We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Club Playa Blanca
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The worst experience ever”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed 18-12 till 2-1. I have to say if getting food poisoning repeatedly wasn't enough, still being I'll 2 weeks later is worse. The food is undercooked at one point my son was given raw cold fish. Complained formally in writing to this hotel with no response! 3,000 down the drain don't bother!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bish80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    741
    378
    169
    114
See reviews for
1,167
482
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MIDDLESBROUGH
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were sent to this hotel when our other hotel (Blue Sea Corbeta) had overbooked by 40 people on Xmas Eve! This hotel was clean, smart and initial impressions and appearances were very good. This did not change throughout our short stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food wass of a good standard and the rooms were clean and adequate. One must remember that 4 star ratings in Spain are not 4 stars English but overall I could not fault this hotel - we even had Santa on a camel on Xmas day! If one was to be pedantic - yes both pools were freezing and you could not tell which one was supposed to be the heated one - but it was December!
Many guests requested to stay the whole week instead of returning to the Corbeta - they were refused but it would have proved a prudent move! The layout could be improved with a centre path and more personal outside space as opposed to sitting on your step but these are minor points. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOHNMOORE180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, from the Headoffice Hoteles Lopez Group at Hotel Club Playa Blanca, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest of the Club Playa Blanca Hotel,

Thank you very much for posting your kind review on Tripadvisor.

It is a great pleasure to learn that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us, even if it was unplanned!

We highly appreciate your comments regarding the different hotel departments and we would be delighted to welcome you and your family back with us in one of our hotels in Lanzarote or Gran Canaria some time in the near future ,

With sunny regards from the Canary Islands

The Management of The Hoteles Lopez Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We travelled to club playa blanca in aug 2011,2 adults 3 kids(aged 10,8,7).i have to say we had a really good holiday,a few negatives would be the chav element of brits(although most people were great) we made very good friends with a Dutch family,which was nice the kids got on really well.the pool obviously didn't get cleaned enough as when you swam underwater there were black bits of debris everywhere,the no towel on the sun lounger rule was unenforced(which seems to be the case everywhere you go)we like a change of scene so we wandered down to the beach/resort every other day,generally the standard of food was very poor(we ate out half of the evenings because dinner was so bad)although that said we spoke to people that enjoyed the food-one man's etc etc.on the plus side the accommodation was good,there was no issue with drinks,ice creams etc and the entertainment team was excellent,the usual reptile shows etc etc at night,a pool party at night went down a storm with the kids(brilliant,but some cold tired children knocking around)the daytime entertainment was good too,you were asked but not pestered to join in.the resort of playa blanca is lovely very chilled and picturesque,the wave coming in from the Fred Olsen ferry was fantastic for the kids on the smaller beach.If the food improved I would go back to club playa blanca tomorrow,so I'll keep reading the reviews.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1970markc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I read the reviews on this hotel before spending Christmas week there. We were originally supposed to stay at the VIk at Coral Beach and it was changed at the last minute. So we were expecting 3 star and that is what we received. Forget the 4 stars. We still had an enjoyable week .One tip I would like to pass on is do not wait to buy your duty frees, gifts or anything at the departure airport, it is a lot dearer than the shops. Happy travels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in HL Bungalow 918 from 30-12-12 to 10-01-13.
10th visit to Playa Blanca but first AI, overall had an excellent time & hoping to return very very soon.
Food--- always something nice to eat.
Staff--- couldn't do enough when they were (if) needed,they work long hours & I don't know how they manage it with a smile,most of all the other stuff has been covered by previous guests.
Alferdo always had a big smile when welcoming you for meals.
Kirsten kept the pool bar ticking over spick & span.
Animation team,Tommy,Ronaldo,Kay & DVD were brilliant.
Scott & Eleanor

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here for new year 2012/2013 first impressions were good and gala dinner was lovely pool area nice and pool bar stays open till 7pm, very clean toilets, garden areas lovely, bungalow type apartment which was kept spotless, with clean towels everyday except sunday, with your own wee patio outside, includes a microwave kettle and fridge, but strangely enough no sink so you have to get water from bathroom, we got pool towels from reception 10 euro deposit which keeps down the suitcase weight, safe in room works with key card 18 euros a week, 10 min walk to town centre. animation team brill they do a great job and kids club first class on the go all day.
NOW THE BAD BITS.
pool barr staff rude and leave you standing while they serve people they know was told standing in wrong side of barr .. its circular duh. was a job to get a sunbed in the morning not because it was busy because most of them were broken, pools were baltic honest a penquin woudnt go in them, if you forgot something in your appartment tough, to far a walk to go back for, food a hit and a miss one night ok next night boring, have a good look at your cutlery plate and cup before you eat sometimes minging, entertainment rubbish usual quiz nights and animation team stuff, and dont always expect to get a drink the pool bar run out of vodka on sat afternoon and the main club just never had any on the sunday night was told sorry no vodka till tomorow my god there are shops just down the road, so ended up half hotel went to irish pub in town The old mill brilliant night out, not the worst place we have stayed but wouldnt go back maybe i expect to much for my money but it wasnt cheap

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

booked club playa as it was 4 star hehe taking our foster kid on his first holiday . lets just say first room u had to use ur shoulder to open the doors kid got stuck in bathroom kitchen in dissrepair asked to change rooms guess what u hav to pay so i did after much complaining 2nd room not much better . 2 star complained to thomas cook well look into it hahaha ur only looking for a token from them as a major company haha never use the again for holidays worst ever took them 4 months to look into it haha .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Blanca hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,588 reviews
0.8 mi away
THB Royal
THB Royal
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,261 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Monica
Royal Monica
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Playa Blanca

Property: Hotel Club Playa Blanca
Address: Avenida Faro de Pechiguera s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Hotel Club Playa Blanca)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#18 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Club Playa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Club Playa Blanca is situated in a tranquil location approx. 1000 mtrs from the beach and approx. 800 mtrs from the village center with its shops, restaurants and bars, and a marvelous beach promenade. A free shuttle bus service is arranged several times a day to the beach and the water park “Dino Aquapark” at the sister hotel Paradise Island. The beach can be reached by foot in approx. 15 minutes. The one story resortl is ideal for families and consists of 164 Bungalows (92 with 1 bedroom, and 72 with 2 bedrooms) offers a non smoking restaurant, a Spanish bar, theater and a pool bar. The reception is available 24 hours. The hotel facilities include as well 2 freshwater swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) with separate children’s pool, a jacuzzi and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas. Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. A Laundry is available to the guests (against charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Club Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Hotel Playa Blanca
Hl Club Playa Blanca
Club Playa Blanca
Hotel Club Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing