We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing beach, close to Barcelona”
Review of Bel Air Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bel Air Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Castelldefels
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights before our cruise in this hotel. The beach view rooms have a balcony and direct view on the beach. The room has electric shutters so sleeping is possible during the day.
There is a bus stop in front of the hotel with frequent buses to Barcelona. On the beach, direction BCN is a nice tropical club and same direction on the road a good bakery. To the other side are some small shops for water and many restaurants. We had some trouble with jellyfish in the sea - small but painful. We had a very good lunch in La Vila restaurant at 50 meters.
No coffee or tea facilities in the room.

Room Tip: Choose sea side - avoid the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bel Air Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted you spend a couple of pleasant days in Castelldefels. It is a place perfect to relax on the huge beach and thanks to the wide variety of restaurants and bars close to the hotel is easy to make the most of the location.

I am sorry you find jellyfish on the sea, sometimes (rarely), with the high temperatures there are some but there are lifeguards along the seaside that can prevent you from swimming, and also there are medical assistance boxes on the beach of Castelldefels to attend in case of trouble.

You always will be welcome if you decided to return to Hotel Bel Air.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 275 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent 2 days at this hotel prior to the start of our 12 day cruise. The hotel staff was welcoming and bent over backward to meet our needs and answer our questions. The room was very comfortable and had a great view of the beach. We spent two sunny days on the beach. The first night we ate and drank at the Tiki bar on the beach in front of the hotel and night 2 we wandered thru the town and found a great seafood restaurant. I highly recommend this Hotel, off the beaten path and well worth the 15 - 20 minute ride from the airport!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spinner12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bel Air Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for comment about Hotel Bel Air in TripAdvisor.

We are proud your two days stay was satisfactory. The location of Hotel Bel Air is perfect if you want some quite rest on the beach but also want to be close to the main areas and resources of Barcelona, like the airport.

Our staff always do their best to be as helpful as possible, I will transmit them your kind words. We appreciate them.

Hope to see you soon with us,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have just stayed for 5 nights and had a brilliant time. Hotel excellent! Staff very nice, 1 minor downside was no tea or coffees king facilities, that would have been a nice touch. Great location for bars and restaurants and even better location for the beach!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne6705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bel Air Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review.

We are happy you enjoy your stay at Hotel Bel Air. Even though the Hotel -at this moment- doesn’t have an all-day open coffee or bar facilities, there are a special inside area where our guests can self service some hot drinks anytime they want. But in case anyone needs wider variety, as you discovered, there are plenty of bars and restaurants close to the Hotel.

Hope to see you again with us.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Castelldefels for a week in June, Bel Air Hotel was a great choice for us. It's right next to the beach, is close to many restaurants, 30min bus ride into Barcelona, and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The pool and access to the beach front is a huge benefit. Even though there isn't much to the hotel other than the rooms, it met all of our needs. The staff are very helpful and nice. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room did not face the ocean because we didn't book in time. The rooms facing the road were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHOPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bel Air Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice comments. We appreciate you enjoy the area of Castelldefels beach.

Indeed, there is a bus stop right in front of the Hotel that takes you directly to the city center, and a train station not far from Hotel Bel Air that takes you to Barcelona or other close villages on the coast.

Hotel Bel Air has 44 rooms and breakfast service, in the past there was also a Restaurant in the Hotel that at the moment remains close, but it is easy to find one of any kind of food in the surround walking area.

Hope to see you again in Castelldefels.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We opted for a small, quiet, beachfront hotel for our first night in Spain and the Bel Air did not disappoint. Half an hour south of Barcelona airport and located directly on a beautiful and clean stretch of white sandy beach, the hotel has a well appointed lobby and modern decor, with lovely bedding and linens and very helpful staff. Hotel photos are a good representation. Do note that rooms with beach views are considerably more expensive than standard rooms, which face streetside. We highly recommend the area if you're after a beach location without the hype of high-rise hotels or masses of tourists. There are many lovely restaurants, cafes and bars all along the street and on the beach, and hotel staff made good recommendations for local restaurants serving tapas. We especially enjoyed the tent cafes located up and down the beach for late afternoon drinks in the sun - heavenly!

Room Tip: Streeetside views are nothing to write home about, so if you're looking for great beach views, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bel Air Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank for your time reviewing our Hotel and for choosing us for your stay in Castelldefels.

We are glad you like to particularly quiet ambiance of the area and the Hotel, it is perfect if you are seeking some place near Barcelona but avoiding crowed locations. Castelldefels beach is full of great places to spend a nice holiday time, regarding this, please let me inform you that the” tent cafes” is called in Spanish “chiringuitos” and have a key role in the beach to enjoy the most.

We are happy our staff helps you giving recommendations, we hope to see you soon here.


Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this charming hotel for a long weekend and were overall, impressed with the hotel and it's location. As you approach it looks very grand and upon entering it smells divine! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, which was refreshing and made our trip more enjoyable. Our room was slightly disappointing though, as our 'double' bed was two single beds pushed together, with separate sheets which wasn't ideal for a couple. It was clean and tidy though and the complimentary toiletries were great and included a small bottle of the scent that was used in the reception area of the hotel. The hotel also offers free WIFI, which would have been great if it worked on the tv but throughout our stay it said the service for that and to watch films was unavailable, which was annoying. Luckily, I could use the WIFI on my phone so we did get some use out of it.
Location wise, the hotel is in a perfect place. Literally, on the beach and with restaurants, cafes and bars all around it's a great place to stay. It also has a bus stop right outside that takes you straight to Barcelona, and you can get a 10 trip bus/metro/train ticket for 9.80 which makes it's super affordable too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea views, as the road side rooms can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Incubaby05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Nice, comfortable hotel, very helpful and friendly staff. It is an extremely quiet location, and the hotel does not really offer any facilities other than a seasonal outdoor pool.

Note as well that Castelldelels is in the El Prat flight approaches, and you are guarantees to have aircraft noise at least 6 hours per day.........every day

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DON1957Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni L, Propietario at Bel Air Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear customer,

We welcome your views on the service and the hotel will help us improve and correct all those things that do not work correctly.

Regards

Hotel Bel Air

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelldefels hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playafels
Hotel Playafels
#12 of 17 in Castelldefels
277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
0.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
#3 of 17 in Castelldefels
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
dONNA Hotel
dONNA Hotel
#11 of 17 in Castelldefels
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
#7 of 17 in Castelldefels
259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
#1 of 17 in Castelldefels
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Hotel

Address: Passeig Maritim, 169, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Castelldefels
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range: $64 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bel Air Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking directly onto Castelldefels Beach, Bel Air offers stylish air-conditioned rooms with balconies. The hotel has a small swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Many of the rooms in the Bel Air have sea views, and all have hardwood floors and modern furniture. They also have Flat screen TV with satellite channels and free films. The hotel has a well-equipped business centre and attractive gardens with sun loungers. There is also an outdoor chill out terrace right on the beach. There is a bus stop outside the hotel, where you can get a bus to Barcelona. The C-31 motorway is just 500 metres away, offering a direct link to central Barcelona and the airport. Free parking can be found nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bel Air Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Castelldefels
Bel Air Hotel Castelldefels, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing