We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, functional accommodation”
Review of THB Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
THB Royal
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here in Oct 13 for some late summer/autumnal sun. The price for a twin/double room which includes a lounge, balcony with views over the pool was the same price a a discounted night in the Gatwick Hilton!

The rooms were tidy, clean and functional. Other than the terrace bar I did not use any of the other facilities however it is only a five minute walk to Dorada beach and 10 minutes walk to the centre of Playa Blanca so a great location for a bargain price. Thoroughly recommended as a base to investigate Playa Blanca,and Papagayo.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

just had a week all inclusive at the sun royal we had a loverly stay. really good food lots of choice. room and hotel really clean.staff great and friendly especially the guy on reception and antonio the barman great service ! short walk to the really nice beach and to the town where the nightlife is. .lots of sunbeds although a bit old but ok .excellent value would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylvia-ivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hotel is in a good location about 10 min walk to main promenade , hotel itself is clean and serves purpose , did eat in hotel however bar isn't that big and not much atmosphere everyone just sat out on big terrace with nothing to look at or music , taxis are 330 to town which is reasonable the 2 pools Are nice again seemed to be somber atmosphere so went to beach most days which is lovely , we ate out most nights all restaraunts are such good value and food is amazing def try try chineese Buffett beside taxi rank amazing value and lovely food and a must is cafe 34 for the best cocktails in town the street behind main promenade

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This is our third visit to Sun Royal having stayed here in 2001&2002. On arrival we were told we had been selected to be upgraded to the Sun Tropical with no reason given as it was a lot further out we declined the offer and were given room 1065 which was on the upper floor with no real view and very poor furnished the coffee table was completely covered in teacup burns and there was not even a frying pan. As we were self catering my husband asked for a new room and we were given a ground floor apt near reception which looked exactly as it did in 2001 nothing any different. The walls in the bedroom are completely covered in damp and the plaster is coming off the wall not good for my husbands COPD.
The room was cleaned most days except weds and sun and sheets and towels changed regularly although we did have to chase up towels on one occasion. The shower is very powerful and there was always lovely hot water. We arrived on the thursday and on the following tuesday our cleaner dropped huge hints that she was off on the weds so looking for a tip. We always tip anyway but did not like being cajoled for one. We kept our room tidy and beds made so she did not have much to do..
We were self catering but did use the restaurant once for lunch and there was a good choice of hot and cold food although a couple of plates were dirty and cracked.
The shop on site good for water and newspapers not much else. The best place to shop is the Spar in the town they will cut lovely steaks and pork chops for you 2 of each only 13 euro and were delicious. If you go up the street beside the hypermarket in town there is a shop at the top which is like the old Woolworth it sells everything from pots and pans to souvenirs. We found it too late to buy small pot to boil eggs.
The beach is about a 20 minute walk away the town about 25 to walk the promenade and back up the town way stopping for little shop takes about 1 1/2 hours but it costs 2EURO 60 for a taxi back up.
Near the taxi rank there is a lovely Japanese restaurant called Romantica which serves the most amazing food they are always busy so a good idea to book. The staff and service excellent. I highly recommend it.
The apartment next door to reception has a fig tree and it does explain the saying "not giving a flying fig" as they fall down in abundance on to the apartment terrace and on the ground at entrance to reception causing a potential accident spot.

The two hotels beside the Sun Royal are being totally renovated i feel its time the sun royal does the same.
To end if you travel with Jet2 from Lanzarote you may have to stop off at Faro to refuel hence it will take you 6 hours to get home to Belfast thank god we didnt have too we were not told this when booking so i thought the time shown was a mistake or time difference.
I hope you find this review helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank charleeBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a great value hotel. The rooms are basic but cleaned daily. The whole complex was very clean and no problem getting sun beds. A great all inclusive menu for the price. Loads of hot and cold choices at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Always fish, chicken and meat and a loads of pasta and salad. Lots of staff clearing the Restaurant and they were bringing out fresh food even with only 20mins until the dining ended. As it had not been an expensive holiday we expected to eat out a lot more but as the food choice was so good we only went out a few times. Bar staff are lovely and there are plastic tumblers for at the pool so no horrible paper cups. Would definitely return.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Sparklefizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Fab from start to finish. Infact thinking of heading back in afew weeks. Staff was so friendly and room was nice and clean. Can't find fault with the place. Entertainment mainly for kids but only 5 mins away from bars on the sea front.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank delste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a fantastic hotel. I have just got back form a 10 night stay here and I cannot fault it, food was excellent with plenty of choice for all tastes, the rooms and hotel were spotless and the view we had was one of the best I have ever had. This hotel is rated 3 star but gave a 4 star+ service.

Room Tip: Go for rooms in the 350's you will find the view stunning.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rachelcambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2015
Google Translation

Cher Client,

Nous vous remercions d´avoir choisi notre hôtel THB Royal pour passer ses vacances e aussi d´avoir pris le temps de poster vos commentaires sur votre expérience.

Je suis ravi de lire que vous avez passé un agréable séjour au sein de notre hôtel et nous serions très contents de vous accueillir à nouveau rapidement.

Sinceres salutations,

Óscar Sepúlveda
Director THB Royal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.3 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.3 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,849 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,464 reviews
0.8 mi away
HL Club Playa Banca
HL Club Playa Banca
#31 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Royal

Address: C/ Janubio s/n | Urb. Costa Papagayo, 35770 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly THB Hotel Sun Royal)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Playa Blanca
#17 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $95 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — THB Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel THB Royal is located in the south of Lanzarote, in the village of Playa Blanca.This quiet fishing village in the municipality of Yaiza has preserved its characteristics apart from tourism development.This large complex consists of two floors and a total of 200 rooms. The hotel offers guests 2 swimming areas with solarium. Nearby are some of the most beautiful tourist attractions in Lanzarote: The Coast of Papagayo, El Golfo… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your THB Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Royal Apartments Hotel Playa Blanca
Sun Royal Apartments Playa Blanca
THB Royal Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing