We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a four star hotel, disappointing and a lot to improve on.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel HL Club Playa Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel HL Club Playa Blanca
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a four star hotel, disappointing and a lot to improve on.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week in October 2012 on a family holiday. It is more like a three star, definitely not four. The bungalows are spacious and fine however there are lots of ants and insects around, yes it is Lanzarote but this hotel could be cleaner. I have stayed in many hotels that are four star and not seen a cockroach in sight! The pool is nice but the tiles are extremely slippy and a boy slipped and fell while we were there. It is very dangerous for all, especially little ones. A lot of sunbeds were broken and at night the area wasn't well lit. The play area has no lights for on a night so it is pitch black if children want to play. The food was ok, it got better as the week went on, breakfast was probably the best meal. Food was very repetitive, sometimes cold and not a lot of choice. The dining room has no air con. We didnt eat at the pool bar, once went to look and there were flies on and around the food. There were hardly any waiters, I probably saw one or two at each meal time and it took a while for tables to be cleaned. Cutlery wasn't readily available. The pool bar was nice however there was only ever one person serving drinks so service was very slow. Entertainment was ok of what I saw however very cheesy and dated and children's entertainment was on far too late. The Spanish bar was never open. Reception were very helpful and friendly. The bus to the beach was great and always on time. The hotel doesn't have a supermarket like its sister hotels and there isn't one around the area. The beach and town is a ten to fifteen minute walk and Playa Blanca is beautiful. The water park was ok, nothing special but it is free and worth a visit if you are interested. I would definitely visit the area again but not this hotel, it was definitely not four star quality or service. If you are paying for and expect four star, like we did, do not go.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, from the Headoffice Hoteles Lopez Group at Hotel HL Club Playa Blanca, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear guest of the Club Playa Blanca Hotel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and for your valuable feedback.

We are sorry to learn that you have not entirely enjoyed your holiday with us, and that you were not happy with some of the hotels services and faciltites.
We always strive to deliver the best possible service to our guests, and we have of course forwarded your comments to the respective hotel departments in order to have a look into the issues.

We are glad to inform you that we are already working to improve the garden light situation, and that we are in the process of gradually improving all areas of the hotel, but this does take some time, due to it´s size.
All the hotel rooms are cleaned at least 5 times a week, and the public areas are cleaned daily. As the hotel is located in an area with a lot of wind and sand, and as the gardens are surrounding all the bungalows, it might unfortunately be possible that dust and small insects will enter the rooms between cleaning schedules.

The Resort has recently undertaken various changes in the management, and I do hope that on a future visit to Lanzarote you would allow us to demonstrate to you improved high standards of service and facilities.

Thanking you again for your visit and sending our best regards from the Canary Islands,

The Management of the Hoteles Lopez Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    710
    362
    160
    109
See reviews for
1,104
464
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Firstly, I would like to say that I am a teenager writing this review. Please take into consideration my bad English skills!

The value for money was brilliant! We are currently low on money so we didn't plan on spending a lot. We were worried that this wouldn't be great considering the price but it was well worth it!

We had a two bedroom bungalow in which I offered to sleep on the sofa... I slept very well still. Everyone else seemed okay with their sleep. In the evening we were worried about the entertainment being too loud because we were based pretty close to the pool area and bars but their was not a sound.

The bungalows were immaculate. Nothing else to really say about these. We were surprised to find that there was no mess from cats around because there were a lot of cats around the complex.

Location was great, easy 5 minutes walk to the bus stop and a 10 minute walk to the shops and beach! The water park is about 15 minutes walk away, however buses are provided free of charge to the beach and water park.

The rooms are great! A safe is offered for a small price to keep your valuables secure. Didn't spend much time in the bungalow because the weather was great!

Maids kept our room very neat and clean. Replaced the towels only when we put them in the bath (As stated on a sign).

Now to the reason a teenager is writing a review. I met a girl here, she was beautiful... I kept trying to get myself to talk to her but something about her just would not let me! It was her birthday on Halloween. If you know her, please show her this!

If you have any questions or you are the beautiful girl that made my holiday special please contact me at: idkybily@live.co.uk

Room Tip: All very good, I have heard from people who have stayed the other side of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SearchForThatOneGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

After falling in love with Playa Blanca 15 years ago we have returned many times staying in some of the top hotels in Playa Blanca! Now returning after an absence of 5 years wi a family of 5 and a restricted budget we decided on the Club Playa Blanca! After reading reviews we were a little worried but need not have been because this hotel is a little gem on the outskirts of Playa Blanca. The all inclusive food is on par with any other hotel we have stayed in. The staff were hard working and the restuarant was always clean and tidy! The Restuarant Manager always had time to say hello and my little boy fell in love with him and was always eager to see his "friend", which made dining even more of a pleasure, Tuesay night being our favourite night. The pool area was clean and tidy and whatever time you arrived there was always free sunbeds. The food at the pool bar is a great idea and the children loved it! But if burger, sausage and chips is not for you the restuarant was open! It may now be time to change the aging sunbeds! My son had an accident at hotel and the Lifeguard was fantastic and a great help. The ambulance was there in minutes and the local hospital was immaculate and very efficient and thorough! The Manager was there to help and arrange taxis at no cost to ourselves and even after a few days was still enquiring after our son. Likewise the lifeguard checked on his welbeing daily for the rest of our holiday! The watermark was free and our kids aged 9, 7 & 3 loved it. It's only 5 minutes by bus and when you get there the all inclusive facility is available. A bit of a tip if you need to go to the supermarket catch the bus to the waterpark, have a drink, shop at the next door supermarket and catch the next bus back. Would not like to stay in a hotel adjoining a waterpark but a five minute trip is perfect. The entertainment team were brilliant day and night and our two youngest loved the kids club and mini disco and are still singing the songs and dancing back at home! The kids club staff were very professional and we had no worries leaving our children with them. The rooms are very clean, tidy and spacious and the two bedrooms were perfect for a family of 5. The airconditioning was spot on. One downside the pool bar could do with more staff or self serve taps like the Restuarant. The best things about this hotel are the staff from the Manager to the Cleaners. All very friendly and are what make this hotel! If you have booked or are thinking of booking, for the money it is a little gem in paradise! We are already missing the Club Playa Blanca and hope to return in the future! The Gurney Five Xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gobber27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We returned last night from a week at Club Playa Blanca and are missing it already! We had a brilliant time and loved this hotel. It is our 4th year in the resort but first time at this hotel and we were very impressed. The food was excellent, everywhere was really clean and the staff worked very hard to make sure everything ran well.
The entertainment was great for the children and the team did their best in several different languages and a mixed aged audience. We visited the aqua park twice and used the courtesy beach bus twice which was very welcome. It was also great to be able to hire big pool towels too. There were lots of things which added up to make this a great holiday - especially for the price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ld176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

To start the rooms at this hotel are good, clean and tidy.

The staff are polite although there is a lack of them at the bars there is only ever 1 member of staff and you tend to have to wait every time you want refreshments.

The food what can i say its poor repetitive over cooked re-used from previous sittings, if you like chips you will be ok. The breakfast cereal milk was warm! the toasters worked poorly and you spent a ridiculous amount of time trying to make a decent piece of toast, You could predict what was coming out for dinner by what was left over at lunch time, salads and cold meats that had been sitting in the unbearably warm dinning room for 3 hours were bought back out in the evening ! meats from lunch time we often used as so called stew or a rice dish in the evening we ended up eating out most nights and spent a fortune, i don't mind eating out by choice to experience the local fayre but to be forced to due the quality is not on especially as you pay a fair bit extra for the all inclusive.

The whole property constantly has a smell of raw sewage from the irrigation system there are piles of smelling foaming mucus in the flower beds that turns the stomach i can only presume they use the water from the toilet waste to water there plants, if you slept with the window open you woke up thinking you had fallen asleep in the local public toilets it was disgraceful.

There is a spanish bar advertised in the brochure did not open once in the time we were there and even the local rep who has been there 7 months has never seen it open !

The day time entertainment staff however could not be faulted they done a very good job and were great with the kids and adults alike. The evenings however are a different experience all together it is bad bad bad. the kids part does not start until 830 -9pm and is the same thing for a hour every night. The so called adult entertainment is a shambles. You basically have to leave the hotel in the evening to get some sensible entertainment activity therefore not realising the all inclusive element of the package prehaps this is there plan.

if you could stay at this property room only then it would not be to bad, if you go all inclusive be prepared to spend a lot of additional money to ensure you enjoy your holiday

Do not let this put you of going to the resort of playa blance it is very nice indeed and we will be going back to the resort just dont stay here.

ps we went to the paradise island property a couple of times as this is the sister hotel and you can use there facilities free of charge dont bother its just as bad, the water park is ok but not anywhere near as good as the adverts read a couple of hours entertainment at the most.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, from the Headoffice Hoteles Lopez Group at Hotel HL Club Playa Blanca, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest of the Club Playa Blanca,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and for your valuable feedback.

We are sorry to learn that you have not entirely enjoyed your holiday with us, and that you were not happy with the part of the arrangements offered.
We always strive to strive to deliver the best possible service to our guests, and we have of course forwarded your comments to the respective hotel departments in order to have a look into the issues.

We are glad to inform you that the hotel and it´s kitchen and and restaurants undergo regular and very rigorous health and safety inspections, which certify our high according standards.

We will of course investigate if there was any problem during the time of your travel with the water used to irrigate the gardens. We normally do not have any issues with bad smell coming from the water, as this is as well one of the automatically and constantly controlled parts of the hotel operation. As Lanzarote is not rich in water ressources, this has allways been an important area of attention, especially for the hotels on the island.

We would like to thank you again for your recent stay with us, sending our best regards from the Canary Islands,

The Management of the Hoteles Lopez Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Blanca hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just come back from a brilliant holiday at HL Club Playa Blanca. We are a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 children aged 7 and 6 years). We went all inclusive. Its about an hour transfer from airport.

Excellent value for money. We had a really lovely quiet bungalow with 2 bedrooms - very clean all round, lovely cool pool which was a nice relief from the heat! Kids absolutely loved it. Town centre is about 10 mins walk from apartments. Friendly staff, lovely food (good variety).

Safe can be rented for 18 euros a week. Pool towels refundable 10 euros deposit each and can be changed as much as you like. Remote control for television also refundable 10 euros deposit (but not really worth it as the only English channel is sky news). There is air conditioning in the apartments/bungalows. Didn't really use the kids activites but the entertainment team do put on activities by the pool during the day and a mini disco for kids in the evenings.

Only grumbles would be lack of english television channels and lack of bar staff at the pool bar made it sometimes a longish wait for a drink, but hey they are only minor grumbles and we didn't got on holiday to watch the telly.

Great weather, few clouds and few drops of rain occasionally but it was generally about 26 degrees plus.

Overall a big thumbs up :-) and you won't be disappointed with this holiday; its well worth it.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlayJays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Arrived on 18th october 2012. We usually rent a villa, but on this occassion we were out to buy property so decided to go all inclusive. Cannot fault this hotel. I had asked for our bungallow to be in a quiet location which was perfect. if you have problems walking maybe ask for one closer to the pool. accomodation was spotless and large inside. Ours was a one bedroom and there was lots of space. Cleaners came everyday of our stay and provided fresh towels and bedding. Pool area was beautiful not too busy, choice of drinks good and measures very generous. Atmosphere at pool was very relaxed even at night. Food was great with excellent choice, ate at the hotel all week. All staff very friendly and helpful. There is also a bus service to playa blanca although you can easily walk within 15 minutes. Would highly recommend this hotel, its very deceiving from the outside but its a little oasis inside.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are about 5min walk from pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynne1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.6 mi away
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
0.7 mi away
THB Royal
THB Royal
#11 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.6 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#23 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,788 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#30 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Labranda Alyssa Suite Hotel
Labranda Alyssa Suite Hotel
#4 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel HL Club Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel HL Club Playa Blanca

Property: Hotel HL Club Playa Blanca
Address: Avenida Faro de Pechiguera s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Hotel Club Playa Blanca)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#18 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel HL Club Playa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unforgettable holiday in this Club-Hotel, perfect for the entire family.The Hotel Club Playa Blanca offers spacious and comfortable accommodation, a Restaurant with a wide variety of international dishes as well as show cooking and theme nights, a Pool Bar, a Disco with evening entertainment and a Mini Club for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel HL Club Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Hotel Playa Blanca
Hl Club Playa Blanca
Club Playa Blanca
Hotel HL Club Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing