom also a good size. I found one plug socket I could use but it was from that I noticed the tv plug was hanging out of the wall. This should have been repaired.

There was air conditioning but I found it too noisy to sleep with it on. The pipes were also noisy when my neighbour had a shower.

The pillows and bed were comfortable. There were sheets on the bed and blankets available in the wardrobe, although I prefer thin duvets to blankets.

I think with a bit of attention the room could be brought up to scratch but for one night and a cheap price it was fine.

Breakfast was standard continental buffet with some cooked options. There was quite a lot of choice and it was good quality.

My taxi driver didn't know the location very well, if you're coming from the airport I would recommend having some printed maps available to show the taxi driver.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni L, Propietario at Hotel Playafels, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Customer

We appreciate your favorable comments about our hotel. The truth that we always want to improve and try to make customers feel at home during their leisure periods.

Thank you very much and hope to see you soon at our hotel in Castelldefels.

Hotel Playafels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 274 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Situated right on the beachfront, that certainly made it for us. The rooms were basic and simple, but what they lacked in decor they made up in cleanliness. The staff was constantly avare of our needs and were so incredibly helful in every way! Must be the spanish atmosphere:) It is just in the centre of this small town, and a trains ride to Barcelona, so was wery pleased to choose a hotel a bit out of the big town. Thanks for the great experience!

Room Tip: Sea-view !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thalassa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have visited this hotel many, many times for both business and pleasure. It is a 20 euro taxi ride from Barcelona airport and sits on a MAGNIFICENT beach. The beach is very busy at weekends and after 6PM but otherwise is almost deserted.
Good restaurants abound in the small town. Ideal location to get away from it all of but be aware there is no theme park on the doorstep for youngsters!
A lick of paint has been given to most rooms to freshen them up.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthCerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

If you are looking for a decent beach hotel near Barcelona, this one will work! It is very easy to get to the airport, straight shot on the main road, minimal traffic. It is a nice, little town, walking around is easy. It is a nice hotel right on the beach, has a nice pool. Family friendly. Really affordable, too. Don't expect exuding friendliness from the staff, but they are helpful enough. It was very enjoyable with many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MakoRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Hotel Playafels is ideally located in front of a huge beach; 8 Km long and one of the widest which I have seen. Wonderful if you like to enjoy the sea and walking along the seaside. It is also a good location from which to visit Barcelona (20 Km away and very well communicated)

It is a small/mid hotel with a very nice garden and swiming pool which we found very nice to use when coming back from the beach.

There are plenty of restaurants and sevices nearby. There is also a bus stop next to the hotel to go to Barcelona. It takes some 30-40 minutes for 2 euros (or 90 cents if you buy 10 tickets).

The rooms have been renovated and are rather large; the decoration is average. Unless you look for big and trendy hotels, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amoyabxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni L, Propietario at Hotel Playafels, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Customer

Thanks for your time to write your opinion about our Hotel.

We will get his congratulations to all our staff.

Also appreciate your comment about the location in 1st row from the sea.

Hope to see you another time.

Regards

Hotel Playafels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

The one bed duplex was good. Very clean, spacious it partially overlooked the beach from the upstairs balcony. Bathroom was a let down as the floor was asphalt or similar and walls plaster. It looked unfinished.
Two tv's but no English channels.
Bus to Barcelona stops on main road about 50m away and costs 2 euros. However, for slightly more you can get the train from Castelldefels Platja which is much quicker and only 15min walk away.
Good selection of restaurants nearby.
Beach massive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni L, Propietario at Hotel Playafels, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Customer

Thanks for your time to post your opinion in the community about our Hotel. Also appreciate your comment about the location in 1st row from the sea.

The truth that we are concerned about some of the things we said, so we've already put in place measures that help us to correct some of these things that he says.

Regards

Hotel Playafels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Rooms were spacious, the view excellent, but it seems they never cleaned the floor under the beds.

Room Tip: Do ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gvazdikai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni L, Propietario at Hotel Playafels, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear customers,

We welcome your comments, as customers come before us and this encourages us to constantly improve our product and customer satisfaction that results and to be constantly improving.

Also appreciate your comment about the location in 1st row from the sea.

We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Playafels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelldefels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
#10 of 17 in Castelldefels
368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
#3 of 17 in Castelldefels
705 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bel Air Hotel
Bel Air Hotel
#5 of 17 in Castelldefels
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
1.4 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
#1 of 17 in Castelldefels
443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
#6 of 17 in Castelldefels
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playafels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playafels

Address: Playa Ribera de San Pedro, 1-9, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Castelldefels
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range: $68 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playafels 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Playafels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playafels Castelldefels, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing