We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach hotel”
Review of Hotel Playafels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Playafels
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Castelldefels
Reviewed July 16, 2012

If you are looking for a decent beach hotel near Barcelona, this one will work! It is very easy to get to the airport, straight shot on the main road, minimal traffic. It is a nice, little town, walking around is easy. It is a nice hotel right on the beach, has a nice pool. Family friendly. Really affordable, too. Don't expect exuding friendliness from the staff, but they are helpful enough. It was very enjoyable with many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MakoRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 278 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

Hotel Playafels is ideally located in front of a huge beach; 8 Km long and one of the widest which I have seen. Wonderful if you like to enjoy the sea and walking along the seaside. It is also a good location from which to visit Barcelona (20 Km away and very well communicated)

It is a small/mid hotel with a very nice garden and swiming pool which we found very nice to use when coming back from the beach.

There are plenty of restaurants and sevices nearby. There is also a bus stop next to the hotel to go to Barcelona. It takes some 30-40 minutes for 2 euros (or 90 cents if you buy 10 tickets).

The rooms have been renovated and are rather large; the decoration is average. Unless you look for big and trendy hotels, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amoyabxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni L, Propietario at Hotel Playafels, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Customer

Thanks for your time to write your opinion about our Hotel.

We will get his congratulations to all our staff.

Also appreciate your comment about the location in 1st row from the sea.

Hope to see you another time.

Regards

Hotel Playafels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

The one bed duplex was good. Very clean, spacious it partially overlooked the beach from the upstairs balcony. Bathroom was a let down as the floor was asphalt or similar and walls plaster. It looked unfinished.
Two tv's but no English channels.
Bus to Barcelona stops on main road about 50m away and costs 2 euros. However, for slightly more you can get the train from Castelldefels Platja which is much quicker and only 15min walk away.
Good selection of restaurants nearby.
Beach massive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni L, Propietario at Hotel Playafels, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Customer

Thanks for your time to post your opinion in the community about our Hotel. Also appreciate your comment about the location in 1st row from the sea.

The truth that we are concerned about some of the things we said, so we've already put in place measures that help us to correct some of these things that he says.

Regards

Hotel Playafels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Rooms were spacious, the view excellent, but it seems they never cleaned the floor under the beds.

Room Tip: Do ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gvazdikai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni L, Propietario at Hotel Playafels, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear customers,

We welcome your comments, as customers come before us and this encourages us to constantly improve our product and customer satisfaction that results and to be constantly improving.

Also appreciate your comment about the location in 1st row from the sea.

We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Playafels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday at Playafels. Disappointed as website photos are not a true representation of the actual hotel. Great location, lovely pool but to cold to use, rooms with views of the sea but the initial view from our room was a green shabby flatroof with cigarette butts on it. Breakfast were plentyful but would benefit from being varied with less cake! Paintwork, carpets, decorations etc are dated and dull and could do with a new fresh look. Plenty of places to eat around the area but most are expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni L, Propietario at Hotel Playafels, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Customer

We welcome your comments and thanks for your time to write your opinion about our Hotel.

Similarly we say we will look to improve the points that we discussed in your opinion.

Regards

Hotel Playafels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Spent time here for a training/business meeting, good meeting room and attentive staff.

Room Tip: Have a room on the 2nd floor as on 1st floor you can be disturbed by the walking of guests above you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bournetoparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Bad experience
Bad relation between price and quality
A lot to improve

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeMeMeMeOporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelldefels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
#10 of 17 in Castelldefels
378 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
#1 of 17 in Castelldefels
464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bel Air Hotel
Bel Air Hotel
#4 of 17 in Castelldefels
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
#3 of 17 in Castelldefels
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
#6 of 17 in Castelldefels
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playafels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playafels

Address: Playa Ribera de San Pedro, 1-9, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Castelldefels
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range: $55 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playafels 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Playafels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playafels Castelldefels, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing