We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid it! the 4 stars are a bad joke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Celuisma Torrelavega
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Torrelavega
Reviewed August 14, 2013

4-star hotel???? Maybe in the early 70s but certainly not now, I'd give it 1-2 stars at the most.

I spent 6 nights in that hotel last week (August 2013) with my boyfriend. I can hardly describe how disappointed and upset we still are. The hotel is terrible, the rooms looked nice on the hotel's website but far from it, they've only been painted and the curtains and bed covers look quite new, the rest is just appalling. The room and bathroom were both dirty, cobwebs, one inch of dust on sockets, pipes... You should see the TV set and radio, both from the 70s. There was a tiby fridge that was warm inside! The AC did work though.
The bathroom looked like out of a bad US roadmovie motel where someone gets murdered.The water pressure was a joke, it took me ages to rinse my hair (short bob), and regulating the temperature was mission impossible, you either got boiling or ice-cold water in the shower. The soap dispensers were empty and broken, we only got complementary sachets with gel and shampoo, that weren't replaced daily. My boyfriend's quite tall and he needed 2 sachets for a shower, which meant I didn't have one for me. We ended up buying gel in the supermarket next door and fortunately we'd taken our shapoo with us! And you won't believe it: there was no toilet brush!!!!
We didn't choose the hotel as it was part of a Package holiday to Cantabria. Meals were included. We'd been promised that the hotel would be flexible with the menús as food is a problema for us. Far from it, the waitresses were rather rude, they said we could only have what the rest of the group had (typical Spanish winter dishes and frozen fish every day), so we had to eat out (despite having paid for our meals at the hotel beforehand). Many other people in our group complained about the qualityof the food too. Breakfast is a buffet, but they never change it!!! After 6 days I was sick to death of eating a croissant and puff pastry biscuits!!!!
The common areas were OK. Small foyer, comfy sofa/armchairs on the 1st floor (dining rooms/cafeteria), but shabby/dirty staircase. Tiny lifts.
The location isn't good either. It's in the outskirts of Torrelavega, a little in the middle of nowhere, convenient for travelling around Cantabria as everything worth visiting is less than 1 hour away. A tram runs along the street next to the hotel's so the noise is disrupting. We were lucky to have a Carrefour supermarket next door as we could buy gel, food, drinks etc. There're also a take-away pizza restaurant (Telepizza), a kebab, and 2 bars. A chemist's (drugstore) is conveniently 2 minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NuriaHarket59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 52 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were on a coach tour of Spain, the night before our hotel was truly 4 star with good food. When the coach pulled up outside this place I was hoping I would be surprised after entering the building as the outside said it all. No such luck, after entering the foyer which was sad and tired we entered our room!!! What a joke, the bathroom vent was filthy, most likely never been cleaned, the fridge had mould in it and the whole appearance of the room was very tired and shabby. The dinner was served late and for good reason (I wouldn't want anyone to see it either). It was the most horrible seafood soup full of pasta. Mains was fish and chips, the wine, yes they gave us wine was just as bad. Dessert was a bit of a surprise, as small as it was at least it was editable. Surprise breakfast the next day was just as bad. What a let down. I am currently staying at a hotel in Madrid that says it is only 3 star but is six stars compared to this one. This hotel chain needs to review their business practises or they may have no business in the future. One more thing no free wifi, which has been available throughout any decent hotel in Spain, UK,etc. do yourself a favour and go anywhere else but here.

Room Tip: There are none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leann_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Located in an industrial area although quite a good location for travelling to different sights. Picos de Europa approximately 1.5 - 2 hours by coach.

Room just about acceptable - bathroom old and minor imperfections in decoration throughout especially skirting boards, corners of walls, etc. We agree with previous comments (Spanish users) re. air conditioning noise and strange (drains-type) smell... A week was too long. The hotel was chosen by a Spanish tour operator (Zafiro Tours) as part of a six-night (one week) excursin ('circuito') to Cantabria. There is a nice beach, approx 25-30 minute bus ride. The bus stop is a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel.

WORST ASPECT: aggressive vigilation from the restaurant waiters/waitresses - constantly walking through the restaurant with sideways glances to ensure that package guests have not taken 'de pago' food and drinks which are of CONSIDERABLY BETTER quality. You'll be left as a second class diner with disgusting orange juice (reconstituted from powder) and 'jamon de oferta' instead of the serrano in the screened-off area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank veomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Que está para el interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fescalante1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Que no den las habitaciones a la via del tren , ni a la zona de carga y descarga del supermercado qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ricardo gustavo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Eva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016
Thank SPYTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrelavega
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torresport
Hotel Torresport
#1 of 5 in Torrelavega
262 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Puerta de Santillana
Hotel Puerta de Santillana
#1 of 1 in Puente San Miguel
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Regio
Hotel Regio
#2 of 5 in Torrelavega
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Montedobra
Hotel Montedobra
#3 of 5 in Torrelavega
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Besaya
Hotel Besaya
#3 of 4 in Torrelavega
49 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rolisas
Rolisas
#2 of 3 in Torrelavega
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celuisma Torrelavega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celuisma Torrelavega

Address: Calle Julio Hauzeur 6-12, 39300 Torrelavega, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Torrelavega
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Torrelavega
Price Range: $84 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Celuisma Torrelavega 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Celuisma Torrelavega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing