We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View but not much else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Castelldefels
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I have high standards as I work in the travel industry and I'm used to staying in good hotels. We went to the hotel for Luxury and chill out and it didnt really tick either of those boxes.

We were looking for a unique spanish holiday experience away from the package holiday crowd so we booked into Castelldefels. When we saw that it was on the metro map and we how close it was to Barcelona we began to get worried but we needed have as although its near Barcelona it still have a resort real.

Following previous reviews we got off at Castelldefels the main station and got a cab to the hotel. It not a pretty drive up to the hotel is main roads and it just not what you expect when you are en route to a resort hotel. As previous reviews mentioned the guy on the reception has no interest in customer engagement he just wants you checked in and out of his way. The rooms are dissapointing, we were in the old part, although when I asked could I see one of the rooms in the new part they were really small so we decided to stay in the older part . We had just come from a trendy Barcelona hotel so it just took us a while to adjust to a more spanish old world hotel.

Food - We went to go to the restaurant but realised that its quite a snazzy restuarant and we were in shorts and just wanted something casual, also its was €35 a head plus drinks so we decided to head down to the beach instead for more casual and cheaper options. You are kind of stranded up at the hotel as there are no supermarkets nearby and the restaurants down at the beach are a good ten minute, not pretty or relaxing walk away or a taxi ride.

Pool
The pool area is a let down. The water is freezing, the grass is a bit mucky and they could have done so much with that area with beautiful landscaping but just cemented over most of it. There were two weddings on the day we were there and one of them took over nearly the whole pool area for a drinks reception and the minute that ended the hotel staff started setting up for a corporate event. Bear in mind that this is all going on while you are supposed to be chilling by the pool!

Breakfast
This was good but the room it was in was a let down.

Hotel
The Hotel is a wedding and conference hotel and these clients will always get preference as they are bring in the big money. Besides the view and the fortress over the pool, which is used in all the imagery used to promote the hotel, this hotel is just average.

Resort
Is nice but not that much to see, no nice winding streets just a few nice restaurants on one road and a strip of bars, ice cream parlours and slot machines. You wont fine any English Chavs here as its a genuine Spanish resort although some of the Spanish crowd looked a bit dodgy. We didnt spend any time on the beach and the beach did look really nice. If you were to go here I would recommend staying in one of hotels down on the beach and use is a base to do beach and Barcelona. We found it to quite so cancelled out of this hotel (No drama gave 24 hours notice and as the payment wasnt being taking until check out that was ok with expedia and the hotel. Actually the guy on the reception seemed like he didnt give a dam. didnt even ask whey we were leaving.

We then moved onto the Melia Sitges, 4 star and got an unbelievably cheap rate of €60 per room per night!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 697 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2009

The pictures on the hotel website look better than reality, the hotel is being refurbished and some rooms are still old fashioned. The hotel has an old classical part with restaurant and a modern lobby with breakfast-room.
There is an indoor swimming pool, sauna and squash, and also an average sized outdoor swimming pool. Breakfast is plentiful but served in a crowded breakfast room.
The hotel is big and well maintained, connecting between the old and new part makes for long walks through empty corridors.
The hotel is located inland on top of a small hill. Going to the beach is an unpleasant walk crossing highway and railway by a footbridge and takes about 20 minutes. Alternatively, there is a free hotel shuttle to the sister hotel on the beach. From there it takes a 20 min walk to the train station. At the rate of 90 EUR a night per room through the website of the hotel, it was value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

This hotel is out of this world, it is the only hotel I've stayed in that I actually want to return to. It is out of town up a very steep hill, however as long as you don't mind either walking or getting a cab it's no problem. Due to the hotel being up the mountain, it is so peacefull and relaxing. The rooms are incredible, the breakfast is amazing and the outdoor pool is out of this world. The photos do not do the pool or the view justice. The only down point was the bus shuttle to the beach stops is mid august but we walked, the exercise did us good! The only other niggle was the indoor pool looked a bit grotty, we didn't go in it but with the outddor pool being amazing, we didn't mind. If you get the train, stop as castedefells plaza stop rather than the town centre and you then only have to walk up the hill, rather than through the town. It's 30mins away on the train to Sitges and Barcelona, both are worth the train journey. We saw a wedding when we were there, it would be the perfect place for a wedding or an engagment. Infact I would like to get married there!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonameEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

Hotel is a little hard to find becouse it is on the hill, but if you coming from barcelona take a road C-32 to Casteldefells, exit on 2nd exit Casteldefells playa, straight, turn right and go on flyover. Your will see a hotel on hill from your left side. Go rigt, and you will find the finger post. It is far away from the beach, but the hotel have his own free shuttell round service to beach and center, starting on evry 30min.
Hotel have a open entry restourant, with a grate view, and excelent interior, with very variabily food but not very good prepared, and with big choice of vine and not too expencive. They are serving lunch and dinner there, for guest who have full or half board service. Breakfast is very rich and tasty. In hotel they do not speek english, or do, but very bad and rearly. Reception staff is not very frindly if you have more then 3 questions to ask. Interior of a hotel is very nice, with good eye for details. You can see on TV in every moment your balance for room bill . Rooms are extremly good equipped with all accesoriss you might need, very well furnished , grate coloures, clean, and big. Hotel have a over a 40 parking place , big garage, and it is free , wich is very rare to find. They also have a car rental services. Only thing they don't have is car washing :)
Also, as much they care about decoration details from on side, they don'd from other. My balcony wooden fence was all broken so it was' t safe to lean. Cleaning lady wasn't even once wipe the balcony, she took our treash basket and never return it. If your room is from front side of hotel , looking to parking, it is very noisu, becouse all night supplys are arriving.
Hotel also have a well equipped gym, squos court, inside pool, mens and womens sauna, outside pool, pool bar, and separated building for meetings and conferences. Basicly, everything is just like on there web site www.group-soteras.com.
First supermarket is 3km away and it is only supermarket in area. Center is 5km away and there is nothing to see. Casteldefells is very small place. Beach is coverd with finest send, see is very clean. But when there is a wind it can be very dusty. You don't have everywhere to rent a sunbeds and sunshades, and where you do it is 5 Eur per one sunbed. 20km from Casteldefells is Sitges, much better small city, and much more alive. One sunbed is 6Eur, and sunshade is 5Eur.
I think that evrybody will be satisfied, and I wish you nice time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ivana2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Fantastic location, beautiful surroundings and great facilities, but does this warrant four stars? I look for good service whether it's an upmarket hotel or a budget one.
Problems...
1. My daughter changed a travellers cheque one morning with no problem. That evening my wife and I went to change a cheque only to be told that they don't provide this service. Go figure that one out!!!
2. There is a free bus service into town and as we had to visit a bank to change the aforementioned travellers cheque, we made use of it. It was supposed to return us to the hotel 15minutes later. It wasn't there. An hour later the driver returned (these shuttles are supposed to be every half-hour) with all of his family thanking him for taking them to the beach!!! We wasted a morning changing money when that service should have been available in-house.
3. The bar. Jose, the head barman is the only person that can make the act of pouring a coffee seem like scaling Everest! I waited for ten minutes to be served one day when there was no one else at the bar. Jose made a point of arranging all of his crockery behind the bar before he gave anything like service. Plus I was charged 3.90 euros for a small glass of orange. My wife was charged 2 euros for a pot of hot water!
I wouldn't recomend this place unless you enjoy masochism as they obviously don't like foreign tourists.
Before you judge me as a whinger, I very rarely complain about anything (typical Brit) and I have travelled quite extensively, but I have never come accross service like this....ever!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brightwhiteSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

This was a great hotel, lovely outdoor pool and bar, inside heated pool and Gym, sauna etc. Wonderful buffet breakfast and supper which cost around 30 euros per person in a nice terrace restaurant with great views. The rooms are modern and spacious, clean, en suite facilities clean and all worked, hot water, brilliant shower quiet aircon.

We arrived on train and it took a while to sort out a taxi because we had no idea how to get to the hotel. It is only ten minutes walk from the playa station but up a very steep hill. The airport is a few miles away and you can watch a stream of planes arriving but this did not bother us at all. Cost 22 euros for taxi to airport.
The beach is pretty dusty, ten minutes walk at bottom of hill, a few restaurants down there and a supermarket.

Stay at the hotel for a really relaxing quiet time soaking up sun next to the pool.
There was a wedding function on whilst we were there and some business functions too, but we were never made to feel in the way and it was great to watch all the activity.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukdrewuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2006

We booked this Hotel for our stay after reading its location reviews on the website. It was advertised as being 0.1km from Port Aventura Amusement and within walking distance of PortAventura

This is exactly what we were looking for, somewhere nice and upmarket and a good location to the PortAvertura park. You can imagine our amazement on arrival to Castelldefels and being pointed to our Hotel, which is in a lovely location but up on a hill away from everything. We arrived, checked in, nothing impressive and went to our room. All the time looking out the windows for this walking distance amusement park. When we came to the conclusion we could not see it, i returned to reception to find out it was in fact 1 & 1/2 hours away!!!

To sum up the rest of our day...
Reception were most unhelpful, no offer to assist us relocate to our desired location,
No acknowledgement or apology for the error on their website,
Their assistance came with their offer to not charge us a cancellation fee!!!!

I would like to pass on the information to other potential bookers under the same impression on location, that this Hotel is NOT near the park and is a return train journey back into Barcelona and down again to Salou.

Stayed: August 2006
1  Thank _Ais_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelldefels hotels
1.5 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
#1 of 17 in Castelldefels
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
#10 of 17 in Castelldefels
363 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel SB BCN Events
Hotel SB BCN Events
#2 of 17 in Castelldefels
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Playafels
Hotel Playafels
#12 of 17 in Castelldefels
270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bel Air Hotel
Bel Air Hotel
#5 of 17 in Castelldefels
267 reviews
1.6 mi away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime

Address: Avenida del Hotel, 22, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castelldefels
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
#3 Family Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range: $79 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Castelldefels
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime Castelldefels, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing