We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sunny break”
Review of Pueblo Marinero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pueblo Marinero
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Nov. - Dec. 2013 Two week in apartment 118; probably the best situated room we have ever had; ground floor with grass area outside, sea view and five meters from the pool. We booked a single bedroom 'Premier' apartment which had lots of space but with a bathroom that needed totally refurbishing – tired and slightly musty smelling, the bathroom towels were inadequate, tired and worn – take your own. Although we hadn't intended doing much cooking, the kitchen was a joke; two ring cooker which looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months, a toaster, microwave and coffee machine – but only one socket. Thomson advertise a 'Nespresso' coffee machine in 'Premier' apartments, for which we took our favorite capsules, only to find a 'Tassimo' unit; after complaining, this was changed after a week.

We were pleased with the apartment, but we heard people complain that some of the 'Premier' apartments had limited sea views and overlooked the street of the vacant slot on the western side. Also apartments 1 thru' 38, in the rearmost blocks were dark with limited sunshine and could be damp. The “HD Hotels and Resorts” web site offers a chance to book a particular room, not sure if you can use this if you've booked thru' Thomson.

Maid service five times week was perfunctory - a quick mop of the floors but minimal cleaning the toilet, sinks, bath and shower. No waste bin except in the kitchen, so difficult to recycle bottles etc.

Limited TV channels, although the bar had multiple sports channels, and wi-fi, advertised as 'public areas only'. We found the wi-fi worked, sometimes, in both the public areas and our room.

Breakfast as adequate but we did wonder how they differentiated between guest on 'self-catering' and 'bed and breakfast' basis. The bar was fine and the food good but the kitchen seemed to close about 7 and the bar at 9. Not much was done to publicise the resource and as a consequence was poorly used.

The Thomson brochure for 2014 shows different types of apartments available, including a 5 bedroom apartment, in an adult-only complex, this seems a bit strange.

All in all, the location, by the marina and only a leisurely stroll along the sea front walk into a town, is superb; provided you are not in an apartment bordering the street, very quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BisleyBullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
There are newer reviews for Pueblo Marinero
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 809 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

What a tremendous place, especially after the refurbishment.
Obviously gets 12/10 for location, right at the beginning of the Marina Rubicon [less than 1km to far end] and very convenient for 2 super markets. Fresh bread available from reception on order
1 km from Playa Dorado which has the best swimming 'pool' on the island, 2 km to the Fuertaventura ferry.
The staff are friendly and helpful, the bar and pool area nicely upgraded, thoroughly cleaned every day, and bar staff excellent. Food and drinks reasonably priced. the bruschetta makes a perfect snack.
Access is particularly good for anyone with reduced mobility, unlike many other hotels in the area who seem to regard 'provision of disabled facilities' as merely a box to tick and pay less than token attention to the issue.
Apartments are large, beds comfortable, cooking facilities limited - but that suits me, only want breakfast really and a fridge anyway. iPod dock handy, TV only get news channels but I'm on holiday! If anyone needs a sport fix the bars in the main resort and at Playa Dorado have endless repetition of endless football
Pako - well - Pako is simply Pako - ceaseless energy and enthusiasm and entertaining.

Downside, idiots desperate to bag a spot by the pool, even to the point of preventing the staff preparing the area. Embarrassingly - all brits when we were there

Back in March, that'll be for the third time, and can't wait.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

All of the public areas in this hotel have been renovated with a chic, modern twist. It's lovely. The staff are really friendly and you couldn't fault them. The location is perfect too, near the marina which is more upmarket than the rest of Playa Blanca so a really nice location to be in. The only negative would be the rooms, although huge, clean and nothing faulty - the decor is still from the 70s. So I would give excellent for the public areas and staff, but the rooms are really average.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a two story 2 bed apartment, really quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRIPPIN'OVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is our second year here and the hotel is now adults only. The pool, bar and reception are much nicer and more modern. The pool and bar area were fantastic, the beds around the pool were so comfy I slept for the first 2 days. The pool bar is not too expensive and the service is execellent. Thanks to Edguardo and Marco who do a fantastic job, the mojitos were gorgeous, the best I've had. We hadn't upgraded, however were pleasantly suprised to get a 2 floor 2 bedroom apartment and th space made a world of difference as we werent cramped at all. The room were spotless and were more than adequate for our needs. My only small comaplint is that the towels seemed very old and the shower/bath had a slightly fusty smell. The location is fantastic and the sunset is well worth viewing from here. You are literally on the doorstep of the marina and then a 15 minute stroll in to the main area of Playa Blanca, and the walk is lovely especially when the sun is setting. We had an excellent, relaxed holiday and will definitely return next year at the same time. Paco did a great job around the pool, although I was more into reading than anything else.
All in all a great holiday, I would recommend this and will hopefully return.

Room Tip: If you do upgrade the upper sea view rooms have a wonderful view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CLCManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

October 2013 - The restaurant in the hotel was closed all week. I went to the bar one afternoon for a snack and was told the chef had left for the day. The bar didn't open until 10am so couldn't even get a cup of coffee before 10am (the bars cafes in the whole area don't open until 10am earliest) Only 1 evening was there any entertainment that hardly anybody attended as the bar area had no atmosphere. Only English channel on TV anywhere in hotel was BBC World News, no Sky sports. We booked thru Thomson Holidays and paid for upgrade to Premier Room - what a waste of money that was - room very basic, we were supposed to get bathrobes, slippers, coffee machine, both pair of slippers were the same size about a men's size 9 so I couldn't wear them far too big, my bathrobe was about a size 8 far too small so couldn't wear that, the coffee machine you had to BUY special pods from reception. If you wanted an iron you had to pay 12 euros, if you wanted DVD player it was 26 Euros. I will never ever book a package deal with Thomson Holidays again totally overpriced holiday

Room Tip: don't bother if Premier Rooms are anything to go by
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We visited just last week and were delighted with our apartment. Spacious, clean, and well situated. The pool areas were well designed with a view to die for. Loads of space no over crowding and no one crass enough to reserve beds with towels. The activites organised by PACO were wonderful, everything from french boules to more energetic tennis. All the staff were friendly and spoke excellent english. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms all well appointed and easily accessed from reception
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just returned after 2 weeks.We couldn't have asked for more.A one bed apartment, very spacious and comfortable.A small kitchen area with microwave,2 hobs, toaster & kettle.
The complex was well maintained and had a lovely relaxing feel.
NO KIDS! great.
Pako,the animations king, arranged water polo & water volleyball which became most competitive with most of us 'older' ones having to cheat against the younger players to have any chance.All taken in very good spirit making some good friends. John, Ruth,Peter & Wife + the two .'girls' from Edinburgh who enjoyed a drink ( or two ) ha ha!
Brilliant location right on the marina.
Great Italian guys running the poolside bar.
If you are stressed out,come here!

Room Tip: We had a one bed apartment on first floor, one row back from the pool.Very peaceful.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJ49BridgnorthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.5 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,824 reviews
0.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
21.9 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Marinero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Marinero

Address: Calle del Berrugo, 1, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#14 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $101 - $919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Marinero 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pueblo Marinero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Marinero Playa Blanca
Pueblo Marinero Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing