We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Teguise Market
from $17.40
More Info
Reviews (1,630)
Filter reviews
959 results
Traveler rating
304
351
212
57
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
351
212
57
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stalls selling food stalls worth a visit leather goods stall holders for sale local crafts few hours three hours puerto del carmen tapas public toilets coach trip plenty of places to eat walk around an excursion hire car
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 959 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Nice market with some decent stalls, but way too many stalls with fake stuff. There are still some genuine stalls though with traditional items and some nice food stalls. The small town is quite quaint. Wear good footwear as there are lots of cobblestones.

Thank MrMrsHappyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The market is huge, possibly a little too big to get around in one day (especially if like us you went via an organise excursion where you only get 2-3 hours) - I would recommend that you do a little more homework than we did and make your own way there so you can spend some more time looking around. There were plenty of buses stopping there so just a question of working out the timetable and where to change buses.
I would liked to have also visited Teguise on a day when it was not open as a market - it looked so picturesque, and tranquil (even with the market going on around it, some of my photographs showed that side of it).
The market consists of the usual cheap African watches, clothes and leather goods stalls along with lots of local craft and perfumes stalls. There is entertainment in the form of music and dance going on around the main square from time to time, which unfortunately means you will need even more time to spend looking around
Oh... and don't forget, you really need to haggle the prices down - you may actually find you can still buy "touristy" things a lot cheaper in the the resort shops and supermarkets.

1  Thank W9695DIianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I booked a trip to this market, while on a recent holiday, as a way of seeing more of the island and to do a bit of shopping for souvenirs. I have been to many local markets, but this was far bigger than I was expecting. A large part of the town has stalls selling mostly for the tourist trade. Many of the stalls sold similar items, lots of leather goods, scarves, bags etc some even carrying famous brands names! Another holiday maker mentioned she was looking for Del Trotter when she was looking at some of these designer goods! There was a group of local who paraded through the streets playing drums etc, giving the place a lively atmosphere. The number of stalls and people did distract a little from the towns culture, but that was to be expected. If you fancy having a stroll on a Sunday morning, then this would a good place to choose

1  Thank markbM6508JY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good market but you need to haggle very hard with them and don’t be afraid to walk away the best thing to do is look at what you like think to yourself not only what you think is a fair price but also what you would be prepared to pay then ask them the price and haggle away they are al very friendly so you may get yourself a bargain

1  Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having spent a great afternoon in Teguise rummaging around their many superb artisan shops, we thought we would come back to the Sunday market. I think Teguise is missing a trick here - the majority of the market is just stalls selling tat - the kind of plastic fantastic, you might buy it and wear it once, knick-knack stuff that you will end up giving to a car boot sale at some stage. It was absolutely mobbed with tourists. In fairness, the town manages the crowds very well in terms of parking, security etc.

I would say, don't bother with the stalls - spend time watching the folk music and dancing display in the main square which was really excellent, and visiting the actual shops in the town which have a great range of original art, woodwork, jewellry etc. There are some lovely places to eat and drink as well.

I wouldn't bother coming back for the market but I would definitely return to Teguise during a weekday to mosey through the shops and appreciate the lovely architecture of the town.

FYI - very few ATMs in Teguise and the one closest to the market was out of order the day we visited so just make sure you have cash on you.

1  Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the market in our hire car from Playa Blanca. Very good mixture of stalls from local crafts to tourist tat. Plenty of variety and a pleasant atmosphere. Lots of the small local shops are also worth visiting. Glad we made the effort.

Thank jenandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were really impressed with all that was on offer.
You name it and it was there.
Plenty of food stalls too. Felt very safe at it. There was a great atmosphere there.
Also in the tent there was music being played, it was very entertaining.

Thank bandd2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My favourite place in Lanzarote! Whether you are visiting the market or visiting one of the many cafes and bars on a quiet weekday afternoon, you will be charmed by the beautiful white and green setting and the old town feel. Everything is laid back and idyllic. A true holiday feeling.

Would recommend driving via the Wine route if travelling from south Lanzarote.

Thank Yashada J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The market is big, you can find nice things but I think is a bit over priced. Found same things cheaper in other resorts and to many repetitive items, especially bags and belts. Overall it was a nice day is worth to go for a change of scenery.

1  Thank Pavel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For a short day trip it was nice. Bus frequent from Costa teguise, about €2.50 And 30 min journey. Market itself fairly busy but not too packed. Live music and dancing was lovely. Market was nice but a lot of repetitive stock, same things being sold on multiple stalls so not a lot of options. Homemade things caught our eye. Easy to haggle a better price. Toilets available. With food as well can spend a few hours. Nice Sunday activity.

Thank Laya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews