We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful resort in a wonderful location”
Review of Ona Las Casitas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ona Las Casitas
Certificate of Excellence
Ross on wye
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Peaceful resort in a wonderful location”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We have been visiting Las Casitas since 1996 and it never fails to give us a lovely quiet break.
It is a small complex with around 40 villas, just a short stroll to Playa Blanca, which is located on the South of the island, about a 30 minute drive from the airport.
The villas are a combination of studio, one and two bed units. The villas were built 30 years ago, but Wimpen have a regular maintenace programme so they are in good repair and internal furnishings are constantly updated. The complex has a lovely swimming pool, which is a constant temperature as it is heated, a tennis court and a bar, run by Ronnie and Maureen, which is very hospitable.
Playa Blanca has many restaurants on the sea front, all of whichnserve pretty good food, althougg some in the better locations do tend to charge more.
Lanzarote has a strange location, with lots of extinct (hopefully) volcanoes on the landscape, but there is a very good road system and it is easy to get around.
If you are looking for a nice, quiet break in the winter sun, then I would highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank oaktreeriser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Las Casitas, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to have been providing enjoyable holidays to you since 1996 and hope to continue to do so for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    34
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We've now stayed here the past 6 times we've visited Playa Blanca. It is situated near the port and has around 30-40 villas on the complex which has well maintainted grounds. The villas are clean, albeit a bit dated in the furnishings it is lovely. The owners are really nice and accommodating and the entertainment on at the bar in the evenings are not to be missed especially the quiz's! :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Las Casitas, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you have returned to us many times over the years. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Las casitas is a privately owned time share complex, you can book your holiday through wimpen holiday lets, they also own next door which is called las brisas, this place is wonderful, it is 4-5*, if you have a single problem, you nip to reception and its sorted, example, this year the tree over the varanda was over growing a little, i told reception and it was trimmed back within the hour, the kettle was rusty(its the bottled water that does it) i took it to reception, new kettle handed to me. this place has a bar, the prices are reasonable, but you can nip to the supermarket, or to a local bar, if you want to, the pool area is beautiful and the pool is heated to 28 nomatter what time of year. if you want a quitet holiday this is the place to stay, however i do warn that the bar manager does 2 entertainment nights for just over an hour and he is LOUD. but all good fun.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vinnies-Mummy-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Las Casitas, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoy Las Casitas year on year. Little vinnie certainly looks like he is relaxed in his float.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge,West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Just returned from a week at Las Casitas.Stayed in a villa type premises which had a sitting room and 1 x bedroom with twin beds.There was a separate terrace which was nice on the evening to eat a meal.Las Casitas is smaller than the neighbouring Las Brisas but both offer the same type of accomodation.Some villas are in nicer positions,some overlook the road,some close to the bar.Unfortunately trying to find out this before you go is difficult.Yes they have a website but it is not in great detail.The only communication is via e -mail and then the responses are not broad or in any detail.The lack of technology/common sense is further noticed when checking in.The reception is manned by 2 ladies what we saw on different occasions.Both were miserable and were not accomodating at all.There was no friendly chat or advice and everything seemed to be an effort.We were new visitors to Las Casitas and what if we had been interested in buying a timeshare.When checking in we left a deposit for the safety deposit box and were given a hand written receipt.We had to leave a deposit for the towels and yes we got a handwritten receipt.Credit card details were written accross these receipts also.We were told this would be kept in a safe.It wasn't as when we checked out it was taken from a folder which was on the desk.The lack of use of computers was emphaised on placing the booking by sending credit card details via e-mail and not a secure site.Come on Las Casitas move with the times and give customers the customer service they want and efficiently.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Las Casitas, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Guest. Thank you for your comments and that overall you enjoyed the villa and your stay with us. May we take this opportunity to correct some of the observations that you have made with regards to WimPen Leisure Management - the company that operate Las Casitas. Their website is fully comprehensive for all 7 resorts which they manage and is interactive for rentals, maintenance fees and resales. Our responses include the information that is needed and are plain speaking without the need for waffle. A guest may contact us at any time if they have any queries and we even provide a UK call rate number for your convenience . We offer various payment methods including bank transfers, cheques and credit cards. The rental Terms & Conditions clearly list these options and at no time is it suggested that you have to pay via email. If this is how you chose to supply your details then this is entirely your decision. With regards to the resort manager and head receptionist, there is a fine line between professional distance and over familiarity and on occasion some guests are unable to recognise this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We sought a week in the sun in a nice villa, by a pool within walking distance of the beach; this site offers all of that along with a bar area providing snacks / meals all well priced and a good selection of chilled beers and wines. Reception and bar staff all speak English so you don't need to worry in the language regard. Beaches nearby offer golden sand and a great selection of restuarants on the sea front (as well as the 'themed' dining for the less discerning diners).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WoodsySouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Ona Las Casitas, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Guest. Thank you for your comments and we are pleased Las Casitas provided the type of holiday you hoped for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

I have been going to las casitas since 1985 and the same atmosphere is enjoyed time after time. Yes playa blanca has changed but this resort will always be a friendly welcoming place. Do not book here if you want a busy 'package holiday' style holiday with resort actinides - swimming and tennis is the offer, this isn't a dig as it's perfect for us. Nice bungalows with little gardens and BBQ. If you are after a quiet relaxing break in the canaries this will suit all ages.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank steveandlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Las Casitas is a lovely quiet small resort on the edge of the town; easy walking distance to Dorada beach. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. Las Casitas itself is wonderful, I couldn't find anything to complain about. The attention to detail was great. When we arrived at our "villa"- I would call it a bungalow, there was bottled water in the fridge ready for you, a bottle of wine, washing up liquid and dishcloths, fly spray, toiletries in the bathroom etc. The staff were just lovely and helpful; and ,Maureen and Ronnie who have the pool bar are fantastic; they put on the entertainment 3 nights a week and the bar meals and snacks were good value for money.Cleanliness was tip top everywhere. Good chinese restaurant on the front. Chinese from the world, its called; gtreat meal, value for money and lovely staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hazel040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.7 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,792 reviews
0.7 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ona Las Brisas
Ona Las Brisas
#16 of 37 in Playa Blanca
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ona Las Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ona Las Casitas

Property: Ona Las Casitas
Address: Playa Blanca, Yaiza, Lanzarote CL Fuerteventura 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ona Las Casitas 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ona Las Casitas is a gated community located on the sunny southern tip of the fascinating island of Lanzarote. Built in the traditional Mudejar style with white walls and elegant natural woodwork. They are located along the picturesque fishing village of Playa Blanca. Our villas complex consist of one and two bedrooms. The complex is built around a large heated pool. The interiors are spacious, bright and comfortable, with satellite TV and furniture and high equipment in all environments. Each villa has its own garden and patio complete with barbecue and garden furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ona Las Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Hotel Playa Blanca
Ona Las Casitas Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing