We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely well located hotel”
Review of THB Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
THB Royal
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely well located hotel”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a week at the THB Sun Royal with my 47 year old sister and 71 year old friend, I'm 52. We arrived to be greeted by the very friendly reception staff and allocated room 201 on the ground level by the heated pool. The apartment was small, but clean, outside our patio was shaded by a slightly overgrown bush and the garden next door was overgrown with weeds. We noticed an annoying background noise that when we complained, was put down to the pump to the pool and we were moved to room 656 on the upper level. The staff could not have been more helpful in moving us and there was no fuss at all.
The new apartment/room was much bigger, brighter and more suitable for 3 people and the patio was a fantastic afternoon sun trap great to avoid the breeze and overlooked the unheated pool.
The cleaner came 5 days out of 7 and provided extra bath towels when we requested them. She was very thorough and friendly asking us if we were happy with everything, which we were.
We went self catering, on the whole we only ate breakfast and a bit of lunch in our room and the facilities were sufficient. The kettle and toaster had to be plugged in on the dining table which could be a bit dodgy for a young family, but ok for us. The on site supermarket stocked everything we needed.
We had a smashing time, the hotel is an easy 10/15 minute walk to the promenade/beach and shops and restaurants and we made full use of all of them.
Overall this is an older hotel, but we were comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We booked through Travel Supermarket and this was a budget getaway and we felt what we got, once we moved, was what we paid for and would be happy to go there again.
My tip, ask which pool is heated, one was and one wasn't which provided us with lots of entertainment watching people trying to get in the unheated pool from our patio, but wasn't much fun for them. Read the information in the reception as well, and if you're unhappy about anything, tell them while you're there.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juan s, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear customer, the staff thanks you for your comment.
We would like to see them again and if possible assign the same room so they can enjoy the sun and relax.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    468
    150
    36
    17
See reviews for
363
453
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have been to this hotel five times now and have never been disappointed. The rooms, although basic, have everything you require. The Staff are very helpful, the cleaning standard is good. We generally visit in February which is quite quiet, but this hotel provides all amenities, pools, restaurant, games etc., It is walking distance from the sea front, close to restaurants and shops. We have self catering apartments with sunny balcony if you just want to chill out. Just feels like home from home thanks to Sun Royal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juan s, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Customer, SUN Royal THB been renamed to Royal, but maintain the same illusion and profecionabilidad.
We hope you enjoy with us again soon.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here in August 2012 as a family with 2 children (10 and 12 years) and we had a great time. Thought I would write the review as somebody commented that they didn't believe the good reviews. I would highly recommend this hotel for families and couples wanting a good value break in Playa Blanca on a budget. The hotel is also in a great location - 10 mins walk to Playa Dorada beach and half way between the Rubicon Marina and main part of Playa Blanca.

We stayed in a one bed apt overlooking the back pool with 2 balconies on an AI basis.Air con is free, works really well and is a blessing in high summer! Yes, the place could do with a revamp but is spotlessly clean in both the apartments, grounds and pool area and overall everything was of an acceptable standard. Personally we all really enjoyed the food, finding it excellent value, my husband is vegetarian (but will eat fish) and my son is very fussy, but we all found something we liked every day. It is all very fresh, lots of fruit, veg, salads. Sometimes there were some weird options on the menu such as goat but there was always something else. However if you want english food then this probably isn't for you, most guests are spanish. Also if you want to stay in and drink branded spirits every night with english entertainment then this isn't for you either. At the end of the day you pay your money and make your choices.

Having looked at other hotels whilst we were there I would say that in the 3 star range this is excellent value, most other hotels in Playa Blanca also need upgrading and are suffering badly from the recession - have a look at some of their reviews.

We wanted to return to PB this summer as we love the resort, so have looked at a lot of hotel reviews on Trip Adviser and have decided that for the money this is still a good option for us so we are reurning for 18 days AI in July. For the price if we want to eat out some nights we can - we would just about have managed to rent an apartment for this price in PB!

Also just wanted to add that we found the staff at the Sun Royal lovely - they are so helpful and work so hard for probably very little. There are better hotels in PB I am sure ie Princess Yaiza but the prices are exorbitant. If you want somewhere clean with nice pools, good location and good food at a great price, give it a go.

Room Tip: Upper floors are more private and most have 2 balconies which is nice - not a particularly rowdy hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gall99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juan s, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear customers, employees THB Royal thank you for thinking of us when it comes to holiday.
Thank you very much for your comments and see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We found the THB Royal to be but very basic . No oven . No instructions for the Microwave & the wrong inner plate which meant nothing revolved. Two hotplates to cook on ,1 frying pan / 2 pans.The drainer was part of the cupboard above the sink. Fridge was cold but the freezer part was not good. No washing up liquid or anything left by previous guests! But Hippo Supermarket at bottom othe road had everything including English cheese, just expensive of course. Shower varied some days good then sometimes went very hot and cold.
Double bed was 2 singles pushed together and still made up as 2 singles. Extra blankets and pillows in cupboard were very welcome for the cold night in January /Febuary. Air Conditioning had heat section but not that warm. you had to pay E20 deposit for the handset.TV only had English news,CBS drama and some Paramount programmes,E10 charge for the handset. The sheets were not changed at all in the 2 weeks we stayed, it was stated twice a week . Towels were changed most days but shabby! Crockery ok but no mugs or wine glasses.10 minutes walk to the sea front straight down the road another 10 minutes to the centre of resort.
Plenty of places for a meal or a drink not over pricey. Chinese Buffet E9.50/Coffee E2/Beer E1.50.
Wi Fi at hotel E9 per day and E19 for a week but can be got free in some cafes.
Walls were very thin.......cannot do anything about noisy neighbours.

Room Tip: First floor overlooking pools not ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJWESTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juan s, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear customer, thank you for choosing our hotel heber to spend your holiday, just comment that all apartments have fully equipped kitchens for self catering clients (microwave, toaster, kettle, juicer etc). Anyway, if the Directions something was missing this one would have to call reception to provide it.
Deposits are returned when all entrege air conditioning in reception or tv.
Changes of clothing are set out in two a week in bed and three towels but if you need some alone again serious enough to call reception.
Again thank you for choosing us and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Was looking for a cheap self catering winter break in Playa Blanca and selected the THB Royal on location and price. Having read the mixed reviews went with an open mind. Yes it is 'tired' and could probably do with a refit but the apartment was clean, had comfortable beds and the shower was ok with plenty of hot water! There is a supermarket 5 minutes walk away, the main Playa Dorada beach is 10 minutes and the centre, with a good variety of restaurants, 15 minutes walk. For self catering this was all we needed. Not sure what the people who give bad reviews expect, after all you get what you pay for. Can't comment on the restaurant etc. as we were self catering but if what you're looking for is a cheap place to stay in what is a very good resort then the THB Royal is well worth considering.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juan s, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Phil, thanks for your comments.
I recommend the next time you visit try our buffet restaurant, you can come with all inclusive, half board or buy tickets at reception, whatever you think best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Wear good shoes if you want to walk into the town a couple of times per day! Breakfast offered all you need to start the day good. Cleaning to a good standard. Very quiet time of year so nice and peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juan s, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Heather, thank you for choosing us and have fun.
From the hotel to the town is a nice walk of about 15 minutes walk, but if you ever wanted to go and not walk from reception will call a taxi at any time of day.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Went for ten day after new year , rooms vey damp and cold , towels very old , the maid change the bed on the eight day they could be done twice a week .. sun beds old an dirty ,went to beach every day .. To get warm the sun beds there lovely. Nobody wants to know . The food I wouldn't give a dog ,we went out in to town nice place to eat down there .the place should be knocked down and rebuilt ! And I don't think the reviews are real that have been wrote

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pie1234pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juan s, Gerente at THB Royal, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear customer, sorry that our hotel has not exceeded the expectations you expect of us.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.3 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Royal Monica
Royal Monica
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
959 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,761 reviews
0.3 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Royal

Property: THB Royal
Address: C/ Janubio s/n | Urb. Costa Papagayo, 35770 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly THB Hotel Sun Royal)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — THB Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel THB Royal is located in the south of Lanzarote, in the village of Playa Blanca.This quiet fishing village in the municipality of Yaiza has preserved its characteristics apart from tourism development.This large complex consists of two floors and a total of 200 rooms. The hotel offers guests 2 swimming areas with solarium. Nearby are some of the most beautiful tourist attractions in Lanzarote: The Coast of Papagayo, El Golfo… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your THB Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Royal Apartments Hotel Playa Blanca
Sun Royal Apartments Playa Blanca
THB Royal Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing