We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hostalillo
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu(Tamariu)(Great Value!)
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tamariu(Tamariu)(Great Value!)
$173
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mas Ses Vinyes(Begur)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aiguablava(Begur)(Great Value!)
$317
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Es Furio(Tamariu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
Can Nisso(Tamariu)
No availability for your dates from our partners
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveler rating
216
204
58
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
204
58
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta bravaterrace barsandy beachsmall beachsea viewwonderful locationold fashionedfab viewsearly augusthear the waveseach morningair conditioningper nightdelicious dinnerwe loved our staynice selectionstreet parking
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 502 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We are staying at the Hostalillo at the moment, mid April, and it is really good. Tamariu is quiet but the weather is good and the beach is uncrowded. Lots of families and Spanish visitors. The hotel is really comfortable and the breakfast is very good. Very reasonable rates and great service. Recommended.

Room Tip: We didn't pay extra for a sea view but have a great view from our balcony of the sea and beach.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just returned from Tamariu after spending 8 days at the Hotel Hostalillo. This was a perfect place to stay especially after our crazy tour of Barcelona! Yes, the hotel is quiet and this is why we chose to stay here. We particularly enjoyed the easy access from the hotel to the beach and the great coastal walks (Cami de Ronde). Breakfast on the terrace each morning was a real treat and the selection of food was good. We only ate at the hotel restaurant on the last night (I tried Cuttlefish for the first time which was very tasty!) - I wish we had chosen to eat here more often as at 20Euros for a set menu this was very good value. The staff working in the restaurant are lovely - very friendly and always smiling (and with a great of sense of humour!). Finally, the couple who manage the hotel bar are fantastic - very attentive and great company.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GR8XPECTATIONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostalillo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hostalillo, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for your nice comments about our Hotel Hostalillo and the days you spent with us. It's an honour to read that your experience was so pleasant, which encourages us to keep improving day after day even more. We hope you will recommend us amongst your friendes, and please visit us again soon.

With Kind Regards,
Hotel Hostalillo Tamariu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were staying for a week and we'd asked for a sea view room. But, because the hotel was busy, we were given a room overlooking the entrance (and turning place for vehicles) with no view at all. This room was a reasonable size but it had a tiny balcony which only just took a small table and two chairs. We asked to be moved and were eventually shown to another room on the top floor which still looked out over the hotel entrance but at least being higher up we could see the hills behind Timariu. The balcony was much bigger, but the room was tiny. There was just enough room to walk around the bed! We were told that had we only been staying for a few nights we could have had a sea view room. At this point we were wishing we had not booked in for a week! Breakfast was served on the terrace overlooking the sea each morning and there was plenty of choice although most of the cooked food contained meat so it wasn't great for a vegetarian like me! The main part of the hotel had the feel of a retirement home with chairs set out in lines along the windows in the sitting room and on the terrace. There was no atmosphere at all. Car parking was interesting as the hotel has very little parking for its guests so spaces have to be found in the narrow and very steep streets above the hotel. You do need to be fit to stay here as everything is either up or down stairs/steps. However, the location was fantastic with great views across the little bay of Tamariu. The beach was just below the hotel and there were plenty of restaurants to choose from each evening.

Room Tip: If you can make sure you are getting a sea room before you book/pay. We booked through an agent and were told by the hotel if we'd booked direct with them we would have been given a sea view room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliMackBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostalillo, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Hostalillo, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear guest:

Even trying to satisfy all our guests in the best possible way, it is not always to fulfil all their wishes. Of course we want our guests to stay as long as they want however in your particular case we were very busy in these dates so unfortunately we couldn’t upgrade you with a sea view room. About the rooms sizes, you could have kept the twin bedded room (larger), nevertheless you chose to move to a king size room which, that is true, is smaller (although it has a much larger terrace).

We try to offer a quite varied and balanced offer in our restaurant, even for vegetarians or vegan guests, so if only you had told us about your special requirements, we would have arranged a vegetarian menu for you.

That’s a respectable although quite disrespectful evaluation with which we disagree: our Hotel is not a “24-hour party“ place (there are other destinations for that), however our guests can enjoy a nice, calm, international atmosphere which tries to satisfy everyone without imposing anything, and of course our staff can recommend places to visit, things to do, and all sorts of leisure activities in the area. Most of our guests appreciate the calmness, comfort and relax they may enjoy at the Hostalillo.

You forget to say there is a lift which reaches all room’s floors, so the only steps you can’t avoid are the ones to reach the lower terrace and the beach (35 steps in total).

As in any Hotel in the World, you get what you book for, specially when the booking is made online with no further communication until check-in time. That is why we always recommend our guests, if they want to know more details about their rooms and so, to either contact us by phone, fax or e-mail previously to their arrival. Our aim is always to achieve the highest rate of satisfaction from our guests: that is the way we understand and feel hotel business.

Yours Faithfully,
Hotel Hostalillo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed for 3 days in late August. Tamariu is a small jewel in amongst a gravel pit of over built Spanish resorts and Hotel Hostelillo occupies one of the best positions in it. Our room had a great view of the beach, a verandah and thanks to its air conditioning (which apparently isn't standard) it remained perfect at night. Also worth mentioning is a a shower (sorry, so seldom do they deliver) that was perfect in power and temperature. Great lounge that overlooks the beach and village. Breakfast was down on the patio (again.. overlooking the beach). The front reception was welcoming, friendly and attentive. Basically a really nice little hotel that I wouldn't hesitate in recommending.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Booked a family room for 3 nights at relatively short notice (booked in May for early August).

The hotel is hard to access and parking involves finding a space in one of the streets that wind up the very steep hill above the hotel. There is a small turning/stopping point just outside reception but this is almost always jammed solid.

I have been to and stayed in Tamariu many times. Our normal port of call is the much smaller Hotel Tamariu, so it was going to be interesting to compare this much larger hotel which we knew had had a refurb in 2011.

Firstly, the refurb is generally excellent. It has modernised most of the hotel in a very tasteful way.

Our room was at the back of the hotel on the first floor and overlooked the parking/stopping spot outside reception (not the 'small garden' we were told about on the booking email. The room itself was excellent. Not luxurious, but very pleasantly decorated and super-practical. The main room had two single beds pushed together to give the impression of a double, double doors to a pleasant small balcony, a decent size LCD tv, excellent wardrobe space and had an ensuite bathroom which was modern and tasteful and had a superb shower over a bath with screen. The smaller bedroom had two single beds for the two boys a sliding door (very secure) to a small balcony, plenty of wardrobe space again and an ensuite shower room with toilet. Our only slight niggle was the lack of lighting in the second bedroom but apart from that it was an excellent room.

The rest of the hotel, save the restaurant which I will come back to, is also well decorated and excellently run. The views from the front of the hotel are, as you would expect, absolutely stunning.

The big niggle was the formality of those working in the restaurant which revealed attitudes stuck in the distant past and wholly out of keeping with the hotel's 'refurbished' aesthetic presentation.

Breakfast was one of the oddest I have experienced. The selection of food and drink was excellent in a help yourself buffet style. The vast proportion of the restaurant is cordoned off, but there is the option of having breakfast out on the terrace to fully experience those magnificent views. Quite what the staff were up to I have no idea. The head waiter, dressed in formal white jacket, fussed around like he was serving at the Savoy in the 50s and the more junior staff, similarly attired, seemed rather peculiarly to march to that same rather antiquated beat.

Each night we peered into a the restaurant as we headed into town to witness the sea of empty seats. The menu was depressingly uninspiring, 3 starters, mains and deserts to choose from, and the feel of the restaurant formal and frosty. Sad that here is one of the 'best seats in the house' completely underutilised; it could and should be packed full every night. If the Hostalillo could resolve the restaurant issues, renovate the terrace outside to allow al fresco dining and/or al fresco drinks before dinner then this would be a first stop destination along this magical piece of coastline.

Room Tip: Get one with one of those stunning views!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rikkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostalillo, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Hostalillo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for your positive comments about our Hotel Hostalillo.
Regarding the negative aspects, it is true your room didn’t have a great view, however the reason is we only have two similar rooms (communicating) in our Hotel, and being the higher one busy by the time you stayed, we had to assign you the lower room.

On another hand, about the restaurant we are conscious there were some aspects which needed to be solved or updated, and facing next season that is exactly what we are going to do.

It makes us very happy to read that your experience was in general terms so pleasant, and this encourages us to keep improving day after day even more.
We would like you to recommend our Hotel Hostalillo amongst your friends.

Hoping to see you back soon.

With Kind Regards,

Lluís Frigola
Deputy Manager
HOTEL HOSTALILLO *** Tamariu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews