We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family break in the Costa Brave”
Review of Hotel Tamariu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tamariu
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2011

My wife and I, accompanied by our 10 and 12 year old daughters, stayed at the Hotel Tamariu between 10th and 15th April 2011. After a weekend in Barcelona we were looking for a quiet, relaxing 5 days, on the coast with good accomodation, excellent food, and a truly Catalan holiday experience - the Hotel Tamariu met the bill very well. Not only is the hotel excellent, it's alos got a fabulous location within 50 metres os a wonderful beach amd rocks suitable for exploration.
The welcome could not have been better (no demands for credit cards, concern about parking the car, help with baggage) purely a desire to ensure that we were happy with our rooms - which were immaculate and just what we had hoped for - fabulous view over the bay uninterrrupeted by cars which are banned from the sea front.
The accomodation was spotless, the buffet breakfast all that our daughters desired, and the dinners very well presented with lots of local foods cooked to perfection.
We'd strongly recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a relaxing time, nurtured bycaring (family) staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tamariu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 285 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2011

We have been on two separate vacations to center some evening entertainment with the Hotel Tamariu bar and restaurant. They have started having Jazz Nights some evenings with prominent local musicians, and it has been packed and very fun. in addition, the food is superb. the Pelicer family who run the restaurant and hotel speak perfect English and make every guest feel important. This is a happening place set in Paradise!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirgilCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

The Pelicer family has run this hotel and restaurant for two generations and are greatly loved by the many guests who have been returning here for many years, in some cases, decades. They speak perfect English and are knowledgeable about the area, called the Jewel in th Crown of beautiful Costa Brava. There is a great deal to see abd do within easy driving distance abs the Catalan culture, food and local wines are very special. We found that the prices were also excellent. We plan to go back many times and make it a destination. One of the best hotels and best locations in the area. Nigel and Tessa.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vorgil2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Still as good as ever . Probably the best beachfront location on the Costa Brava . Food on the Beach Terrace - quite superb! Peaceful , splendid!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horacebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 nights at this delightful hotel on the Costa Brava. The staff in the hotel are extremely kind, courteous and helpful. The position of the hotel directly opposite the beach is superb and the rooms are basic but very spacious and comfortable. A very useful touch is the provision of a kettle and cups - something you don't often find outside the UK. The only thing we would have like to see would be a small fridge to keep water etc. cool.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyqFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Stayed 3 nights returning from Algarve. Agree that rooms on 1st floor can be a little noisy early evening but OK after about 23:00. I thought continental breakfast was good although did not start till late & I wanted an early getaway. Excellent location right on beach; consequently this means long term parking is a problem. I thought it a little pricey but on balance worth it for where it is.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biffo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Just arrived home after 2 weeks at Tamariu Hotel.An excellent hotel providing accomodation and restaurant of a very high standard with a very personal touch.Not overly expensive and the best location in town.
Out of season use the municipal car park,its free and normally vacant.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turnersChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamariu
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Caleta de Tamariu
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hostalillo
Hotel Hostalillo
#1 of 4 in Tamariu
453 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
453 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
260 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamariu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamariu

Address: c/Passeig del Mar, 2, 17212 Tamariu, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Tamariu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tamariu
Price Range: $130 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tamariu 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tamariu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing