We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time of year essential”
Review of Ona Las Casitas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ona Las Casitas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Time of year essential”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This holiday complex is beautiful, well placed, though a car would help in terms of beaching and getting to the main cosmopolitan areas (such as Puerta Del Carmen). Unfortunately one of its strengths is also a potential weakness. Each apartment is set in its own grounds with barbecue area and spectacular fauna - this, of course, attracts mosquitoes and other Nast bugs. Worth the pain especially if you bring a plug-in repellant. Because the Canaries are an all year round location it is best to go out of season. We have been in Feb and it was fine. We are returning same time in 2013 as we loved it so much. Recommend using car hire from airport or locally, as main brands of hire are almost sound the price.

Room Tip: Go out of season when there are less Mosquitoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anth723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    32
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just returned from a two week stay at Las Casitas and the place is great. We had a one bedroom bungalow and could not fault it. Everything you need is there and you have a well equiped kitchen, lounge with english TV, good sized bedroom and nice facilities on site. This is only a small, quite complex but it has a nice pool and a bar which which has a basic menu. Ronnie and Maureen run the bar and put on entertainment two nights per week and do everything they possibly can to make your stay enjoyable. The complex is five minutes walk from the centre of Playa Blanca and there are many nice bars and restaurants along a lovely sea front.
Most people staying at Las Casitas are timeshare owners who have been here many times and are very good at helping you out if you need to know anything. Playa Blanca is a lovely resort with no Lager Louts and trouble. It is far from cheap to go here but you will have a good time and not be bothered by looky men and timeshare touts. I can certainly recommend Las Casitas and hope to go back there in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WORDSWORTH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Returned last Thursday from a 2 week stay on this resort. We had a brilliant relaxing time in a well equipped and well maintained air-conditioned villa just 30 yards from the pool and 50 yards from the resort bar. Highly recommended if you want to avoid noisy busy places and just chill in the sun. The bar is a good place to relax over a beer or snack, Ronnie & Maureen who run the bar provide a great service, and provide entertainment on a couple of nights a week for those who don't want to go out.

The village is just a couple of minutes walk away with a large number of good restaurants to suit all tastes, mostly well priced (cheaper then UK!), and family friendly. If you want noise then there are bars with live music until late and some night clubs.

Will be going again next yerar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jenkinhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Las Casitas, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed a relaxing holiday with us and we look forward to welcoming you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Spent a week at Las Casitas - all very nice, units (bungalows) are well spaced and have a high degree of privacy. It's very much a low-key type of resort with the entertainment being (a) infrequent and (b) provided by the bar owner . . . doesn't initially sound promising, BUT he was really rather good and sang a wide and varied range of tunes on a couple of nights and also organised a quiz evening. It was very easy to take it or leave it, with no pressure to conform or attend at all.
Shops and amenities were quite literally over the road - near enough to never consider a taxi / car / bus and far away enough tomaintain privacy and peace.

Top tip: The resort has a walkway that runs for approximately 5 miles . . . hire a bike early on and explore / get a feel for the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LarkyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Las Casitas, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. Las Casitas is indeed styled for quiet relaxation and is certainly not a resort with non stop activities and entertainment. Playa Blanca is within easy walking distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just returned from a very relaxing chilled out 2 weeks at Las Casitas. It is a lovely resort with very spacious private villas, the weather was amazing and the location is great. A short walk to the beaches and shops and lots of lovely restaurants. All staff were very friendly and made you feel very welcome. Great time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beckajohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Las Casitas, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and taking the time to make them. We hope to welcome you again sometime soon to a WimPen operated resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Just back from a week's holiday in Playa Blanca, which was really relaxing and enjoyable. I would recommend Las Casitas as a great place to stay. The villa's, though a little old fashioned are well equipped with everything that anyone would need. The gardens are beautiful. There is great warm personal service, both from reception and the lovely couple who own the bar. The pool is wonderful with a lifeguard on duty from morning until night. My children 8.10, and 12 enjoyed every minute. There is lots to do within walking distance. We ate out every night with great variety.
We hired a car and did a few trips including a day trip to the WaterPark in Fuerteventura, visited the National Park, the market in Teguise. It was a wonderful week.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NiamhOCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Las Casitas, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the holiday relaxing. The villas are decorated and furnished in a traditional canarian style which does not mean that the furniture is old in age but more old fashioned rather than modern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross on wye
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We have been visiting Las Casitas since 1996 and it never fails to give us a lovely quiet break.
It is a small complex with around 40 villas, just a short stroll to Playa Blanca, which is located on the South of the island, about a 30 minute drive from the airport.
The villas are a combination of studio, one and two bed units. The villas were built 30 years ago, but Wimpen have a regular maintenace programme so they are in good repair and internal furnishings are constantly updated. The complex has a lovely swimming pool, which is a constant temperature as it is heated, a tennis court and a bar, run by Ronnie and Maureen, which is very hospitable.
Playa Blanca has many restaurants on the sea front, all of whichnserve pretty good food, althougg some in the better locations do tend to charge more.
Lanzarote has a strange location, with lots of extinct (hopefully) volcanoes on the landscape, but there is a very good road system and it is easy to get around.
If you are looking for a nice, quiet break in the winter sun, then I would highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank oaktreeriser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Las Casitas, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to have been providing enjoyable holidays to you since 1996 and hope to continue to do so for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.7 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.4 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,059 reviews
0.7 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ona Las Brisas
Ona Las Brisas
#16 of 37 in Playa Blanca
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ona Las Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ona Las Casitas

Property: Ona Las Casitas
Address: Playa Blanca, Yaiza, Lanzarote CL Fuerteventura 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ona Las Casitas 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ona Las Casitas is a gated community located on the sunny southern tip of the fascinating island of Lanzarote. Built in the traditional Mudejar style with white walls and elegant natural woodwork. They are located along the picturesque fishing village of Playa Blanca. Our villas complex consist of one and two bedrooms. The complex is built around a large heated pool. The interiors are spacious, bright and comfortable, with satellite TV and furniture and high equipment in all environments. Each villa has its own garden and patio complete with barbecue and garden furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Ona Las Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Hotel Playa Blanca
Ona Las Casitas Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing