We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful meal with dire service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Pedro

Casa Pedro
Ranked #92 of 195 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cheshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awful meal with dire service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had thought casa pedro looked a nice restaurant to try but were very disappointed. The menu is misleading and needs to be clearer. if you order grilled chicken you expect grilled chicken! not half a chicken spit roasted on the bone! our sons spaghetti bolognese was more like spaghetti with just tomato sauce on it. The staff are rude and abrubt particularly the matre de. When he took our order we felt like we were being told off! He came over and barked "yes!" at us! we ordered drinks, then he barked "eat!" which obviously meant we had to order food! i asked what the chicken came with and was told veg and fried potatoes. I asked if i could have just normal potatoes instead, you'd have thought i'd asked for the moon the way he was! When the potatoes came they looked dry as a bone. The wine was slammed down on the table, no one came to ask if everything was ok. We had to ask numerous times for parmasen cheese...we could go on. We left no tip, just exactly the right money and when we left we told the extremely rude and grumpy owner/head guy we'd had a terrible meal - and you know what? not bothered in the slightest! said "gracias!" unbelievable! i said "you are rude and abrubt and the food is terrrible" As we walked away we could see him telling another waiter and they were laughing. obviously not bothered about alienating tourists who they assume won't be back. But we came last xmas and would come again next year but definately NOT go to this place even if we were paid to! My husband later read reviews on trip advisor....hindsight is a great thing........

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank geema10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    256
    155
    98
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Really excellent spainish food with curtious but restrained service (a relief from the other hard sell restaurants we passed) - we had been craving really good spainish salads that evening which were wonderfully supplied followed by really well done fish.

Lots of little extras, drink on arrival and local after dinner nibbles. Outdoor seating seen but not used this visit.

Not exciting but really nice for a pair of ladies and from the other tables would suit families as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathyweldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

My wife had Lobster Bisque and loved it, I had spaghetti bolognese very good as well, move of the more stylish restaurants in Playa Blanca, plus the wifi was very good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank brian_in_Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent fish dishes in comfortable surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here. Very good value with fresh fish dishes and good wine. Would highly reccommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Grumpy old men and very average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

I have been here nearly a week and this was by far the worst restaurant we have been in - all the staff seem to have had a charisma bypass, grumpy is possibly an understatement. More importantly the food was very under average - the local fish was ok - but I have had better at half the price (€18 - recommended by the waiter/owner & not listed on the menu) all other grilled fish was around the €12 mark. It came with two small very earthy canarian potatoes and a small portion of very wet, dirty looking salad. My wife had hunter chicken which was poor, the chips looked like yesterday's - I guess with the position right on the front they don't gave to try too hard !!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_n_Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Pedro also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to Casa Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing