We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Club Playa Blanca
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but not 4 star”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel is only worth 3stars and not 4 as stated, when we arrived we were told that our room was not ready and to go and wait for 30 minutes and go back to see if it was cleaned, not the best start to a 2 week holiday, but hey ho, we were eventually given our key card and found our way to a reasonable room, spacious and clean if a little needing of modernising, the beds however were appalling, 1 of them was a mattress laid on top of some hardboard, which moved every time you turned over and upon checking, the mattress overhung either side of the base it was resting on by about 6 inches, the other was ready to collapse at any time as the legs all bent in towards the centre of the bed and made a terrible clunking noise every time you moved, needless to say, a good nights sleep was not had by either of us. The bathroom was big enough with 2 sinks and a decent shower over the bath, however the neighbouring room must have shared the same wall for their bathroom and you could here everything that went on in that bathroom, aswell as the toilet activity, we could only assume that they could also here us, definitely needs some soundproofing!!!. The pool area is in need of a refit, lots of tiles missing and loose ones are more abundant than you should be allowed, very dangerous in wet weather, which we had our fair share of.Now for the good points, the staff were exceptional in the bars and at the pool bar, restaurant staff were very efficient and courteous all the time,the food was very good, i would say that it was one of the nicest all inclusive food choices we have tried, not a massive selection of dishes but more than enough if you are willing to be broad minded and try something you normally wouldn't, i don't eat any seafood at all and still ate very well the whole fortnight i was there, lots of choice in dessert section aswell, the wine was not the best we have had, but certainly not the worst. Overall i think if this hotel was to get a revamp for the things mentioned, i could see it being a lovely hotel and i would go back,even if it doesn't.The staff are what make this hotel worth going for, all very polite and try to do as much as possible to make your stay as nice as possible.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pam582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLCPB, Manager at Hotel Club Playa Blanca, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for having taken your time to write about us!

We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday overall with us. We would like to thank you for your constructive critisism and and will look into your points for improvements! We are aware that our Checkin time of 2 pm can sometimes lead to a waiting time for guests arriving early. We do our best to have the rooms ready as early as possible but we are sometimes restricted as we allow our guests to keep the room on day of departure until midday (12 o clock). We apologise for the inconvenience.

We would like to thank you again for having stayed with us and hope to have you back one day!

Warm regards,

Your HL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    744
    380
    169
    114
See reviews for
1,171
482
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Just arrived home from the hotel end Jan.,missing it already, so central walking 5min to bus station 10mins shops/beach ,great food selection,good sized bungalow ,friendly staff very helpful always encouraged by a manager indeed simply the"Best Hotel Manager"running one of the best hotels we have stayed in great holiday thank you to all at Club Playa Blanca

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLCPB, Manager at Hotel Club Playa Blanca, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken your time to write a review about us.

We are all happy to read that you had a good vacation with us and we would like to have Robert back very soon :)! We are thrilled to have such nice guests here with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Thanks again for having chosen us for your precious holiday time!

Muchas gracias!

Warm regards,

Your HL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Just arrived home from the hotel,missing it already it's so friendly,clean,food good,and have already booked to go same time next year,as we do every year seems best deals at this time of year.the staff work realy hard very helpfull at the reception area,everthing we went to ask about was given very good customer relations from all members of staff.had some lovely walks along the long promenade which is wheelchair friendly and buggys.the walk to the Saturday and Wednesday market is very pleasent on the coast path which is a good 20 mins walk from the hotel.we like this time of year too as the shops sales starts and we love a bargain not many shops but enough.the hotel is great for children too as the pool area is good and you can see everything going on and plenty of cool drinks from the snack bar .

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLCPB, Manager at Hotel Club Playa Blanca, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken your time to write about us.

We would like to let you know that it puts a smile on our face to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!! We are all looking forward to have you back next winter here in Playa Blanca!

Muchas gracias for having stayed with us.

Kindest regards,

Your HL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have just returned from a two week all inclusive holiday over New Year with our family including children. The accommodation was excellent, very clean and well maintained. The food was very good, they put on a superb meal for New Year's Eve, overall there was great choice something to suit everyone. The staff at the hotel worked extremely hard to make sure that our holiday was great. The entertainment was outstanding, the animacion team were excellent throughout the two weeks. Our sons were kept entertained and busy. The whole complex was spotless. We had an absolutely brilliant time and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We are already looking at a return trip. Thanks to everyone at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLCPB, Manager at Hotel Club Playa Blanca, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken your time to write about the Club Playa Blanca.

We are all thrilled to read that you enjoyed your vacation with us! The whole team would like to thank you for having spent your holiday with us and we would be very happy to have you back one day!

Muchas gracias,

Kindest regards,

Your HL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Humberside
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here for a Christmas in the sun. Reception was efficient and we were soon in our allocated accommodation. Bungalow was basic but very clean, with a sunny patio on which we enjoyed our late afternoon cuppa. As it was Christmas whilst we were there and we had not been to the resort before we thought it best to go on an all inclusive basis. Big mistake, there was not enough bar staff and therefore getting a drink was a struggle. If you were on all inclusive the drinks were served in small plastic beakers, if you were on other board basis and paid for drinks, these were served in normal bar glasses. Evening entertainment was not for us, children's disco, parrot show, reptile show etc. we preferred to go into the resort centre. Food in the hotel was good with plenty of variety. Dining room was a bit chaotic at times, when you found a table, one of your party had to stay at the table as otherwise someone else would have taken it by the time you came back with your food. The exception to this was the Christmas Gala dinner that was well organised with a plentiful supply of special foods for the occasion. The Gala Dinner and a visit from Santa on a camel, earlier in the day, made Christmas Day special. Would stay here again but on bed and breakfast only.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLCPB, Manager at Hotel Club Playa Blanca, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for having taken your time to write a review about our hotel.

We are pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us! We will investigate your point with the glasses as all the glasses in the bar (ALL Inc. or paid extra) should be the same. The only glasses that are different are the special glasses used for Mojitos and the Bartenders Special cocktail. All the other drinks (again ALL Inc. or paid extra) are served in the same type of glasses. As mentioned we will look into what happened that you were served differently and would like to apologise for this matter.

We would like to thank you for having stayed with us and we would be happy to have you back here with us!

Muchas gracias!

Kindest regards,

Your HL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Overall a brilliant holiday.
Room- we were in 205 which overlooked the pool, i would have been a little disappointed if we had a room further back as they only look to the back of the apartment in front. kept really clean though. Cups are only washed in the bathroom sink by the cleaners so worth checking them before you use them. Shampoo and shower gel is provided each day.
Food- What you would expect from an all inclusive, they have some themed evenings; Chinese, Italian and my favourite Mexican (love the tequila!!!!!!). The main down side is there wasn't any out door seating, I think it was just because it was a bit out of season, but I was still a little disappointed. There are plenty of snacks around lunch time in the pool bar, so you could just eat your lunch there.
Drink- yes they are fairly cheap, but what do you expect! I recommend the sangria its the best I've tasted in any hotel! Also the good tequila ( recommended to me from the lovely bar men!) is definitely good!!!!!! If you want strong alcohol don't come here, its not that strong, and more over I don't want you hear spoiling the place!
Staff- are all lovely and so smiley! Always ready to help. They work really hard, and there are some real characters. Make an effort to speak some Spanish it goes a long way.
Location- its about 10 min walk from the beach, not hard to find. If you really lazy there is a shuttle bus quite regularly.
Entertainment- evening is awful! Just don't go. Sit in the bar next door the bar men are far more entertaining and lovely... Only downside is the tv playing sport in there, but its not too loud. Day activities are as expected, rifle shooting, archery, yoga etc.
The other hotel- is much more lively, more activities in the day, the water park is good but wouldn't pay to get in. Food is good (with outdoor seating!) and in the evening it has a choice of 2 restaurants. Definitely use this hotel even if its just for a bit of a change. Its about 10min walk, again there is a shuttle.
Over all I'd recommend this hotel if your looking for a quiet little get away with plenty to do. Don't come here if you want a loud drunken holiday, it's not equipped for that, you won't be welcomed by staff or others and you give English people a bad name. The other hotel is more your type of place.
I would definitely go back, to all those moaning get over it, its not perfect but its what you paid for. If you have any problems ask the staff they are so helpful.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julietta p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLCPB, Manager at Hotel Club Playa Blanca, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken your time to write a review about us.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We agree that outdoor seating for the restaurant would be nice (eventhough in winter it might a ittle chilly) and we are working on it so that you will be able to enjoy your meal outdoors during your next stay!

We thank you again for having stayed with us and we are looking forward to have you back!

Kind regards,

Your HL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here on a family holiday August 2013. Check in was efficient, the apartments were tired looking. Even though there were daily reminders about not reserving sunbeds if you did not get up before 7.30am then there werent any left. The sunbeds and the surrounding areas of the pool were dirty, they were never cleaned whilst we were there. I totally understand the need for serving drinks in plastic glasses around a pool however these could be of a better quality and in an evening it would be good for glasses to be provided to adults however this was not the case. The food in the restaurant was ok we always found something to eat although I wish parents would keep their children under control especially when people are walking around the buffet with plates. The entertainment team were fun and always encouraged people to join in. In an evening there werent enough tables / chairs for everyone so often we wouldnt be able to watch the shows unless you got there for the mini disco and stay there all night. We did go to the beach quite a few times during our stay which was lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed these days. We ate out a few times too and again the restaurants were lovely in town. Would we go back, probably not and if we did we certainly would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: not near the water slide area as there is a strong smell of sewage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HLCPB, Manager at Hotel Club Playa Blanca, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel on tripadvisor.

We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your holiday with us.
Your stay lies back some time and we are happy to let you know that most of your points mentioned have been resolved. We thank you for having stayed with us!

Muchas gracias!

Warm regards,

Your HL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.8 mi away
THB Royal
THB Royal
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,037 reviews
0.6 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,626 reviews
0.6 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,267 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Monica
Royal Monica
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
964 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Playa Blanca

Property: Hotel Club Playa Blanca
Address: Avenida Faro de Pechiguera s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Hotel Club Playa Blanca)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#18 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Club Playa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Club Playa Blanca is situated in a tranquil location approx. 1000 mtrs from the beach and approx. 800 mtrs from the village center with its shops, restaurants and bars, and a marvelous beach promenade. A free shuttle bus service is arranged several times a day to the beach and the water park “Dino Aquapark” at the sister hotel Paradise Island. The beach can be reached by foot in approx. 15 minutes. The one story resortl is ideal for families and consists of 164 Bungalows (92 with 1 bedroom, and 72 with 2 bedrooms) offers a non smoking restaurant, a Spanish bar, theater and a pool bar. The reception is available 24 hours. The hotel facilities include as well 2 freshwater swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) with separate children’s pool, a jacuzzi and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas. Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. A Laundry is available to the guests (against charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Club Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Hotel Playa Blanca
Hl Club Playa Blanca
Club Playa Blanca
Hotel Club Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing