We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing fortnight”
Review of Pueblo Marinero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pueblo Marinero
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Arrived here for 2 weeks and was pleasantly surprised at how relaxing it was. Rooms were more than adequate for the rating, our only wish would have been to have double beds rather than twin and better quality pillows ( but then no bed is as good as your own !! )
Plenty of room around the pool, and the second pool offering a complete chillout area without any pool games going on.
Staff were great, very friendly. Local restaurants ok but a short walk along the promenade offered a much better variety.
All in all a great holiday that we would definitely return to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

709 - 715 of 918 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two weeks, on a self-catering basis, and found much to commend it -

a. All the staff we encountered, from Receptionists to room cleaners, were friendly and did everything they could to be helpful. On arrival, rather travel weary, we particularly appreciated having someone carry our cases, and show us to our room.

b. The hotel's location couldn't have been better - not far from good restaurants, shops, the marina and a promenade along the shore.

c. Our one bedroom, premier apartment was in good decorative order and just three or four steps from the swimming pool.

On the other, less good, side, we were disappointed -

1. To find that hotel management were not proactive in maintaining their property. When we arrived, one of the bathroom taps was loose, several interior and exterior lights required new bulbs, and there was only one plug in the cooking area to provide electricity for a toaster, microwave oven, kettle and coffee maker. All these items were quickly rectified when drawn to the hotel's attention. I should have thought, however, that at room changeover time, a simple inspection could have identified, and dealt with these matters.

2. The pool's unavailability for swimming until 10.00 a.m., allegedly because a " Life-guard " did not come on duty until that time. Interesting, then, that during our two week stay, we never once saw any sign of such a staff member.

3. We were astonished to find that WIFI access was only available in Reception, and an area adjacent to it. It is surely not unreasonable, in this twenty-first Century, to expect that, in an hotel of this standard, WIFI should be more widely available throughout the entire hotel.

4. Noise. The downside to our room's convenience to the pool was its proximity to the bar. Staff there seemed to feel that playing a looped tape of 60s / 70s music was obligatory : we now know the words of Johny Cash's " I'll walk the line " off by heart ! When this was raised with hotel staff, we were informed that " The British like noise ". On some evenings, sleep became impossible until the bar closed. On a Karaoke night, a pathetically out-of-tune rendition of every maudlin drunk's favourite : " My Way " was of no assistance as a lullaby. We found it ironic that an " Enjoynokids " Spanish hotel [ a key factor in our choice of hotel ] should be unaware that noise from other sources could also annoy some of its guests [ we were not the only ones ] !

Having said all that, we had a great holiday, with superb weather, lots of much needed chill-out time and the possibility of tours to interesting places. Sadly, for us, however, the " negative " aspects outweighed the positive : in particular, until the " noise " issue is addressed [ e.g. by re-positioning the bar's loud-speakers ? ], we are unlikely to book a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdhotels01, Director General at Pueblo Marinero, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Geoff M,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Other potential guests may find it very useful.

I am glad that our staff were helpful at your arrival and that you liked our room and the hotel´s locaction.

Sorry for the maintenance details found in the room, I will work on the inspections. As for the life guard we do have one everyday. He takes care of the safety of all the pools as well as other aspects of hygiene and pool keeping. He wears a red shirt and his substitute a white shirt.

Regarding the WIFI, we do have it free of charge by the pool area and in reception, just as specified in any description of our hotel. We do have an option for those willing to have it in the room. The price is 25 € per week.

I take note of suggestions about the bar and the variety of the music.

Should you decide to return to our hotel I would personally take care about the re-positioning of the bar´s loud-speakers.

Kind regards,
Fernando Benítez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Starting with the good points. Location is good, just by the marina and a short walk into town. The pool area is modern with some good sun beds and a good pool for swimming. No children means a quiet ambience. On the negative side, the rooms were shabby, stained upholstery, threadbare curtains, minimal kitchen equipment, mould in shower and partially blocked shower head. Serious upgrading needed.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank yorkshireterrier18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

What a great place and location. Bar staff excellent, Edguardo is a star and should be on the stage, entertainment staff fantastic, Pako and Marco thank you. Yes the rooms are tired, the pool tiles can be a bit dodgey and the food could be improved. The resort is adult only (even if Paddy didn't act it lol) and they are working on improving the general hotel. There are only two nights of enterainment during the week, I feel there should be more, with longer bar hours. It's clear to see a lot of money has been spent on the pool sun loungers and surroundings. It's clean, friendly and so handy to other bars and restaurants.
We booked with Alpharooms, and everything went smoothly. For some reason can't seem to find this hotel with Alpharooms for next year though. Pity it was a good deal.
We stayed in a two bedroom appartment (Way too big, but ideal if you wanted to take in lodgers) and only thing we missed was air-con. Be good if the hotel took this on board to address. Hope they do.
Also have to mention some of the diverse and funny characters we met while there. Tall Paddy was a demon in the pool, and wife Helen was boules champ! Small Paddy was a great late night swimmer (allegedly), Vicky was impressed, Andy & his wife, so kind and entertaining in the karaoke, Mark and the Thesbians (thats actors right?), Michael from the NE was a darts bandit, Ken and his whole family who also took part in the pool games, Geoff and Val (stars), Rachel & Andy, Paul & Ruth, our neighbours Dave (with the meanest haka this side of Wellington) & Ang. There was another great couple that we spoke to almost every evening, I wish I had got thier names, but they played scrabble every lunchtime by the pool and would recommend the cocktails. I know ive missed some people, sorry, but have to say the activity and bar staff all get involved and encourage people to mix.
Appologies if the combined activities caused noise, but what a friendly place, and very sociable. It's a well kept secret that can only get better and better. So many things combined to make a good holiday great. A special thank you Charlie & Susan for letting us use your room to shower and change on departure day, big thanks due to full occupancy.
All in all I would highly recommmend it here. So the rooms are basic but all you do is sleep there. If your the sort of person that goes on holidays to sit in the room for two weeks, I'd go elsewhere, but if you want fun, great restaurants and bars close by but not too close, and a chance to be entertained and meet a great crowd of people then look no further.
(We've already booked for next year)

Room Tip: The premier rooms are right by the pool and seem lovely, but we stayed in the apartments next row ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hogheadni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We (two) had a 2 bedroomed apartment which had everything we needed for a self catering holiday. The beds were comfortable and there was loads of wardrobe space. The rooms were cleaned almost daily, as were the outside areas. The bathroom was well appointed and had an excellent shower. It is well located close to the marina and a pleasant 20 minute stroll along the front takes you to the old town of Playa Blanca. There is a good choice of local restaurants and well stocked supermarkets which allowed us to make our own, interesting, breakfasts. The hotel breakfast at 11€ per person seemed pricy.
This tip is NOT related to the hotel. If you hire a car, avoid the Thompson deal. We got like for like quotes for 7 day hire of a Group B car, e.g. Corsa or Polo. Thompson quoted 218€; PlusCars quoted 170€ and Cabrera Medina 120€.
All in all a very good holiday

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeGee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

After lots of research we picked this hotel for location and price and were not disappointed. Another bonus was 'no children' which was great around the pool - no screaming kids!!

Transfer from the airport is around 40 mins and the journey was ok in a nice air-con bus (with Thomson). Check in was efficient, we had to wait 30 mins for our room which was no problem - there was a room to lock your luggage in and then we were helped to our room by a member of staff. The gentlemen (with glasses) working on reception in the evening was very friendly and helpful!

Room - as you can see from reading other reviews, the rooms are pretty dated (although I believe rooms are slowly being renovated). The cleaning was adequate, I wouldn't say it was great but then it depends on your standards! The bed was actually quite comfortable and I slept like a baby every night! Shower was good too which you don't always find in hotels. Our toaster didn't work properly and we told reception and a new one was delivered straight away. We also requested additional pillows and again this was sorted very quickly. Kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. Ladies, take your own hairdryer as the one in our room was useless!!!!!

Pool - great pool area! It was all new, with great double sun loungers! We never had any problems getting a sun lounger even when we turned up to the pool in the afternoon. Marco was a lovely guy and got everyone involved in various activities, water polo/volleyball, bowls, table tennis, darts. The sun loungers were cleaned extremely throughly, which was nice to see!! Friendly and relaxed atmosphere around the pool.

Food - we went self-catering so can't comment on the food as we didn't eat at the hotel at all. There was no need to either as there are plenty of lovely restaurants only a stones throw away. Tip for the restaurants - they all seem to give you a bread roll (which you do not order) and then charge you for it! Can be anything from 1-3 euros per roll so if you don't want it, tell the waiter!

Location - great central location just a 2 min walk from the mariner. Lots of lovely restaurants and bars! Only a 20 min walk to the main Playa Blanca area with more restaurants and bars! The beach is a 10 min walk and it's 9 euros for two sun loungers and an umbrella!

We had a great holiday staying in this hotel and highly recommend it! If you are looking for a relaxing time, fun atmosphere and plenty of sun then this is the hotel for you! If you are looking for a 5 star hotel with 5 star quality then I would probably look elsewhere....

Happy holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

First time in Lanzarote and chose Pueblo Marinero due to its location and adult only guests. Its location is superb right on the path that passes straight along Playa Blanca, it is opposite the Marina and a selection of lovely restaurants. You are within easy walking distance to the livelier main town of Playa Blanca about 10 -20 minutes stroll or about 5 minutes from the marina. There is a supermarket directly opposite the hotel and if you arrive late as we did, the small bar opposite is open to get a sandwich and a drink. As to the hotel we arrived late (11.30pm) due to a delay and basically everything was shut, the receptionist did direct us to the bar opposite and gave us some bottled water. The apartment was on the ground floor opposite reception, the bar and the pool. You couldn’t fault the room position as being central. The pool was lovely, good size, nice modern beds. Yes there were enough however there was the usual problem of people getting their beds in the morning and going off to the market for a walk and reserving their beds.
Marco was superb; he was a real gem, not pushy and left you alone if you did not want to take part. He was willing to organise an activity you may be interested in. The pool entertainment was popular to watch and it did gel people together. Marco was friendly and chatty with all the guests making an effort to come and say hello. The bar was not open late enough as it was shut most nights by 10pm. On the 2 nights there was entertainment when it was open until midnight it was full, a drink until 12 is not unreasonable. We heard no noise and were opposite the bar, this would really aid the hotel and give it more business especially as it is adult only hotel. Staff at the pool bar, were lovely and very helpful. Staff at reception were helpful, although not over friendly, however the male receptionist who seemed to do the evening shift was the exception to this.
Rooms are adequate, air con not working on arrival and the electrics very questionable, we would not use some of the plug sockets. When we mentioned this it was fixed within hours of complaining. Our toaster blew our electrics twice and this was changed for a new one. Once Air con worked it was OK, you could feel it and you needed it. Kitchen equipment adequate, a tin opener would be useful. Apartment itself was a really good size, twin beds, bathroom huge, large living area with a nice size TV, I pod dock and 18 euros a week for the safe. Cleanliness was not really a problem 2 days a week the rooms were not cleaned and our sheets were changed although not daily.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4,027 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,936 reviews
0.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#27 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Marinero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Marinero

Address: Calle del Berrugo, 1, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $105 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Marinero 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults Only - Hotel with 81 rooms with kitchen facilities. Available 1 & 2 bedrooms. Located first line next to Marina Rubicon and close to Playa Dorada Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pueblo Marinero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Marinero Playa Blanca
Pueblo Marinero Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing