We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate rather than outstanding, but not bad value for money, if a little tired.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Castelldefels
Wallington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Adequate rather than outstanding, but not bad value for money, if a little tired.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

On top of a hill looking down on Castelldefels and at the end of a steep , uphill winding road, this hotel looks good from the front. It's split into two blocks - old and new - and having stayed in the old, I can say that area was a little tired. With a decent pool and common areas, this is not a "big" hotel so lacks some of those touches. As stayed b&b, couldn't attest to the quality of dining but looking at the menu, it was somewhat pricey and restaurant was not well patronised. Breakfast was buffet style and was good...decent range & choices of cold meats, cheeses, Catalan cakes etc and pricey coffee "pod" machines guaranteed coffee just as you like it. The folks who worked here were all very pleasant and helpful.... The walk to and from is not for the feint hearted, so you may need to taxi or car hire. The beach is not far away and Barca city centre a short-ish train ride in from the local station. All in all, not a bad hotel at all - but not what you could call great value for money...adequate would sum it up for me...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSoteras, Propietario at Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Customer

We welcome your comments and your loyalty to our hotel. In particular we extend its congratulations to all our staff as one of our main goals besides meeting their expectations is to reach for a customer value with the most personalized treatment possible.

Similarly we say we will look to improve the points that we discussed in your opinion.

Hope to see you soon new

Regards

Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime (Grup Soteras)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    279
    131
    45
    26
See reviews for
130
245
14
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
159 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Amazing views of the Mediterranian, especially from the restaurant. However, a bit hard to find the way to the restaurant as the hotel is rather big. Good food. Friendly staff. Free access to computer, printer and copy machine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gullabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSoteras, Propietario at Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Customer,

We welcome your views on the service and the hotel will help us to improve and correct all those things that do not work correctly.

Regards

Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime (Grup Soteras)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

During the GSM Mobile World Congress, we were happy to find 4 rooms in Barcelona. We arrived in the hotel after midnight, the check-in was easy, the rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable.
The hotel is quite large and it was a little bit difficult to find the restaurant for breakfast in the morning. The view from the restaurant is fantastic, because it faces the sea and beach.

The bad experience was, that even we agreed previously not to charge my credit card for all 4 rooms and each guest will pay indiviudally, they charged all rooms to my credit card and it took some eMails to correct this, because the person on duty in the morning was not able to correct this.

In general I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halla50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSoteras, Propietario at Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us during the last GSM Mobile World Congress.

That has left quite satisfied and have not met your expectations , makes our efforts will be rewarded .

Also we apologize for the confusion with the issue of credit card, and all that we stay fixed.

Hope to see you again next year.

Regards

Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime (Grup Soteras)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at our work conference.

The hotel itself is fairly large and i found it difficult at first to navigate, although it got eaier as the days went by. The food was good, although repetative and bar service was slow...both probably as a result of the numbers being underestimated.

The hotel has great views from the swimming pool over the sea and these are definately one of the mjor plus points.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSoteras, Propietario at Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Customer

We welcome your views on the service and the hotel will help us to improve and correct all those things that do not work correctly.

We welcome your comments about our Hotel. The truth is that we like to read that we were able to provide a good stay at our hotel to all members of your meeting.

On the issue of the Bar , is a topic after reading your review and reviewed carefully and we could correct .

Also thank you for your recommendation. Hope to see you soon new

Regards

Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime (Grup Soteras)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Travelling with my parents, husband and two year old we were originally booked into another hotel in the same chain that was more central in Castelldefels. We had wanted to be within walking distance of the beach and hotels. Upon checking in though we were advised that the airconditioning was broken and we were now booked into Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime.

Luckily we had a rental car as it was a fair way from the centre of town but nicely located up hill on well maintained grounds with nice pool centered around a castle tower.

The rooms were pleasant and regal and we ordered toasted sanwhiches as room service and they were delicious - infact the best I've ever had. The hotel featured many rooms with elegant and old pieces of furniture for guests to sit and talk which made the stay seem much more royal.

Rooms were clean and tidy and bathroom well presented with many amenities.

Big walk to any main restaurants or the beach, so I recommend staying here if you have a rental car. If you aren't travelling with kids and enjoy walking then that would also suit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minty_express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
229 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is up a steep hill near the end of what appears to be a cul de sac, with pine woods on most sides and a great view from big windows in Reception. The view takes in Castelldefels and the coastal plain north towards Barcelona Airport. As a birdwatcher I enjoyed watching quite a range of small birds in the trees by the hotel, as well as a red squirrel.

The hotel reminded me of the Paradors that I used to stay in before the value of sterling dropped to take the price of a stay in a Parador out of my reach. The similarity was a combination of the professionalism of the staff, the decor, the situation just outside town and the standards in the restaurant, which had an ambience that reminded me of a Parador most of all. I enjoyed a meal in the restaurant on the second evening which, although not cheap, was excellent. Breakfast was also excellent, with a wide choice of things to eat.

The other guests were from several other countries, as well as from other regions of Spain, so the hotel is obviously popular, and deservedly so.

One thing that I noticed was that the price of a taxi from the hotel to Castelldefels railway station cost almost twice as much as the taxi to the hotel, because it was called from the taxi office, I suppose.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a sort of a Y plan. My room was on the inside of the southern part of the 'Y'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeelKippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni L, Propietario at Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Customer

We welcome your comments about our Hotel. The truth is that we like to read that we were able to provide a good stay at our hotel to all family members.

Also thank you for your recommendation. Hope to see you soon new

Regards

Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend in september and it was perfect- nice views, good service, comfy bed! We didn't eat at the restaurant because it was a little expensive (20-30 euros for a main meal) but there are plenty of places to eat in town! The only downside of this hotel was the distance from the beach and to the town centre (20-30min walk), we had a hire car so it wasn't a problem but if you're looking for the beach and shops to be on your doorstep, this isn't the hotel for you! A very nice stay, lovely relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelldefels hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel SB BCN Events
Hotel SB BCN Events
#1 of 16 in Castelldefels
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
#9 of 16 in Castelldefels
349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bel Air Hotel
Bel Air Hotel
#5 of 16 in Castelldefels
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Playafels
Hotel Playafels
#11 of 16 in Castelldefels
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
#7 of 16 in Castelldefels
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime

Property: Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Address: Avenida del Hotel, 22, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castelldefels
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
#3 Family Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Castelldefels
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime Castelldefels, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing