We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incompetence incarnate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Castelldefels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incompetence incarnate”
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Staff were friendly, hotel was clean and cheap. That's the end of the good news.

I had to change a booking: i.e. add an extra night for a colleague's stay. Does that sound so complicated? We sent an email with the company credit card details, specifying the name of the guest, and were told by the hotel staff that everything was fine and clear. I spoke with two people on the hotel reception, and my colleague spoke with a third person. Each time they had to check the system for a moment, but confirmed that the extra night was reserved and paid for...

But when she was due to check out, she was told by a different receptionist that the extra night had not been paid, contradicting what had been said by the other three. I ended up having to pay with my own credit card, over the phone from another country early on Sunday morning...

This could have been so simple -- the stupid hotel's system made it REALLY complicated and stressful. For this project we've sent about 80 people all over Europe, including Turkey, for the past two years and this is the ONLY hotel where we've had such problems. NEVER AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disgruntled07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    199
    81
    26
    3
See reviews for
94
184
30
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

This is a very clean and modern Ibis hotel.
The staff is unusually friendly and helpful.

As this is a businessman's type hotel, you can get discounted
rates during the weekend.

If you have a car, it's in a very good location, with free parking,
about a 20 minute drive into Barcelona, a 5 minute drive
to great beaches, and a 10 minute drive to the airport.

If you don't have a car, the hotel is within walking distance
of a train that will take you right into the heart of the city.

There is a very large shopping mall just opposite the hotel,
which can be very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeSpotter_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicante
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights having arrived from Thailand. we were told to take the bus to castelldefels and the driver would make sure we got off at the correct stop.It is a short walk uphill to the hotel.
The hotel is what we have come to expect from Ibis. No frills clean and comfortable.A nice selection from a cold buffet for breakfast and surrounding area has lots of shops and restaurants. Staff were very friendly and helpful and its a short walk to the train station to get into Barcelona city centre or Sitges.
Barcelona is a bustling city which has lots to offer.When we return we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazbov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham/London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

This hotel was lovely, it wouldnt be somwhere i`d spend a whole holiday, but for being close to the airport, comfortable, clean, cleanly furnished and even over the road from a massive supermarket, this place will not let you down and it great value with continental breakie included.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missbrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Stayed here for one nite, since we had to catch early flight out of Barcelona airport next morning. Takes about 20 minutes to drive to the airport. The Ibis is/was as all hotels of this type are. Not very charming, but clean and reasonably priced, with a location near the highway, which means good if travelling by car the next day , and for short overnite stays, but definitely not be be recommended as an alternative to staying at a hotel in Barcelona . Right across the street from a large indoor shopping centre with stoes open until 10 P.M., and many inexpensive restaurants and fast-food restaurants open until 11:30 p.m.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Ibis Castelldefels:

I walked to the hotel from the train station, and hindsight being 20/20 it probably would have been smarter to either take a cab from the airport or the train station. It was quite a hike and not easy to find at first. Once you know where it is, though, it is easy to get back. The room was very basic but had everything one would need for a night. My room overlooked a supermarket parking lot. However, you do not really stay at an Ibis for the ambiance. The bathroom was small and very functional, with a nice shower and plenty of hot water. The fan in the bathroom ran constantly, so if you need absolute quiet, keep the bathroom door shut. The heat in the room was a little too hot for me, so I had to crack the window to sleep comfortably. The mattress was very firm, but coupled with the good pillow, I got a great nights sleep. I opted for the breakfast at 6 euro, and it was a good deal for the money. There is no coffee maker in the room. There is a small restaurant / bar in the hotel, but it was closed when I was there. There is also ample parking and a security gate that is closed around the hotel at night, enclosing the parking lot as well. There is also no alarm clock, so bring your own or schedule a wake up call.

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay here. I wasn’t expecting the Sofitel, and it really fit the bill for a comfortable, quiet overnight stay. The price was very reasonable and I got a better night sleep here then I have in some time. The room would comfortably fit two adults for sleeping only. There isn’t really room for much else, although in truth this hotel is geared for the basics. I’d easily recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable overnight stay close to the Barcelona airport. I would say to splurge for a taxi, because the train with connections took considerably longer than I would have liked. You have to change trains at the first stop from the airport, and I waited a considerable amount of time for the connecting train to Castelldefels.

  • Liked — Clean and cheap!
  • Disliked — Not very well marked on how to get there from the train station
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AK-in-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2005

This is a clean and modern budget hotel at a very reasonable price. It is located in Castelldefels, which is a town outside of Barcelona. The hotel is located on the edge of town in what looks like an industrial park. Although the surroundings are not that attractive, it is right beside a supermarket, which is very convenient, and very close to the town itself, which is considerably more charming. It takes about 5 - 10 minutes to walk to the train station, and the train takes about 20 -30 minutes to get you into downtown Barcelona. The trip is straightforward.

The front desk staff at the Ibis Castelldefels were very pleasant, and several of them spoke excellent English. They serve a good, buffet style breakfast for 6 EUR. I would recommend this hotel as an alternative to the expensive downtown hotels in Barcelona.

Although I took a taxi from the airport to the hotel it is unnecessary, as it is quite easy to get there by train.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank baronetdedlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelldefels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel SB BCN Events
Hotel SB BCN Events
#1 of 16 in Castelldefels
726 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
#3 of 16 in Castelldefels
643 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flora Parc
Hotel Flora Parc
#9 of 16 in Castelldefels
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
#8 of 16 in Castelldefels
348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel139
Hotel139
#12 of 16 in Castelldefels
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels

Property: Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
Address: Paseig del Ferrocarril 342, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Castelldefels
#1 Best Value Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Castelldefels hotel is located only 15 km from Barcelona, close to the Garraf nature reserve, 300 m from the railway station. The airport is 10 km away. With rapid access to the beach, it has 74 air-conditioned rooms available for booking, free private parking, a snack bar open 24/24 and a restaurant. Guests on a business trip will appreciate the Wifi wireless broadband Internet access. A tennis court is available 500 m away for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing