We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem - we found our paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tamariu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tamariu
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem - we found our paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

For us it was the most perfect place. We holiday in Spain a lot and the location, friendly atmosphere, really excellent food and high standards of cleanliness, make it our hotel of choice in the future.

We were quickly made to feel at home by the hotel's attentive staff and enjoyed exploring the interesting and dramatic local coastline. On the days when we felt lazy, there was the most glorious sandy beach right outside the front door.

Parking can get difficult at busy times and if you want to swim do remember to take a beach towel.

As for us we are counting the days until our return trip... whilst we were their we met a couple from England who had be going to the hotel for 41 years!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pradaStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    85
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
67
153
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2007

A group of us rented one of the apartments which are part of Hotel Tamariu for four days in September. The apartments are across the road from the hotel and are very clean and a good size. The location is great, a stones throw from the beach and the hotel staff are very helpful. Unfortunately throughout our stay, none of our party managed to have decent nights sleep due to the incessant noise.

We were staying in the Green Apartment which is at the front of the block on the first floor- and the amount of noise that we were subjected to was unbearable. There is a storage area for the hotel bar under the apartment - so you are woken at the crack of dawn every day with the bottles being emptied into the garbage truck, the delivery lorries etc. This is coupled with the constant noise from the road. There is an open staircase leading to the other apartments so you can hear all the other holidaymakers walking up and down to their apartments at all times of the day and night. We were a not a group of early-to-bed types and were still constantly disturbed by the noise, so I'd suggest it would be completely unsuitable for a family to stay in this particular apartment.

Speaking to people staying in the other apartments - they did not seem to suffer from the noise ito nearly the same extent. If you are going to stay in the apartments - avoid the Green apartment at all costs.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Little_Mouse_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2007

Excellent hotel - very clean with rooms with balconies offering glorious views of the small sandy beach. All rooms have air conditioning which is needed in Spain in July and August.

Helpful staff although you have to ask for access to the hotel car park and pay extra - parking in high season difficult otherwise.

Breakfast in the dining area overlooking the beach. 1 minute walk to beach, restaurants, supermarket etc.

Overall very pleasant stay

  • Liked — Location location location
  • Disliked — Paying extra for car parking
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank djfozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spanish fan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2007

excellent hotel, exceptionally clean, very quite at night, air con invaluable. Meals out of this world, and the breakfast although continental was all that you needed, everything fresh - lovelly dining room overlooking the beach The staff and owners were very friendly and not over the top. Would visit again.
Carolyn, Bill and Andrew

  • Liked — Very clean hotel and very quite in the day and at night
  • Disliked — Apart from the mozzi's nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 104cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2007

A lovely family owned hotel in the very pretty bay of Tamariu. Owners and staff always eager to please, meals are good although breakfast is a little limited, prices very reasonable, lock up garage. I booked through [--]. We stayed there for 2 nights, and took the opportunity to visit Girona which has a lovely old town that is definitely worth seeing.

  • Liked — Attractive hotel in a lovely position with great staff
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClearViewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Tamariu for 3 nights during our honeymoon- and it was fabulous. We stayed in a room overlooking the beach and ocean, and it couldn't have been more scenic. We loved the small-town feel of Tamariu, and 4 days was long enough to relax and explore.

They do not provide beach towels, so I would recommend bringing those- but lots of previous guests left their beach umbrellas behind near the staircases for others to use.

The hotel is a little worn, but for people who don't need squeaky-clean luxury, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kirby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2005

This HOTEL TAMARIU is the best overall hotel i have stayed in Spain.The location is breathtaking if you like small resorts-the service and cleanliness of the hotel is second to none-the staff (the hotel is family run) are wonderful if you book this Hotel ask for SUSAN and tell her Mr Miller from Nottingham England reccomended you.One more thing if you are partial to a nice dry white wine try the HOUSE WHITE superb. All i can say now is THANK YOU HOTEL TAMARIU (susan).
FRANK MILLER NOTTINGHAM ENGLAND.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scottnad8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamariu
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hostalillo
Hotel Hostalillo
#2 of 4 in Tamariu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
9.1 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#2 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamariu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamariu

Property: Hotel Tamariu
Address: c/Passeig del Mar, 2, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Tamariu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tamariu 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tamariu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing