We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very spacious and comfortable accommodation”
Review of THB Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
THB Royal
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very spacious and comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great accommodation - we had two balconies, spacious bedroom and living room and kitchen complete with coffee maker, toaster etc. Was thrilled to have a bath!! Pools were clean but very cold. Didn't use any of the facilities, apart from buying one coffee which was utterly undrinkable. Staff were all very pleasant. Great supermarket at end of the road which we used frequently.

Room Tip: Room 155 had its own private entrance and was unbelievably quiet - we slept so well. Two balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistyw321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    460
    148
    35
    17
See reviews for
359
446
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Room very out dated , hotel complex very clean and all staff very very helpful and polite , they have a lovely supermarket there which my 4 year old loved to vist as she got given free lollipops off the nice young lady who worked there !!! Food i have to say was one of the best AI packages i have ever had , food all kept at correct temps all fresh, we stayed 2 weeks and never had a repeated dish which is very rare when you do AI , we only ate out twice due as the food was so good plenty of choice of fish, chicken ,beef veal, veg , potatoes salads breads puddings and fresh fruit every day . Joanne the receptionist was a fantastic very knowledgeable young lady , the waiters and all bar staff where great with Dani gooday and eugne being a few names i can remember . Fantastic base hotel to explore the island , we hired a car and travelled all over seeing the sites , would defiantly go back

Room Tip: we had ground floor 504 , near kids pool , so you could sit on patio and watch kids in there pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My partner and i left the Sun Royal with a fond sadnes, the kind you would have for a wounded animal, for i'm sure in it's day it was probably quite a nice place, however to us it was very tired and run down with many things on the maintenace to do list.
Parts of the main complex had more the feel of school or hospital than a holiday resort.
The appartments although quite clean and spacious looked so dated you felt like you were back in the 80's. The garden areas and pools were nice and the sun loungers (many of them broken filthy and covered in bird poop) were plentiful although when we were there first week in June they only had around 20% occupancy so it was easy to find one. Incedently the pool side bar was closed all the time we were there but you could get drinks from the canteen area which was not too close to either pool.
The restaurant was one up from a works canteen with murals that looked like they were painted by a 12 year old who couldnt paint, however the food was ok'ish but the coffee and red wine was the worst ive ever tasted, undrinkable!!
Everybody with children was complaining that there was nothing for the kids to do being that the kids play area (one dodgy slide and a few rope bridges) was taped off as was deemed unsafe.
On our first night there we got talking to a couple, the first thing the husband said to us was 'This place is Sh**e' well he wasnt far wrong to be honest, you only had to see the disappoinment on most peoples face to back this up.
One chap just turned up and said that they were there on their honeymoon, he told us that he's wife had a face like thunder when she had a look around and the look of panic on he's face was apparent.
There wasnt much to do there in the evenings either as the 'entertanment' was very lack luster so we spent most of our time down the beach front or at the marina where there are alot of bars and restaurants and Playa Blanka although pretty quiet overall is very lovely with a couple of beautifall beaches. In the end we got fed up with our resort and its many shortfalls so booked into the fabulous 5* Princesa Yaiza (highly recommended) for the last three nights and just popped back for a few of our all inclusive meals.
On the plus side most of the staff at the Sun 'Royal' were very friendly other than one of them saying to me 'open your eyes' when i asked where the butter was and the receptionist was pretty misserable too.
Cant really recommend this place and will not be going back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very nice receptionist Joanne got our holiday off to good start.Food in dining room good,all waiters very helpfull.Hotel in good location 500mts from Dorada beachsituated middway between resort of Blaya Blanca and Rubicon Marina

Room Tip: Ask for 557 great for sun in afternoons
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brenda374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.3 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,570 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,710 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal Monica Playa Blanca
Royal Monica Playa Blanca
#21 of 37 in Playa Blanca
939 reviews
0.3 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Royal

Property: THB Royal
Address: C/ Janubio s/n | Urb. Costa Papagayo, 35770 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly THB Hotel Sun Royal)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — THB Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel THB Royal is located in the south of Lanzarote, in the village of Playa Blanca.This quiet fishing village in the municipality of Yaiza has preserved its characteristics apart from tourism development.This large complex consists of two floors and a total of 200 rooms. The hotel offers guests 2 swimming areas with solarium. Nearby are some of the most beautiful tourist attractions in Lanzarote: The Coast of Papagayo, El Golfo… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your THB Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Royal Apartments Hotel Playa Blanca
Sun Royal Apartments Playa Blanca
THB Royal Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing