We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Three Star Hotel”
Review of Royal Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Monica
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We have just returned from ten nights at the Royal Monica, I have to agree with other reviews, firstly you do get what you pay for, and if you don't expect 5 * then you will not be disappointed.

The hotel staff work really hard to ensure you are catered for, I had reason to complain one early evening about a group of shall we say our "European friends" sat on their balacony making a lot noise and getting drunk, the hotel staff sorted this out immediately with security and calm was re instated.

We had a one bedroom suite which was quite large and a very large balcony, the fans in each room were adequate. Did pay for aircon but it leaked, the Hotel said they could fix it, we decided not to bother, the Hotel refunded our money no problem or hassle.

Can't really comment on the evening entertainment as our daughter is 15 and is now too old for some of the entrtaiment, so we did not bother attending the pool bar. However the other bar was more than adequate and the drinks were ok. The beer and wine are on tap (Amstel Beer) I had a couple of cocktails and they all tasted fine to me.

As with any all inclusive, the meals can get repetitive as your stay goes on, however if you take extra Euros there are some nice restaurants in Playa Blanca. We went out a few times but if we ate at the Hotel we mostly found something to eat, even though it may not have been to our taste. Always salad on the menu and pasta/pizza. As for the outside seating area it is designated as a smoking area so if you want to eat outside you have to put up with that, there are a number of signs advising of this.

The Hotel also has a number of cats (all related - never seen so many black cats, all well fed and they do not bother you or beg for food). When I say a number its no more than about six or seven and being a cat lover they can be quite comical at times.

This is the first hotel we have been to where you do not have to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve a sunbed, yes you will need to have your bed reserved no later than 9:30 - 10am some days (an absolute joy for me - got a lie in!!) If you want a sunbed in the beach alcoves then you do have to reserve early. The lifeguard some mornings did take towels off beds if they had been left unattended after an hour and other people were looking for beds, rightly so in my opinion. You can also hire beach towels from the Hotel, wish I had known this before and would not have bothered packing ours.

As other posts have said the Hotel is favoured by Germans and French, some are very rude and others just keep themselves to themselves. You do seem to get stared at if you dress smartly for dinner, but who cares, just let them carry on, quite amusing at times.

The walk to Playa Blanca on the promenade is not an easy one and certainly not all flat, it will take you a good 50 mins at a steady pace, for us this was the only downside to the Hotel, it is set in a really quiet area but nothing much aroud it other than villas, there is a supermarket and a couple of bars just down the main road from the Hotel but not much more. A taxi is a must and will cost around 5 Euro's each way into Playa Blanca.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and for a three star the Monica is good value for money, we have stayed in some 3* that are no way near Monica's standard.

You can't always have everything but as it's on a sea front promenade then the location is the compromise. If you want peace and quiet then you will certainly get it here.

I would stay again at the Monica as Playa Blanca is a nice resort and it is good value for money, just a shame about the location in my opinion.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a sea view - it looks out across to Fuerteventura
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank kaznet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2014

The hotel itself was lovely. We knew it was a fair distance from Playa Blanca so booked car hire when booking the holiday with lowcost holidays. Well worth it. Our room was sea view facing but near the games area and bar. Not ideal at night when you have sceaming kids outside your window. We asked to be moved but was told no spare rooms. Bought cotton wool for ear plugs and no further issues.

For us the food was good. You need to have a lttle imagination and try different things. We were there only 1x week so like most places, it will get repetitive. I suppose working in Madonalds would after a day!! Some of the other nationalities could be described as rude. You had to laugh though as to some its a cultural thing. We just laughed or pulled faces. Some expressed a look of utter disgust when you stopped to allow them access. Maybe they had had a bad night in the bedroom!!

The major dowside for us was it was too warm to sit inside for food so we sat outside.........smoke, smoke smoke, every meal. Kids were about as were babies. I found this really off putting. The hotel would benenfit from a designated smokers area as we heard lots of brits commneting about it.

Rooms were clean and spacious. Always had warm water. Be midful to put dirty towels in bath otherwise they wont get changed.

The staff, we found were really friendly and not imposing or expecting of anything. We gave a few staff some small tips due to excellent service and hard working especially in the food hall and clearing away.

The pool area was a no go area for us. Some sunbeds were reserved 2 weeks prior to arrival!!!!! Lots of children pushing each other in pool. Accident waiting to happen though pool guy was ace and not afraid to sort folk out.

Over all the hotel was good. Its not 5 star but we did not pay 5 star prices. The weather was fantastic and the alcohol was great though we did not hammer it.

Thanks Royal Monica.

Room Tip: Get a sea view and not neear the bar!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thewisemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

The Royal Monica is now a little tired and weary and could do with a little TLC.

This is evident from the initial exterior view, the appointment of the rooms and the condition of the pools.

All recent reviews I have read have been accurate, however perhaps they don't really reflect this is a Hotel firmly ensconced in the 3 star category.

Yes the Animation team tried their best and were enthusiastic but they appeared a bit rudderless and were let down badly by a terrible sound system .. The varied daytime music was often very off the wall!

The canteen buffet operation rightly catered for the European market however all to frequently dishes ran out and your meal depended on the luck of timing.

The waiting staff were uber efficient and friendly. They would clear your table the moment you put down your knifes and forks which on occasions could be a tad annoying.

The two bars had a very different atmosphere. The pool bar was relaxed and generally service was very good however the alcohol served was of a poor quality. This bar got very full for the nightly shows (which were of varied quality) and table availability was of a premium.
The bar by the canteen ( I'm struggling to call it a restaurant) is like a German social club. Lots of families playing Uno and cards around very harshly lit tables.
The all inclusive only runs till 2300hrs and charges are made to your room after this time .. Alcohol seemed to be 2 euros and soft drinks 1 euro.

The swimming pools were cold as previously reviewed and there weren't enough sunbeds which was a huge problem. This resulted in a culture of 7am towel setting which was addressed at the end of our stay by the Hotel placing signs everywhere threatening confiscation of towels left unattended for an hour. The pool guards were also a problem and many families complained about the frequency of their whistling - no balls in the "swimming" pool, no diving or jumping in, no dads having kids on shoulders, no fun allowed ..

The Spa and gym were of poor quality and appeared to be unused by guests .. Despite a marketing push by tannoy on one occasion.

The rooms were in need of investment with cracked granite, the odd bit of mildew and ant colonies. The aircon unit is only in the bedroom with ceiling fans in this room and the living room .. I'd see how you get on first before paying for the aircon.
No kettle or fridge is also a bit of a pain in the butt and I missed my morning coffee on my balcony.
Sea views are guaranteed but in reality most rooms only have a snatch unless you are lucky enough to get one of the two front blocks.

The location isn't great and this is the furthest hotel along the coast from the centre of Playa Blanca and the decent beaches. Taxis were 5 euros however there was often a considerable wait for one which could take a family of 5.

All in all not hideous but you definitely get what you pay for ..

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Beautiful resort with friendly staff. As this was my first all inclusive it took a while to get used to the hectic pace of buffet style meal service. They may want to do something about people "reserving" sunbeds the night before by placing towels then showing up at noon... Other than that, the food was good, rooms and grounds were clean, the cats well fed (there is a feeding station with cat food), and the location is quiet. As others have mentioned a car is needed for nightlife, but rental at the airport is reasonable and the roads are good. Not particularly vegetarian friendly unless you consider fish to be acceptable. No air conditioning. Great place if you speak or want to learn German or French.

Room Tip: Sea view was worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank scubaDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just returned from a week at the hotel Royal Monica and cannot believe how good it was the hotel was like a little village! The all inclusive was self serve and the food was lovely! A few nights they had different themes there was a group of 14 of us and it catered for every one of us! The walk to Playa Blanca was nice to. One day we stayed in the hotel which we don't usually do as we are a very active family. But we found something to do for everyone for all of that day we played tennis, beach ball, boccia, played in the swimming pool and went in to the sea! The staff were brilliant, extremely friendly nothing was too much trouble and they always made a fuss of the kids! Rooms were cleaned every day to a very high standard. The management were very friendly and the restaurant staff were also great again they made a real fuss of the children. We watched the entertainment to and the kids loved the mini disco! The entertainment for adults was good too! It was a really great hotel! Truly brilliant and genuine hotel!!

Room Tip: We were given a suite which was a really good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Went here 13/07 for 9 days ,weather great ! Rented car from auto raisin at airport (prebooked)€110 for 9 days )40 min drive to hotel
We found the management and staff at this hotel fantastic!
Always smiling ,nothing too much trouble ,for this they get five stars!
The rooms good size ,cleaned most days ,clean pools (a bit cold ,you get used too it after a minute)
It is quite a long way way from playa blanca 40 min walk till first shop/restaurant 60 min walk till middle of playa blanca resort 100+ shops restaurants supermarkets etc
There is a small parade of shops 5 min walk away from hotel ,1supermarket 4 restaurants towards the lighthouse .
We ate at the Spanish place one night would recommend !
they do have a gift shop on hotel site not bad value for money (unusual for a site shop!)
animation staff work very hard only 3 of them 1 girl 2 guys work 10 til 11 try very hard ,kids disco 830-930
Then a show 930-1030 for all ,all shows we saw had no talking to please the multicultural audience (GERMANS 99%)(english0.5%) others(0.5%)
The food is ok 6.5 out of 10 ,they do some good dishes but not many
I love beer but for some reason couldn't get on with this beer (supposedly Amstel) pretty sure it's watered down,didn't taste right (this was the worst part of hols for me 1star)
bought a few cans to drink and went local pubs (cruzcampos good)
Vodkas horrid tastes like aniseed
Wine5/10
Kids liked Pepsi /soft drinks
Coffees/lattes very good
Great beach at papagayo ,good snorkelling right outside hotel ,rent a speedboat at playa blanca marina €40 for a hour ,kids loved it
We found the market at marina rubicon a bit pricey aimed at tourists you could get better prices at most shops ,but worth going,
(Also don't buy at the electronics shops in the main resorts ,these are comparable to pikey con men! You have been warned) have a good holiday !

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our first opinion of the hotel upon arrival was initially good as the reception was clean with a modern look.
The following day we accidentally left both keys in the room so had to ask reception for a new set, the receptionist pulled us an extremely unfriendly look and continued to speak to us as though we were below her.
The third day we paid a deposit for the room air con, which when we got back to our room, didnt work!
The patio doors we had only one of the sliding doors locked the other could be pulled open and our bathroom window made a very irritating whistle when the winds were blowing.
The food was repetitive and not very pleasant, even though we were all inclusive we ate out for the remainder of our 12 day holiday ( ate in twice).

On a brighter note, Hassan the bar man was great, always helpful and cheery! The animation team were also a good touch!.

The holiday itself was good because we made it good but I wouldnt return to this venue.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Olivia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
2.5 mi away
THB Royal
THB Royal
#18 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,122 reviews
0.6 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Natura Palace & SPA
1.8 mi away
HL Club Playa Banca
HL Club Playa Banca
#31 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4,020 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lanzasur Club
Lanzasur Club
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,763 reviews
2.3 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Monica

Address: Calle 1, 35500 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Club Calimera Royal Monica Playa Blanca)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Monica 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Calimera Royal Monica Playa Blanca Hotel Playa Blanca
Royal Monica Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing