We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rooms. Food and evening's are dreadfull !! beware sewage smell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HL Club Playa Banca
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed October 29, 2012

To start the rooms at this hotel are good, clean and tidy.

The staff are polite although there is a lack of them at the bars there is only ever 1 member of staff and you tend to have to wait every time you want refreshments.

The food what can i say its poor repetitive over cooked re-used from previous sittings, if you like chips you will be ok. The breakfast cereal milk was warm! the toasters worked poorly and you spent a ridiculous amount of time trying to make a decent piece of toast, You could predict what was coming out for dinner by what was left over at lunch time, salads and cold meats that had been sitting in the unbearably warm dinning room for 3 hours were bought back out in the evening ! meats from lunch time we often used as so called stew or a rice dish in the evening we ended up eating out most nights and spent a fortune, i don't mind eating out by choice to experience the local fayre but to be forced to due the quality is not on especially as you pay a fair bit extra for the all inclusive.

The whole property constantly has a smell of raw sewage from the irrigation system there are piles of smelling foaming mucus in the flower beds that turns the stomach i can only presume they use the water from the toilet waste to water there plants, if you slept with the window open you woke up thinking you had fallen asleep in the local public toilets it was disgraceful.

There is a spanish bar advertised in the brochure did not open once in the time we were there and even the local rep who has been there 7 months has never seen it open !

The day time entertainment staff however could not be faulted they done a very good job and were great with the kids and adults alike. The evenings however are a different experience all together it is bad bad bad. the kids part does not start until 830 -9pm and is the same thing for a hour every night. The so called adult entertainment is a shambles. You basically have to leave the hotel in the evening to get some sensible entertainment activity therefore not realising the all inclusive element of the package prehaps this is there plan.

if you could stay at this property room only then it would not be to bad, if you go all inclusive be prepared to spend a lot of additional money to ensure you enjoy your holiday

Do not let this put you of going to the resort of playa blance it is very nice indeed and we will be going back to the resort just dont stay here.

ps we went to the paradise island property a couple of times as this is the sister hotel and you can use there facilities free of charge dont bother its just as bad, the water park is ok but not anywhere near as good as the adverts read a couple of hours entertainment at the most.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, from the Headoffice Hoteles Lopez Group at HL Club Playa Banca, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear guest of the Club Playa Blanca,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and for your valuable feedback.

We are sorry to learn that you have not entirely enjoyed your holiday with us, and that you were not happy with the part of the arrangements offered.
We always strive to strive to deliver the best possible service to our guests, and we have of course forwarded your comments to the respective hotel departments in order to have a look into the issues.

We are glad to inform you that the hotel and it´s kitchen and and restaurants undergo regular and very rigorous health and safety inspections, which certify our high according standards.

We will of course investigate if there was any problem during the time of your travel with the water used to irrigate the gardens. We normally do not have any issues with bad smell coming from the water, as this is as well one of the automatically and constantly controlled parts of the hotel operation. As Lanzarote is not rich in water ressources, this has allways been an important area of attention, especially for the hotels on the island.

We would like to thank you again for your recent stay with us, sending our best regards from the Canary Islands,

The Management of the Hoteles Lopez Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

988 - 994 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just come back from a brilliant holiday at HL Club Playa Blanca. We are a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 children aged 7 and 6 years). We went all inclusive. Its about an hour transfer from airport.

Excellent value for money. We had a really lovely quiet bungalow with 2 bedrooms - very clean all round, lovely cool pool which was a nice relief from the heat! Kids absolutely loved it. Town centre is about 10 mins walk from apartments. Friendly staff, lovely food (good variety).

Safe can be rented for 18 euros a week. Pool towels refundable 10 euros deposit each and can be changed as much as you like. Remote control for television also refundable 10 euros deposit (but not really worth it as the only English channel is sky news). There is air conditioning in the apartments/bungalows. Didn't really use the kids activites but the entertainment team do put on activities by the pool during the day and a mini disco for kids in the evenings.

Only grumbles would be lack of english television channels and lack of bar staff at the pool bar made it sometimes a longish wait for a drink, but hey they are only minor grumbles and we didn't got on holiday to watch the telly.

Great weather, few clouds and few drops of rain occasionally but it was generally about 26 degrees plus.

Overall a big thumbs up :-) and you won't be disappointed with this holiday; its well worth it.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PlayJays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Arrived on 18th october 2012. We usually rent a villa, but on this occassion we were out to buy property so decided to go all inclusive. Cannot fault this hotel. I had asked for our bungallow to be in a quiet location which was perfect. if you have problems walking maybe ask for one closer to the pool. accomodation was spotless and large inside. Ours was a one bedroom and there was lots of space. Cleaners came everyday of our stay and provided fresh towels and bedding. Pool area was beautiful not too busy, choice of drinks good and measures very generous. Atmosphere at pool was very relaxed even at night. Food was great with excellent choice, ate at the hotel all week. All staff very friendly and helpful. There is also a bus service to playa blanca although you can easily walk within 15 minutes. Would highly recommend this hotel, its very deceiving from the outside but its a little oasis inside.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are about 5min walk from pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynne1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have just come back from 11 days at this hotel and had a fantastic time there was me and my husband and 4teenagers I must say the entertainment team were amazing they actully make your holiday so thanks to cristian and tommy
I was very concerned at some of the reviews before we went but I must say if ur going don't worry it's great
Debbie and Barry kiely from Essex 23 10 2012 .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophieshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Arrived at the hotel great efficient fast check in reception staff lovely.

The food at the hotel was great I am a really fussy eater and quite easily found things to eat every night, the selection and variety is amazing they have a massive salad section, they have a daily soup massive choice for dinner and amazing deserts.

The all incluisve finished at 11 but you could purchase drinks after 11 for approx 2 euros per drink.

Pool area is very pleasant with plenty sunbeds.

Rooms, we ended up with a 2 bedroom apartment which was spotlessly clean we were only supposed to have maid service 5 times in the week but they were in everyday.

The water park that is included is Excellent and there is a free bus to there and the beach everyday.

Room Tip: We had room 609 was a bit of a walk from the pool but was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LISA_CARLTON3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

we had a really good holiday its great for kids we took a 10 year old a 9 year old a 6 year old a 4 year old and a 3 year old and they loved every minute of it the entertainment was great the people who worked there was really polite im deffinetly going again next summer we met some really nice people there altogether there was 11 of us that went and everyone of us had a good holiday nothing to complain about the rooms were very clean and tidy

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

just spent a week here with the family so I thought I would leave a review.The accomodation was clean and tidy bit basic tho and was cleaned regularly,the pool area was great although tiles were a wee bit slippery when wet.The staff were polite and friendly although extra staff at poolside bar would help,food was fine nothing special but plenty of it and they were a bit quick to take plates away but overall we had a great time, would say not to much for teenagers in the way of entertainment things were more for younger children.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gstewart68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,781 reviews
0.6 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,536 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#27 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.6 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,001 reviews
0.8 mi away
THB Royal
THB Royal
#17 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Club Playa Banca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Club Playa Banca

Address: Avenida Faro de Pechiguera 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Hotel Club Playa Blanca)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#20 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $120 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HL Club Playa Banca 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Club Playa Blanca is situated in a tranquil location approx. 1000 mtrs from the beach and approx. 800 mtrs from the village center with its shops, restaurants and bars, and a marvelous beach promenade. A free shuttle bus service is arranged several times a day to the beach and the water park “Dino Aquapark” at the sister hotel Paradise Island. The beach can be reached by foot in approx. 15 minutes. The one story resortl is ideal for families and consists of 164 Bungalows (92 with 1 bedroom, and 72 with 2 bedrooms) offers a non smoking restaurant, a Spanish bar, theater and a pool bar. The reception is available 24 hours. The hotel facilities include as well 2 freshwater swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) with separate children’s pool, a jacuzzi and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas. Pool towels will be provided against a deposit. Laundry is available to the guests (against charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your HL Club Playa Banca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Hotel Playa Blanca
Hl Club Playa Blanca
Club Playa Blanca
HL Club Playa Banca Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing