We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a good time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Club Playa Blanca
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Flintshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Had a good time”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We travelled to club playa blanca (family of 4) and some friends (also family of 4). Upon booking with Thomas cook we asked for adjacent rooms and pool view we also said that it will be one of the children's birthdays whilst we were (was not acknowledged). We arrived at the hotel at 1pm and told that our rooms wouldn't be ready until 3 but we could go and have dinner in the restaurant. When our rooms were ready they were adjacent but were not pool view, the rooms (2 bedrooms) were large and clean, the maid came every day except Thursdays due to main change over day.

The complex itself was clean and tidy and someone was always around cleaning, the food was fine in both the pool bar and restaurant. The glasses were small even at night, our first week we asked for big beer and were given large glasses but then the barman was told to only serve big beer to half boarders and all inclusives were to be given small glasses, the majority of nights there was only one barman on to serve both bars, there was no self service tap for beers which would have made things easier.

The staff in the restaurant were polite and tidied away as soon as you were finished. The entertainment staff were friendly and the children and adults enjoyed the activities, the evening entertainment was cheesy but funny. The pool was very cold, unusually cold and not always clean, the fountain was not on for most of our time there and the jacuzzi didn't work our whole holiday.

We used the water park once at the sister hotel which was tiny and just seemed to be shoved at the back of the hotel (don't let the pictures in the brochure fool you into thinking its bigger than it is), there was plenty of land to the right of the water park so it could be made bigger and better.

We never had a problem getting sun loungers and didn't have to get up early to reserve beds which was good, there were alot of older French holiday makers who were very rude especially at meal times and on one occasion my friends daughter was getting something to eat and one French gentleman thought it was ok to remove towels on the beds so he could sit where his group wanted to although there were plenty of beds around the pool area.

Overall we did have a good time but won't be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaFlintshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    744
    380
    169
    114
See reviews for
1,171
482
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wrexham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

7 of us stayed in 2 apartments at hl playa blanca in may 2013 apartments are clean and are cleaned every day, with fresh towel daily , staff are very helpful and friendly ,food was fine loads to choose from and the pudding/cakes are lovely ,children enjoyed the pool area and snack bar as they could help them selfs to pop and icecream, they have pool tables ,and table tennis,park ,children's entertainment at night was ok mainly for younger children as mine are 15,11 &6 but they really enjoyed the reptile show where they held the reptiles and the photo with em for 10 euro's each, we visited the aqua park at paradise island we all enjoyed it even my father inlaw enjoyed the slides just wish we would of gone more often to the water park instead of going on the trips,we went to the volcanic escape it was ok but cold so take a jacket you can have a camel ride there which was a good but my daughter got bitten my insects when on the camel ride so cover up. our thomas cook rep also told us when booking our trip we would have time to buy so dinner when up the volcano but you only have 15minute break at the cafe so eat before you go there, we also went to texas rancho we all enjoyed it brilliant time there, there have excellant food here good value , pony rides for the kids ,watch the parrot show photo's here are only 5 euro's each,sealion show you can also swim with them but we did not and there is a birds of prey show ,gift shop was reasonable and all the animals looked healthy we would return but i would not go on the Teguise market trip again it was a waste of of a day as most of the stalls are the same and we found by walking down to the harbour only 10 minutes from the hotel it was more relaxed and things where cheaper there and a small beach next to the harbour where the kids enjoyed catching the small white fish that swim around your feet ,on whole the holiday was brilliant and i would/will return but just a few days before we where leaving there where loads of Germans and French tourist arriving so i would not go in peak season as it would be very busy and there are cats around the hotel grounds but there was no cat mess anywhere and the cats are friendly , very good holiday for the money.

Room Tip: we stayed in a partment/room a couple rows bak from the pool side and it was very peacfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

There isn't much wrong or right about this hotel, it is just 'okay'. Just spent a week there with my husband and 3 children aged 5, 8 and 13. Apartment was clean but not very attractive inside or out. The staff were lovely especially in the food hall and the food was good. The children's entertainment and evening entertainment was terrible and I spent the evenings sat in the apartment with my children watching CBS Drama! - much more interesting! Even the bingo sucked but more down to the poor room construction than the staff, terrible acoustics... couldn't hear anything plus expensive to play for a bottle of wine, t-shirt or hat for the prize! Pool area was annoying, if you needed to be near the children's pool, you needed to spend the day on site otherwise, not a chance and most of the sunbeds were broken. Visited their other site - Paradise Island to use the water park. Paradise Island just made me feel more discontent with the hotel we were in. For maybe a bit more money, it would be totally worth it to stay here instead. The water park was good :) Booked an excursion to see the volcano on the coach for half a day - very good day out and the children enjoyed it.

This hotel might suit some, but I didn't feel rested from this vacation and wouldn't consider staying there again.

Room Tip: My tip... find somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Arrived on the Sunday before bank holiday Monday 26/5/13 to a lovely welcome. From then on it went down hill. The bungalow was spotless as was the whole site...10/10. Despite the poor shower power, uncomfy beds and noises from next door bathroom, we had no problem with neighbours or youths. The pool area is satisfactory but could do with newer sun loungers as although being plentiful many were broke and wouldn't prop up. The food was awful and we ate at the sister hotel most dinners and evenings. We found that we were eating to survive rather than enjoying the food on offer. If you were brought this food in a restaurant you would refuse it. A lot of it was re-heated from the morning and if you had a small child then you would struggle to feed them anything other than some form of chips. The staff were never still but the standard of food as was the evening entertainment was poor. This was made even worse by us having to endlessly queue (1 man serving 2 bars) to get served with plastic glasses that weren't even half a pint. If the food was better we would return at some point. The day were activities were okay. A good holiday despite the food. The village of Playa Blanca is spotless.

Room Tip: Early numbers are nearer the pool and bars etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pscott67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 week at the end of May 2013, there were 6 of us in our party, 5 adults and 1 child of 2 years old.
The hotel was very clean and the bungalows were very spacious, the staff were very friendly and the food was OK, there was lots of food on offer but not that much choice e.g 3 different types of chicken, and the same 2 pasta dishes every day.
The evening entertainment wasn't that great, the entertainers tried hard and they were good with the kids but the entertainment in general was lacking somewhat.
There was a bus to the sister hotel but this only takes you to and from there approx. 4 times a day and the last bus back was at tea time so we couldn't go there on an evening to experience their night life which we heard from guests of that hotel was really good. It was the same with the bus to the beach, you had to make sure you were back on the bus early afternoon so no watching the sun go down on the beach.
The location wasn't the best, the hotel sits on it's own on the outskirts of the town, the nearest shop is a good 10 minute walk away as is the town and the beach and it is all down hill, great on the way there not so great on the way back, I wouldn't recommend this hotel for anyone who doesn't like to walk (elderly or young kids).
The hotel was lovely the layout was nice and the feel of the place was good.
On arrival we thought the pool looked lovely and despite lots of people sunbathing the pool was empty, we initially thought this was good as there was lots of room for our Son of 2 years old to splash around, our rooms weren't ready when we got there so we got changed in the toilets and headed for the pool, we soon realised why nobody was in there......the pool was freezing! you expect outdoor pools to be cold but this was freezing cold, my Son who happily goes swimming in the local pools at home got in up to his waist and cried to get out as he was so cold, he was shivering, the whole trip he went swimming once and that was in the infant pool and was for about 10 minutes before getting out cold. This was a big let down as it was his first holiday abroad and he is a water baby so we were excited about being able to swim every day.
The pools at the sister hotel were equally as cold and he didn't get to go on a single water slide as he couldn't get in the water.
On the whole this was a nice holiday but we wouldn't go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived for a 4 day break on the 5th may. Hotel was lovely to look at and the rooms were lovely, clean and large. Food was good, paella was amazing, however....... Hotel is full if Germans, not a problem apart from they are all soooo rude, literally pushed out the way at dinner. Pool bar staff great although one girl had a big attitude and would only serve if you stood at a certain place at the bar, very annoying! Locations good, def recommend restaurants on the harbour, 15 min walk. Irish bar there had really good live singers every night, hotel evening entertainment was really poor. Overall nice hotel however the rude Germans ruined dinners and poor entertainment- would not recommend all inclusive!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were on holiday at this hotel for 1 week 16th may. We arrived late in the evening and the girl at reception told us to head for the restuarant as they were still serving meals and that we could check in later. The bungalow we had to find ourselves which was quite easy and was very nice and spacious and clean. only thing was that there is little or no soundproofing in them and you could hear everything next door. The pool area is lovely with plenty of sunbeds and pool towels are provided at the cost of 10 euros per person. you could change them everyday and at the end of your holiday you got your deposit back. The restuarant is very clean and the staff are really nice especially Alberto the Manager who makes every one feel welcome. The food is really good. Great choice only thing I think it could be a bit hotter sometimes, although there is a microwave you can use to heat it up a bit more. The entertainment team work really hard but they are not too pushy trying to get you to take part in the games round the pool. The evening entertainment is not brilliant but it keeps you amused. The only complaint if you could call it that, that there is no bars open between 6pm and 7pm. The pool bar closes at 6 and the quiet bar doesnt open till 7.The entertainment bar didnt open until 8.30pm. All in all we had a great relaxing holiday and would definately go back.

Room Tip: we had room 115. It was only a 2min walk to the pool and reatuarant. We had the sun on our terrace i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DundeePeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.8 mi away
THB Royal
THB Royal
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,037 reviews
0.6 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,624 reviews
0.6 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,267 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Monica
Royal Monica
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
964 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Playa Blanca

Property: Hotel Club Playa Blanca
Address: Avenida Faro de Pechiguera s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Hotel Club Playa Blanca)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#18 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Club Playa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Club Playa Blanca is situated in a tranquil location approx. 1000 mtrs from the beach and approx. 800 mtrs from the village center with its shops, restaurants and bars, and a marvelous beach promenade. A free shuttle bus service is arranged several times a day to the beach and the water park “Dino Aquapark” at the sister hotel Paradise Island. The beach can be reached by foot in approx. 15 minutes. The one story resortl is ideal for families and consists of 164 Bungalows (92 with 1 bedroom, and 72 with 2 bedrooms) offers a non smoking restaurant, a Spanish bar, theater and a pool bar. The reception is available 24 hours. The hotel facilities include as well 2 freshwater swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) with separate children’s pool, a jacuzzi and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas. Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. A Laundry is available to the guests (against charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Club Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Hotel Playa Blanca
Hl Club Playa Blanca
Club Playa Blanca
Hotel Club Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing