We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a base for barcelona if not wanting to stay in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Castelldefels
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“a base for barcelona if not wanting to stay in the city”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A lovely little hotel across the street from a lovely beach.Beach glorious and flat walk way
We stayed for 3 nights rooms cleaned daily towlels replaced our room had a huge balcony lovely to sit on in the evening. Has a free safe ,hairdryer toiletries etc.
Mini Bar you have to pay for reasonable price as far as hotels go . Our Bedroom was an ok size Comfortable beds and had 2 pillows .
Free wifi available ask at reception for password.
Just ask for kettle at reception this is brought up to you just ask on reception on a daily basis and tea and coffee will be replenish this is a good idea to stop waste.
Hotel has a computer opposite the reception found this out when leaving
Hotel staff freindly but speak a little english but occasionally can be a bit of a barrier.
The pool was clean and water refreshing.Poolside has a few sun loungers and tables If you wan drinks go to the restaurent by the pool to order.
Getting into barcelona bus turn left opposite side of road L94 takes about 40-60 mins Train station 10 minute walk turn right till the end of road straight in front of you will see be a nice italian restaurent this reasonably priced turn right here at the the end of this street is the train station not all trains stop check with hotel reception for times there so on return check that train will stop at this station. Buy a T10 ticket from tobacco shop this does 10 jouneys multi person ticket i.e If 2 poeple traveling ticket will last 5 journeys each , Can use on train, buses into barcelona a cheap way to travel.
This a typical Spanish Area quite a few bars and restaurents very few speak english we managed to order food and drinks .
A lovel beach bar situated 2 minutes opposite the hotel.
The tobacco shop and a lovely small supermarket reasonably priced turn left out of hotel not even 2min walk

Very few shops in this area but turn left walk a bout 10-15 mins a few shops and restaurants

will definately stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicodog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    95
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
43
109
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here to provide a quiet stop after busy sight seeing days in Barcelona and area. Close to easy transportation into and around the city and close to the airport. Lovely to come "home" to a quick swim and a quiet balcony overlooking the ocean. Beautiful clean beaches stretching as far as you can see! An area of good restaurants (including the one at the hotel), we had excellent meals. Clean hotel, helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week and we loved it. It is right across from the beach and there is a beach bar right there. The staff was excellent and very helpful. We wanted to know the best way to get into Barcelona and there is a bus stop a block down and it only costs 2 euros! The front desk manager told us about this and what bus to take. Very helpful! They tried to always answer any questions and speaking English wasn't a problem. They have an insight restaurant with good food and free breakfast. This was was amazing and I would definitely return and would recommend this to any couples looking to travel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This BW hotel is average but fits the bill if you want pretty easy access to Barcelona via train (5 minute walk to the station) and a relatively short transit to the airport. We stayed in one of the rooms in the newer annex and it was a nice enough room, however, the mattresses are extremely HARD. My back still hurts. We folded up the spare blankets and put them on top of the mattress so we had a tiny bit of cushion. They have a goofy glass shower door that only extends half way along the tub so we managed to flood the bathroom floor nearly every time we took a shower even when being very careful.
The pool area is ok, they don't seem to get that they could make some money by offering some food/beverage service by the pool but we did get service when we went into the front bar and asked for it out by the pool.
Breakfast buffet was more than adequate and actually quite good! Staff is friendly enough, not overly warm but able to meet our needs and answer questions.
We went down to Sitges twice and will plan on staying in that town as there is much more to offer such as good restaurants, bars, shops, cute streets, a nice promenade by the beach etc.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cmboese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
271 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We wanted a hotel close to the airport as we were only staying in Castelldefels for one night so the location was great. The hotel was very clean. Our flight arrived early so our room wasn't ready. We waited by the pool until it was ready. Service at poolside was non existent. After sitting at a table for about 30 minutes, we finally got up and went over to the restaurant on the other side of the pool and asked if we could get a beer. They seemed a bit confused by this. Maybe they don't serve over at the pool area. However, there were other people sitting at tables by the pool with drinks. Check in was also very slow once our room was ready. Anyway, it all worked out and we were happy with our room. The hotel itself I would rate as very good, but our overall rating is average. There's a neat little bar across the street from the hotel - right on the beach. A nice place to sit and relax and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Santorini Dreamin'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hotel Mediterraneo in Castelldefels belongs to BEST WESTERN network, so actually I expected a bit more... The hotel has nice location close to the see (some 200m away). The beach is 4 km long, nice facilitated with several beach bars in nice quality, there is a lot of volleyball and football facilities too. Visitors to the beach were mostly domestic people, a lot of them use to come from Barcelona and their neighborhood by train.
The hotel is an older facility (main larger building and the pool) with two new smaller houses, all buildings are thrust onto very small area. We got a small room (second smallest from a dozens of 4-star hotels I have visited) with special stink, my wife complained all the time (several other reviews also mention that fact), it smells after fungus. The washroom was nice, air-condition in the room was a top one (any direct cool air-stream). The room includes a large balcony with a set of chairs.
All the hotel (only the old building, because we didn’t visit the new houses) as well as the pool appeared to me a bit worn-out, or at least it was not so “shiny” as many hotels of this rank use to be. It has a spirit of a family hotel, which actually it is, the staff was visibly a family staff with friendly attitude and that spirit inspired all the atmosphere. The clientele created mostly Russian guests however there were many other languages to hear. At the pool (approx. 12 to 15 m in length), which itself would deserve a better maintenance), were still enough free deckchairs with umbrellas.
The breakfast in the hotel was nice and in my opinion fully corresponded with the price of accommodation. As already mentioned, the Castelldefels is a destination for spanish visitors, you cannot find many shops of any kind there, however there is a lot of various restaurants, which offer pizza&pasta, Indian food as well as other kitchen, so in contrary to Barcelona you can easily find a tasty food.
All the staff was very helpful, most of them were more-less speaking English. Cleaning of the room was of very good quality, however three times in the week it happened that apart the cleaning (which happened still during our absence), a guy with some questions regarding a room-bar was disturbing us.
Actually, it was my second stay in a “BEST WESTERN” hotel, but I have to correct my opinion for preferring “a big stable network” before solitary hotels in similar category. My overall rating is some 4 minus, I was lacking something unspecific, however giving me feeling of satisfaction... Next time I will try another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fero967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
110 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed one night at this place, when Hotel Canal Olimpic messed up lots of reservations. We got a suite, which was very spacious and with a massive terrace. But it was not very clean though and the furniture had several spots on them. Beds not very comfortable either, but then many hotelbeds in Spain ar very hard. Staff was ok and did their job. Location is very good for Castelldefels beach and the area for bars and restaurants. Overall this place is average, but definitely worth to compare with others when planning a holiday in this little town

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larzon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelldefels hotels
1.6 mi away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
0.7 mi away
Bel Air Hotel
Bel Air Hotel
#5 of 16 in Castelldefels
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
Hotel Ciudad de Castelldefels
#9 of 16 in Castelldefels
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
#3 of 16 in Castelldefels
644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playafels
Hotel Playafels
#11 of 16 in Castelldefels
258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel SB BCN Events
Hotel SB BCN Events
#1 of 16 in Castelldefels
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Passeig Martitim 294, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain (Formerly Best Western Mediterraneo)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castelldefels
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castelldefels
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mediterraneo Hotel Castelldefels
Best Western Castelldefels
Castelldefels Best Western
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo Castelldefels, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing