We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame about the weddings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Castelldefels
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Shame about the weddings”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just back from a pleasant stay at this hotel ....we hired a car so no problems with the steep hill etc ...a car is a must unless you want to restrict your stay.
Pool area is very nice and clean however indoor pool needs serious attention I.e broken tiles not to be ignored in a heated pool .....and would not be difficult to address.....shame the hotel management do not look at this site....I did mention this on check out.
Now for the big problem.....when they are preparing for a wedding....the restaurant puts a lot of pressure on the pool attendant to close the area and get rid of guests.....he makes as much noise as possible and literally makes it impossible to relax. As the pool is open until 7pm and he starts this nonsense at 6pm....we found this unacceptable and all guests at the pool complained and some stayed......my advice would be to start the weddings a touch later.....and ask the guests politely to leave......I would recommend this hotel even with this hoohaa!
Never ate any meals here as we made good use of the reasonably priced local restaurants in the town....the Chinese buffet came out tops with our family of four and Rangel for the menu Dias during the week....however the price doubled on the weekend....four courses for €11.95 inc drinks and dessert....in the shopping centre opposite the magic fountain...we had an amazing offer of a glass of cava ...bread with iberico ham for €2.95 each delicious and a great snack !
Enjoy if you are gling

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    277
    127
    44
    25
See reviews for
126
242
14
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
donegal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Had a great time at this hotel. Firstly as other reviews state there is a very steep hill you have to walk up to get to the hotel and it is pretty tough going in the heat but it's well worth it. the hotel is the perfect getaway. The pool area is just stunning and the views are amazing. Drinks in the bar are reasonable but I would suggest going down to the bakery beside the train station for your breakfast. It's fresh, delicious and really cheap. The train station is about 15 mins walk away and there are regular trains to Barcelona centre. This takes about 25 mins. Will definitely be returning to this hotel.
Another couple of tips are;
1) There are 2 train stations in Castelldefels, the first is Castelldefels and the second is
Castelldefels plajita. The second is much closer to the hotel.
2) If like us you arrive in the evening off the train and wish to get a taxi straight to the hotel, get
off at the first train station, Castelldefels. We arrived at about 23.00 and got off the train at
Castelldefels Plajita and could not find a taxi anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gashwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Affordable and nice. Slippers in the room and nice big towels. Minibar & fridge. Lots of little extras are provided - toothbrush, shoe polisher, sewing kit, etc. So this is a good place to stay at the beginning of your trip to stock up on all those little useful things.

The staff is not quite at a four star level though. I found this surprising because this is one in a group of luxury hotels. I would think the employee training would be a bit more customer-focused.

Staff at the reception and bar spoke English but were not super friendly, attentive or caring. Housekeepers were really helpful with requests but lacked attention to detail in their work.

There is a sign in the bathroom about the green pool towels that says you'll be charged 10 euros if you lose one. But then the maids take them from the room and don't replace them.

Even in summer, the rooms were chilly (cold marble floors). I was irritated that the maid turned the air conditioning on high the day we went to Tarragona (we had turned it off). It was freezing when we returned at night, not to mention the unnecessary energy waste of running it all day.

(tip: lots of blue pool towels at the indoor pool if you need to borrow one for the beach)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piza99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubrin, Spain
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is a great hotel which frankly has had a number of reviews about it which do not reflect reaility. It is at the top of a very steep hill and you do have to cross the motorway to reach the town. It is though only 15 minutes from the railway station and 20 minutes to the beach. There is no problem about walking to the local restaurants in the evening and the walk back is safe. The airport is 20 minutes drive away and aircraft noise is not a problem. It is just very convenient.
The room was very clean and the breakfast excellent with a good variety of items. Facilities are good with the inside pool giving a nice alternative to swimming in the hot summer sun. The hotel was being used by the GB Olympic canoeing team as a training base when we stayed and this just added to the overall enjoyment of the place,
The restaurant is excellent. Very formally set out and prices to match. Good evening meals can be add at the restaurants in town for about half the price if you do not mind the walk back.
Barcelona is easily and quickly reached using the train and it is nice to be able to leave the city behind at the end of the day. A number of the players from Barcelona's famous football team live in Castelldefes and you can easily understandf why.
This hotel is highly recommended for a short break where you might want to see something of the city whilst still having a very relaxed time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ptrcvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hotel is less than 1km from Plaja de Castelldefes railway station. 2 trains an hour to Barcelona. It is up a steep hill to the hotel, but worth it. Hotel is in 2 halves. The original part is close to the outdoor pool, bar and main restaurant. The newer part is by the reception and also includes the breakfast restaurant, indoor pool, squash courts and gym. Room was nice a spacious. Lovely pool and surroundings, with some shady space for when its too hot!

Our room rate did not include breakfast. This is €13 per person. You can get coffee and pastries from the bar, but our preference was to walk down to the station (across a footbridge) and there was a nice bakery with lovely coffee and fresh pastries.

We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but used the various places along the sea front - only 15 minutes walk from the hotel if you cross the motorway and railway using the footbridge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolDjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni L, Propietario at Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Customer

We appreciate your favorable comments about our hotel. The truth that we always want to improve and try to make customers feel at home during their leisure periods.

Thank you very much and hope to see you soon at our hotel in Castelldefels.

Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is situated on top of a hill with a lovely view. It is only a 15 min walk to a huge beach but beware the hill up to the hotel is not for the faint hearted. If you do not fancy the beach there is a pool at the hotel which was not too busy while we where there and very ole sent. It also boasts an inside pool , bar and 2 restraints. We had a meal in one of the restraints and found it a bit pricy for us but tastey none the less. If you are coming from the airport I recogmended a taxi (20 euro) as the hill up would be a lot with a case. On way back to Barcelona it is easy to get a train and lug case downhill :) . Don't book breakfast on line as its cheaper at the hotel itself and is a good buffet. Overall great hotel and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zorbathegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I had stayed in this hotel a few times on business around 23 years ago. Unsurprisingly it has been significantly extended.
Reception spoke adequate English, and were efficient and courteous. Did not go the extra mile that previous hotel staff had done on this trip, but adequate.
Stayed in the old part of the hotel. Room was reasonable size. Bathroom was OK, but slightly peculiar entry door seems more like walking into a cupboard. There was some noise externally, probably from A/C fans, but did not prevent us sleeping. Free wi-fi did not work in the room. Cannot comment on rooms in the new block.
A decent continental breakfast is served in the new part of the hotel. The main restaurant is in the old part. Ate there both nights, as to lazy to make the 10 min. each way walk down the hill to others. So between me and my wife, we had four 3 course meals. Three were excellent, one main course, the veal fillet, was a bit dry. So overall not a bad average. Service was good. Just beware, the outside section, even when fully screened to keep out the wind is a smoking area, and a lot of Spaniards smoke! Sorry, I have a thing about smoking!
Did not view or try the indoor pool or gym.Outside poolis in a nice setting, but it was too cold to use (early May).
It takes 15 mins to walk down the steep hill to the extensive beach, and a minutes less to get to the nearest station if you want the train into Barcelona, so the hotels location does give you some good options. Also about 45 mins. by car to the monastery at Montserrat, a trip I would highly recommend if you have transport.
Would be happy to repeat this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipton_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelldefels hotels
0.8 mi away
Bel Air Hotel
Bel Air Hotel
#5 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
#9 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel SB BCN Events
Hotel SB BCN Events
#1 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Playafels
Hotel Playafels
#11 of 16 in Castelldefels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
#6 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.6 mi away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime

Property: Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Address: Avenida del Hotel, 22, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castelldefels
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
#3 Family Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Castelldefels
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime Castelldefels, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing